Broadcom CPU BCM5356A1KFBG ( help ) DIR 524 or DIR 600 M ??

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
imcool
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:37    Post subject: Broadcom CPU BCM5356A1KFBG ( help ) DIR 524 or DIR 600 M ?? Reply with quote
Hello dear respected members and seniors,

I have searched my router model number in database, it is not there but the CPU in my router seems to be dd wrt , following are the details of my router ,
please help me in dd wrt this router. I also ran FFC id but nothing returned from fcc website.
Thanks and regards
long live members and seniors.






Last edited by imcool on Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:56; edited 2 times in total
Sponsor
slobodan
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2011
Posts: 1545
Location: Zwolle

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Known_incompatible_devices
_________________
2 times RT-AC56U running 33772 with entware-ng, Yamon 3 (SFE disabled).

Asus RT-N16 running Merlin LTS fork RT-N16_3.0.0.4_374.43_2-25E8j9527.trx with entware-ng.

2 times Asus RT-N16 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_big.bin with entware-ng

E4200 V1 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin

3 times Linksys WRT610N V2 converted to E3000 and 1 original E3000 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin (bridged with LAN cable)

imcool
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 11:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
Mine is broadcom CPU and that is not in list of incompatible devices
slobodan
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Nov 2011
Posts: 1545
Location: Zwolle

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 20:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Then see http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-detection
_________________
2 times RT-AC56U running 33772 with entware-ng, Yamon 3 (SFE disabled).

Asus RT-N16 running Merlin LTS fork RT-N16_3.0.0.4_374.43_2-25E8j9527.trx with entware-ng.

2 times Asus RT-N16 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_big.bin with entware-ng

E4200 V1 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin

3 times Linksys WRT610N V2 converted to E3000 and 1 original E3000 running dd-wrt.v24-33772_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-e3000.bin (bridged with LAN cable)

Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7113
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 21:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Strange, according to this it's supposed to be a Marvell. http://www.wikidevi.com/wiki/D-Link_DI-524_rev_A1
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 21:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
the routers sticker says it is a dir-524..

now look at what can be seen on the silk screening of the pcb..

looks to me like it states dir-6??

I smell a rat. Shocked

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7113
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2012 21:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
the routers sticker says it is a dir-524..

now look at what can be seen on the silk screening of the pcb..

looks to me like it states dir-6??

I smell a rat. Shocked


Damn. Good catch. A dir-6??
imcool
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
the silkscreen of PCB says it is DIR 600M ( LOL )
what to do now , please help dear members

Greetings to respected members and veterans
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7113
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
According to the link in this post http://www.wikidevi.com/wiki/D-Link_DIR-524_rev_A1
It has only 2mb of flash.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7628

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
The flash size is probably only 2MB in which case it can't run dd-wrt.
List the numbers on U6 if you want the flash size confirmed.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
imcool
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 13:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
sorry , but I dont know what is U6 , how to get numbers ?
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7628

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 13:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
imcool wrote:
sorry , but I dont know what is U6 , how to get numbers ?


The I.C marked U6 in the silkscreen.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
imcool
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 15:05    Post subject: U6 details Reply with quote
Following is written at U6 Smile

CFEOD
F16- 100HIP
Q09U39A
1105TDA


thanks
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7628

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 16:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
That is a 2MB flash chip so no dd-wrt support possible for that model.
_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
imcool
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Nov 2012
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 0:59    Post subject: Thanks a lot LOM Reply with quote
Thanks a lot LOM , but I tried google the chip number but I didnt get any information, how do you know 2mb size of chip ? Also the dd wrt depends on processor ( broadcom in my case ) or the U6 chip ? whats the u6 chip called ?

Many thanks
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum