RT-N66 CFE Thread

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 35, 36, 37  Next
Author Message
ryzhov_al
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 48
Location: Smolensk, Russia

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2012 21:22    Post subject: RT-N66 CFE Thread Reply with quote
12-02-2012. A bug fixed, please download archive and repeat update again.

RMerlin wrote:
Fractal wrote:
I have rev 2 which has a physical 32k cfe.. I have seen the kernel hack and posted on that a few pages back... Does anyone have any new info on this?


BTW, here's the commit that shows what was needed to apply the 64 KB NVRAM patch to Tomato:

http://repo.or.cz/w/tomato.git/commitdiff/0c697354c8f07f8178bd3be49bffdf868ff06530

The Asus code might have changed a bit since that commit, but it should give a pretty clear pointer as to where to poke at. :)


Here is a new CFE v1.0.1.3 for RT-N66U, without that bug:

ryzhov_al wrote:
...we still can't make CFE read any value from 64Kb NVRAM.


Finally we can use 64Kb NVRAM in booted Linux and CFE without any bugs.

_________________
The Entware. A modern Optware replacement.


Last edited by ryzhov_al on Sun Dec 02, 2012 6:23; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
Nebudchanezzer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Apr 2012
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
ryzhov_al wrote:
RMerlin wrote:
Fractal wrote:
I have rev 2 which has a physical 32k cfe.. I have seen the kernel hack and posted on that a few pages back... Does anyone have any new info on this?


BTW, here's the commit that shows what was needed to apply the 64 KB NVRAM patch to Tomato:

http://repo.or.cz/w/tomato.git/commitdiff/0c697354c8f07f8178bd3be49bffdf868ff06530

The Asus code might have changed a bit since that commit, but it should give a pretty clear pointer as to where to poke at. Smile


Here is a new CFE v1.0.1.3 for RT-N66U, without that bug:

ryzhov_al wrote:
...we still can't make CFE read any value from 64Kb NVRAM.


Finally we can use 64Kb NVRAM in booted Linux and CFE without any bugs.


This is great news, but might I ask if this is something official from Asus or if it is something "homemade"...?
ryzhov_al
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 48
Location: Smolensk, Russia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 9:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nebudchanezzer wrote:
This is great news, but might I ask if this is something official from Asus or if it is something "homemade"...?
No, it's not "homemade". It's taken from new RT-N66U device.
_________________
The Entware. A modern Optware replacement.
Nebudchanezzer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Apr 2012
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 13:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
ryzhov_al wrote:
Nebudchanezzer wrote:
This is great news, but might I ask if this is something official from Asus or if it is something "homemade"...?
No, it's not "homemade". It's taken from new RT-N66U device.


Do they ship new N66U's with an updated CFE then?

I would love to try this out but I have no linux-machine and know hardly anything about linux either...

EDIT: Do you have to do this from the original ASUS-firmware?

I'm running tomato on mine and used putty to log in and I got the message that the cat/dev/mtd0 was not found....
ryzhov_al
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 48
Location: Smolensk, Russia

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 18:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nebudchanezzer wrote:
I'm running tomato on mine and used putty to log in and I got the message that the cat/dev/mtd0 was not found....

Code:
cat /dev/mtd0...
I've fixed my instruction.
_________________
The Entware. A modern Optware replacement.
jprez1980
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 22:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
So with this new CFE, does DD-WRT need to be updated? Or are you saying once the CFE is updated to this latest version that supports 64K I can install the current version of the DD-WRT firmware and it will automatically recognize and work with the larger NVRAM?

Thanks!

_________________
Asus RT-N66U 64K NVRAM
ryzhov_al
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 48
Location: Smolensk, Russia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
jprez1980 wrote:
So with this new CFE, does DD-WRT need to be updated? Or are you saying once the CFE is updated to this latest version that supports 64K I can install the current version of the DD-WRT firmware and it will automatically recognize and work with the larger NVRAM?
I'm not a DD-WRT user. All i can say that CFE is working with 64Kb now.
If DD-WRT still can't use 64Kb NVRAM then it's up to DD-WRT.

_________________
The Entware. A modern Optware replacement.
Nebudchanezzer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Apr 2012
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 8:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
jprez1980 wrote:
So with this new CFE, does DD-WRT need to be updated? Or are you saying once the CFE is updated to this latest version that supports 64K I can install the current version of the DD-WRT firmware and it will automatically recognize and work with the larger NVRAM?

Thanks!



I would like to know more about this to.

Does DD-WRT automatically detect the NVRAM or do you have to flash a 64k-version?

If it is necessary to flash a 64k-version, would it be safe to just download the latest 64k-build and flash it, after updating the CFE, or do DD-WRT have do be updated to?
Gingernut
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've dumped and attached my 1.0.1.3 updated CFE.

It updated and is working fine just need to do a full reset to finish the test.

Can anyone check and see if it's really a 64kb CFE like it's bigger brother AC unit.



RT-N66U_1.0.1.3_cfe.bin
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  RT-N66U_1.0.1.3_cfe.bin
 Filesize:  256 KB
 Downloaded:  1549 Time(s)

ryzhov_al
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 48
Location: Smolensk, Russia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Gingernut wrote:
I've dumped and attached my 1.0.1.3 updated CFE.
Please note:
If someone flashes your CFE then he loose his unique MAC addresses for all interfaces!!!

Thats why i provide an instruction and script to carefullly copy unique settings from old CFE into new one!

_________________
The Entware. A modern Optware replacement.


Last edited by ryzhov_al on Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:34; edited 1 time in total
ryzhov_al
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 48
Location: Smolensk, Russia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nebudchanezzer wrote:
jprez1980 wrote:
So with this new CFE, does DD-WRT need to be updated? Or are you saying once the CFE is updated to this latest version that supports 64K I can install the current version of the DD-WRT firmware and it will automatically recognize and work with the larger NVRAM?

Thanks!

I would like to know more about this to.

Does DD-WRT automatically detect the NVRAM or do you have to flash a 64k-version?
NVRAM is just a flash memory area. And both Linux (from any chosen firmware) and bootloader (CFE in our case) must know how to deal with it.

ASUS engineers expanded NVRAM up to 64Kb last summer, but only for Linux (stock firmware). They broke ability to read/write variables from NVRAM for bootloader. My script helps to fix that.

So, from now on, there is no more problem between CFE and 64Kb RAM.

Now it's up to DD-WRT developers. They must update Linux (included in DD-WRT firmware) to use 64Kb NVRAM.

_________________
The Entware. A modern Optware replacement.
Nebudchanezzer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Apr 2012
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Gingernut wrote:
I've dumped and attached my 1.0.1.3 updated CFE.

It updated and is working fine just need to do a full reset to finish the test.

Can anyone check and see if it's really a 64kb CFE like it's bigger brother AC unit.


What firmware were you on when you flashed the cfe to the router?

I saw on some other forum that i wouldn't be possible to perform the flash on tomato.
ryzhov_al
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 48
Location: Smolensk, Russia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 13:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nebudchanezzer wrote:
I saw on some other forum that i wouldn't be possible to perform the flash on tomato.
Only mtd-write utility is used on router. Strange if it's absent on Tomato, it used for firmware updates.
_________________
The Entware. A modern Optware replacement.
Gingernut
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 15:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nebudchanezzer wrote:
Gingernut wrote:
I've dumped and attached my 1.0.1.3 updated CFE.

It updated and is working fine just need to do a full reset to finish the test.

Can anyone check and see if it's really a 64kb CFE like it's bigger brother AC unit.


What firmware were you on when you flashed the cfe to the router?

I saw on some other forum that i wouldn't be possible to perform the flash on tomato.


RMerlin's latest build
Nebudchanezzer
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 Apr 2012
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 16:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Gingernut wrote:
Nebudchanezzer wrote:
Gingernut wrote:
I've dumped and attached my 1.0.1.3 updated CFE.

It updated and is working fine just need to do a full reset to finish the test.

Can anyone check and see if it's really a 64kb CFE like it's bigger brother AC unit.


What firmware were you on when you flashed the cfe to the router?

I saw on some other forum that i wouldn't be possible to perform the flash on tomato.


RMerlin's latest build


I flashed to that first then I uploaded and flashed the new cfe, rebooted and started in recovery mode and did a nvram reset and commit.

Everything is working so I'm assuming this is working....
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 35, 36, 37  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 37
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum