Affordable router with 16 MB flash?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Search & Find, Sales & Offers
Author Message
forgottenit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2016
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 17:36    Post subject: Affordable router with 16 MB flash? Reply with quote
I want to run OpenVPN server on my router via dd-wrt. I'm told it needs at least 16MB flash to do that...

I want to spend less than £50. What router should I get? I live in the UK. What routers would be suitable?
Sponsor
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 6996
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 23:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
how fast are u expecting it to be? vpn is hard on the cpu so cpu power is going to matter just as much as flash space
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
forgottenit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2016
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, not sure how to answer that really. Current one seems fast enough, but is not capable of OpenVPN as not enough flash.

Current router is TP-Link TL-WR841ND v8.

Internet speed test result:

I suppose I don't want it slower than that!
forgottenit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2016
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 18:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hoping to get something before Xmas, so any help would be great, thanks.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 6996
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 21:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
look at

dir-862L
dir-868L (any rev)
dir-860L (b1 ONLY, a1 has no 2.4ghz amp, & b1 is a europe only model)
archer c7 v2 (NOT a v1 or no 5ghz wifi)
r6250
r6300 v2

all those are 16mb flash & up with acceptable cpu power, all fit in mentioned budget when doing CAD --> GBP

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
forgottenit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2016
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 23:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
I appreciate the effort, but those all seem either to be more than £50, or not sold in UK, or both...
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 6996
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 0:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
wndr3700 v4
wndr4300 v1
wndr3800
wndr3700 v2
wr1043nd v2
wr1043nd v3
dir-825 c1
dir-835 a1
dir-859
dir-869
dir-880L

the bottom 3 are 802.11ac if thats a requirement or wanted

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
forgottenit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2016
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 0:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
What about this one?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/TP-Link-Archer-C50-AC1200-Wireless-Dual-Band-Cable-Router-1-2Gbps-4-Port-NEW-UK/391476944362?_trksid=p2047675.c100010.m2109&_trkparms=aid%3D2220072%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D38661%26meid%3D7f015a6f96b744e88d49b09964cf4060%26pid%3D100010%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D3%26sd%3D332046376585
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 6996
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 0:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
both v1 & v2 arent supported & both also have 8mb flash. i see lots of dir-862L on ebay uk for 30 ~ 45 pounds, just that they are coming from usa (shipping time & ull need a plug converter). theres the archer c5 thats a little over mentioned budget.
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
forgottenit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2016
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks. Found a couple of wndr3700 on ebay, just sent them a question to check the hardware rev is v2 or v4... I assume you meant other revs won't work.

Edit: hmm, just looked at router database. It seems to say that any version 1-4 of wndr3700 will work ok... is that right?

Is this the right one? http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/NETGEAR-N600-Wireless-Dual-Band-Gigabit-Router-WNDR3700-/122275476478?nav=SEARCH
forgottenit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jun 2016
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2016 17:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I bought it so hope it is! Got a 4 in 5 chance (v5 doesn't seem to work for dd-wrt from what I can tell)

Thanks for your help!
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 6996
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
v1 ~ v4 are supported, v5 isnt as the devs dont have a unit for porting to. i only mentioned v2 & v4 cause the v2 has 16mb flash & v4 has 128mb (actual firmware size max is about 25mb).

v1 only has 8mb flash, v3 also only 8mb flash + poor quality hardware (in my opinion when i used one).

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[QUALCOMM] R7800 ---------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 ------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L ------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40701 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Search & Find, Sales & Offers All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum