Console connection on N66U and THUMPA board

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
GH0
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 19:28    Post subject: Console connection on N66U and THUMPA board Reply with quote
I currently have this: http://www.diygadget.com/tiao-usb-multi-protocol-adapter-jtag-spi-i2c-serial.html Provided to me by fury on the IRC channel.

I see the device as a USB COM port (signified as COM2).

Dark_Shadow gave me a link to the pinouts for the console connection here: http://www.techinfodepot.info/index.php/Asus_RT-N66U_B1#JTAG.2FSerial_Info

And the pinout for the THUMPA board is listed below. I have the jumpers set so that TTL-OUT is enabled.

So, I am directly connecting pin 1 into pin 3 on the device, pin 2 into pin 2, pin 9 into pin 1, and pin 11 into pin 4.

So when I power the device on, I see the RX LED light up on the thumpa (Shown here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHc47vSJkos&feature=g-upl ), but I don't get anything coming through the putty connection. I followed the putty setup on Dark_Shadow's site as well.

I was wondering if anyone could provide some more insight as to what I may have done improperly, of if I need to move some more header pins around. Am I using the right connection?

If I use RS232 pin connections instead and connect them to pin 5, 6, 9, 10, I still have the same results.

THUMPA Board manual: http://www.tiaowiki.com/download//file.php?id=38
Sponsor
GH0
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 20:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Picture of current layout for the THUMPA board:


Pinout for TTL-OUT on the THUMPA:


Pinout for RS232 on Thumpa:


Devices on computer:


Putty configuration on computer:
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 20:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
you have rx & tx mixed up.

rx (receive) of one device connects to tx (transmit) of the other.

so..

trumpa - router

1 - 2
2 - 3
9 - 1
11 - 4

you should not need vcc. The trumpa us powered from the usb port.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
GH0
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 20:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Okay, so:



I made sure that the rx and tx were flipped from Trumpa to router.

The LED lights on the THUMPA show up, but still nothing appears in Putty. Then the LED light stops after a couple seconds.

Method.

Plug in THUMPA
Open up Putty with saved connection "serial" (settings in picture in post 2).
Turn router on
Wait for Output

I am under the assumption that this should be similar to the way Cisco routers are with putty when you have them plugged in via a console connection to RS232. Where they scroll output via the screen, and it should respond to enter/return key requests.
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 21:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
BUFFER_EN jumper is in the wrong position. I will verify other setting and repost.

EDIT: How are you connecting the TUMPA to the PC?

EDIT: All Screenshots are from Win7 32-bit



Device_Manager_001.png
 Description:
Device Manager Settings
 Filesize:  129.72 KB
 Viewed:  15151 Time(s)

Device_Manager_001.png



Putty_002.png
 Description:
Putty Setting 2
 Filesize:  56.92 KB
 Viewed:  15152 Time(s)

Putty_002.png



Putty_001.png
 Description:
Putty Settings 1
 Filesize:  58.67 KB
 Viewed:  15152 Time(s)

Putty_001.png



_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
GH0
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 22:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dark_Shadow wrote:
BUFFER_EN jumper is in the wrong position. I will verify other setting and repost.

EDIT: How are you connecting the TUMPA to the PC?

EDIT: All Screenshots are from Win7 32-bit


Will switch that jumper when I get out of class.

Connective it via mini USB port, using Win 7 x86 (possibly x64, I don't remember which that machine is.)
GH0
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 1:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
This machine is Windows 7 X64. With the settings that you showed me Dark_Shadow, it still doesn't seem to be working.

Video of me turning the device on, THUMPA RX LED lighting up, then showing the console of Putty with it being blank.:

http://youtu.be/NIGcDMliwDk

Driver / Hardware settings:


Jumper Settings and Pinout:


Image of Router Serial Connection:


Image of THUMPA Connection:
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 2:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try swapping the blue and yellow wires, other than that I don't know. The flashing led on the Tumpa tells me the router is communicating with the Tumpa. it's almost like the Tumpa isn't communicating with the PC. You could also try a different USB cable.
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
GH0
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 2:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
When I get back from my trip this weekend, I will back up the system and try installing windows 7 X86 on it, and see if that fixes it. I unfortunatly can't find a mini usb cable that I used with my old cell phone (that is the only other one I have). Otherwise, it is off to radioshack.

Is this device compatible with Linux? Might try it with my Kubuntu server and see if that would work.
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2012 2:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm not sure if it is able to run on linux, you might check for linux drivers on the TIAO site. I honestly don't think it's the O.S., I think it's the USB cable.
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Magnetron1.1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Nov 2010
Posts: 278
Location: North America

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:52    Post subject: Device Manager Settings For TUMPA Adapter On My HP Pavilion Reply with quote
@ GH0

Your problem could be that the TUMPA is not completely configured. Remember the TUMPA is a dual adaptor. Here's my Windows7 HP's configuration:

- Magnetron1.1



DeviceManager1.PNG
 Description:
 Filesize:  88.06 KB
 Viewed:  14981 Time(s)

DeviceManager1.PNG



DeviceManager2.PNG
 Description:
 Filesize:  35.19 KB
 Viewed:  14981 Time(s)

DeviceManager2.PNG



PuTTY1.PNG
 Description:
 Filesize:  106.2 KB
 Viewed:  14981 Time(s)

PuTTY1.PNG


Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 23:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
I do not have 2 MP COM ports and mine works fine.


Device_Manager_002.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  100.05 KB
 Viewed:  14931 Time(s)

Device_Manager_002.png



_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
Magnetron1.1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Nov 2010
Posts: 278
Location: North America

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 9:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dark_Shadow wrote:
I do not have 2 MP COM ports and mine works fine.

Yes ... PuTTY requires only one MP COM port to operate; the right one. The driver installation process is supposed to create two MP COM ports, but oftentimes doesn't. For example, on my 32 bit WinXP box it didn't create any. I had to manually setup the VCP's.The pictures below show my HP 64bit Win7 system running PuTTY with only one MP COM port in the Device Manager. The last two photos show the Device Manager screen on two other PC's, one a 32bit Win7 desktop system ,and the other a 32bit WinXP desktop system. All three systems have one thing in common: they all use the MP COM port associated with Adapter B to run PuTTY. YMMV

- Magnetron1.1



HPOneMPCOMPort.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  175.62 KB
 Viewed:  14842 Time(s)

HPOneMPCOMPort.png



NvidiaMobo.PNG
 Description:
 Filesize:  76.53 KB
 Viewed:  14842 Time(s)

NvidiaMobo.PNG



IntelMobo.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  35.04 KB
 Viewed:  14842 Time(s)

IntelMobo.png


GH0
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 0:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
That did seem to solve the problem Magnetron1.1

After I forced VCP in the driver setting and restarted, it added a new COM port.



Now to figure out the USB EXT issues.

Thanks again to you both.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum