Asus RT-AC66U now in stock - DD-WRT compatibility?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 90, 91, 92  Next
Author Message
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6840
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 23:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
depending on your client adapter this is normal.

how does 802.11n and 802.11ac work

in 40 mhz mode 2 channels are used.
the main control channel and the side channel often named as "lower" or "upper"
in that way its possible that 40 mhz and 20 mhz client are able to connect. the side channel is only used by 40 mhz capable devices and the control channel is used by all clients.

in 80 mhz 802.11ac mode it gets more crazy.
now we have 3 side channels. i could explain it, but you will already know what i mean. the lower lower, upper upper, lower upper, upper lower thing. and if your client adapter is not capable of detecting this (or your wireless scanner). you will see 2 or 4 networks.

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

Yummee:
Linux DD-WRT 4.14.8 #42 SMP PREEMPT Thu Dec 21 18:11:16 CET 2017 armv7l DD-WRT
root@DD-WRT:/sys# nvram get DD_BOARD
Netgear R7800
Sponsor
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6840
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 23:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
quick and dirty. should use the mac addresses as configured by asus and does not go the dd-wrt standard way. should fix the issue for cable modem users. (why isp's are still using mac filtering. this is the most stupid invention without benefits. it just makes troubles)


dd-wrt-Asus_RT-AC66U.trx
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  dd-wrt-Asus_RT-AC66U.trx
 Filesize:  17.62 MB
 Downloaded:  15648 Time(s)


_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

Yummee:
Linux DD-WRT 4.14.8 #42 SMP PREEMPT Thu Dec 21 18:11:16 CET 2017 armv7l DD-WRT
root@DD-WRT:/sys# nvram get DD_BOARD
Netgear R7800
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 2:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Anybody having problems with static leases? iPod will connect but never gets the static lease set. My laptop connects to wired, 2.4 and 5GHz and takes forever to get the IP set in static leases. But does not populate the DHCP list. Once both devices are removed from the static lease list they properly acquire IP's frpm the DHCP pool.

Any suggestions?

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
RMerlin
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Mar 2012
Posts: 273

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:

i took the code from asus. the formula you show is not the formula asus is using and it works also only if the wireless driver has been modified which isnt possible for the most users since they dont have the source codes unlike me


Then Asus is using different formulas in different places, because I definitely took this formula from the temperature monitoring webpage straight from their GPL archive.

Possible that it only works with their own driver, but I find it odd that your temperature would be so high, considering the CFE by default will throttle when temperature hits around 80C (I forgot the exact value).
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6840
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dark_Shadow wrote:
Anybody having problems with static leases? iPod will connect but never gets the static lease set. My laptop connects to wired, 2.4 and 5GHz and takes forever to get the IP set in static leases. But does not populate the DHCP list. Once both devices are removed from the static lease list they properly acquire IP's frpm the DHCP pool.

Any suggestions?


the you have a typo in your static lease definition. maybe a host name which violates the standard. this will result in a non working dhcp

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

Yummee:
Linux DD-WRT 4.14.8 #42 SMP PREEMPT Thu Dec 21 18:11:16 CET 2017 armv7l DD-WRT
root@DD-WRT:/sys# nvram get DD_BOARD
Netgear R7800
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6840
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
RMerlin wrote:
BrainSlayer wrote:

i took the code from asus. the formula you show is not the formula asus is using and it works also only if the wireless driver has been modified which isnt possible for the most users since they dont have the source codes unlike me


Then Asus is using different formulas in different places, because I definitely took this formula from the temperature monitoring webpage straight from their GPL archive.

Possible that it only works with their own driver, but I find it odd that your temperature would be so high, considering the CFE by default will throttle when temperature hits around 80C (I forgot the exact value).



then look again into your gpl archive. there are 2 places. within the webgui they simply just show the returning value. at the fan control daemon a average of 2.4 and 5 ghz interface is build.
in basic scheeme. 24iftemp + 5iftemp / 2

but its a little bit more complex since asus does a moving average by:
24value = (24value * 4 + new24value) / 5;
same for 5 ghz.

but there is no offset of 20 or something like that, your formula is wrong at 100%

take a look at rc/phy_tempsense.c for the moving average. the other location simply just uses the return value of the driver. but both code pieces indicated that the returned value is the temperature itself

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

Yummee:
Linux DD-WRT 4.14.8 #42 SMP PREEMPT Thu Dec 21 18:11:16 CET 2017 armv7l DD-WRT
root@DD-WRT:/sys# nvram get DD_BOARD
Netgear R7800
GMPOWER
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Is there a trick to flashing the file? I have tried everything, and end up with the same boot loop for my result. My device hardware version is A2. I set my static IP to 192.168.1.2 before proceeding, and even used 192.168.1.7 as someone else had done a few pages back. I attempted each of the following ways at least three times in a row.

I have attempted to flash from web gui after a factory reset in IE/chrome/Mozilla in windows 7 x64 and XP x86, and also chrome/Mozilla in Ubuntu with the same outcome of boot loop.

I also attempted to flash using tftp after putting the device into recovery mode, I did this with windows 7 x64, xp x86, and ubuntu with the same boot loop result.

I attempted to flash the file using Asus’s firmware restoration utility under windows 7 x64 and xp x86, with the same boot loop result.

I also attempted to flash the file from the recovery mode page with IE/Chrome/Mozilla in windows 7 x64 and xp x86, and also chrome/Mozilla in Ubuntu with the same outcome of boot loop.

I have no problem flashing back to stock using the firmware restoration utility, and the latest stock firmware.
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
@GMPOWER

Can you post a pic of the sticker?

_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
ig
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Mar 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 13:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dark_Shadow wrote:
@GMPOWER

Can you post a pic of the sticker?


I bought two ac66u at amazon. one of them is flashing without problem. with the second one I have the same issue. I have tried the same procedure also without succes.[/img]



_Z3C0180.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  811.53 KB
 Viewed:  18388 Time(s)

_Z3C0180.jpg


RMerlin
DD-WRT User


Joined: 05 Mar 2012
Posts: 273

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 13:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:
RMerlin wrote:
BrainSlayer wrote:

i took the code from asus. the formula you show is not the formula asus is using and it works also only if the wireless driver has been modified which isnt possible for the most users since they dont have the source codes unlike me


Then Asus is using different formulas in different places, because I definitely took this formula from the temperature monitoring webpage straight from their GPL archive.

Possible that it only works with their own driver, but I find it odd that your temperature would be so high, considering the CFE by default will throttle when temperature hits around 80C (I forgot the exact value).



then look again into your gpl archive. there are 2 places. within the webgui they simply just show the returning value. at the fan control daemon a average of 2.4 and 5 ghz interface is build.
in basic scheeme. 24iftemp + 5iftemp / 2

but its a little bit more complex since asus does a moving average by:
24value = (24value * 4 + new24value) / 5;
same for 5 ghz.

but there is no offset of 20 or something like that, your formula is wrong at 100%

take a look at rc/phy_tempsense.c for the moving average. the other location simply just uses the return value of the driver. but both code pieces indicated that the returned value is the temperature itself


This is on what I based my formula, from Advanced_PerformanceTuning_Content.asp:

Code:

function convertTemp(__coreTmp_2, __coreTmp_5, _method){
        if(_method == 0)
                return parseInt(__coreTmp_2)*0.5+20;
        else
                return (parseInt(__coreTmp_2)-20)*2;
}


This is where Asus used that 20 offset, hence I'm completely confused now.
Dark_Shadow
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Aug 2009
Posts: 2430
Location: Third Rock from the Sun

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 13:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
ig wrote:
Dark_Shadow wrote:
@GMPOWER

Can you post a pic of the sticker?


I bought two ac66u at amazon. one of them is flashing without problem. with the second one I have the same issue. I have tried the same procedure also without succes.
What makes you think it's a vA2?
_________________
Peacock Thread-FAQ -- Firmware Recommendations -- dd-wrt Wiki

Testing Multiple Routers -- Bootloader Collection Project -- My Wiki
GMPOWER
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 19:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dark_Shadow wrote:
ig wrote:
Dark_Shadow wrote:
@GMPOWER

Can you post a pic of the sticker?


I bought two ac66u at amazon. one of them is flashing without problem. with the second one I have the same issue. I have tried the same procedure also without succes.
What makes you think it's a vA2?


Here is the pic of the sticker, it says right on the sticker H/W ver. A2. I own two of these routers, both purchased at the same time from newegg, and both of them say H/W ver. A2 on them.



Last edited by GMPOWER on Mon Mar 11, 2013 19:30; edited 1 time in total
ig
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Mar 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 19:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
as far as for me and GMPOWER loading dd wrt on ac66u through GUI and tftp has failed, I would like to ask our gurus if there is another method to load this firmware?
Are we doing something wrong or it can be a hardware-software compatibility problem?
assasing123
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 20:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:
quick and dirty. should use the mac addresses as configured by asus and does not go the dd-wrt standard way. should fix the issue for cable modem users. (why isp's are still using mac filtering. this is the most stupid invention without benefits. it just makes troubles)


personally I like mac filtering...

Anyway, how is this test version working?

do it requires a 30-30-30 reset? or just a restore to factory and then flash from GUI?
GMPOWER
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 20:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

admin@RT-AC66U:/tmp/home/root# cat /proc/mtd

dev: size erasesize name
mtd0: 00040000 00010000 "pmon"
mtd1: 00010000 00010000 "nvram"
mtd2: 02000000 00020000 "linux"
mtd3: 01eaed40 00020000 "rootfs"
mtd4: 02000000 00020000 "trx"
mtd5: 02000000 00020000 "jffs2"
mtd6: 03f00000 00020000 "brcmnand"


admin@RT-AC66U:/tmp/home/root# dmesg|grep -E '\-0x|MTD|Bad|nvram|Boot|flash'
Found an ST compatible serial flash with 32 64KB blocks; total size 2MB
pflash: found no supported devices
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
Creating 2 MTD partitions on "sflash":
0x00000000-0x00040000 : "pmon"
0x001f0000-0x00200000 : "nvram"
Found a Samsung NAND flash with 2048B pages or 128KB blocks; total size 128MB
lookup_nflash_rootfs_offset: offset = 0x0
nflash: squash filesystem with lzma found at block 10
Creating 2 MTD partitions on "nflash":
0x00000000-0x02000000 : "linux"
0x001512c0-0x02000000 : "rootfs"
Bad block table found at page 65472, version 0x01
Bad block table found at page 65408, version 0x01
nand_read_bbt: Bad block at 0x00120000
nand_read_bbt: Bad block at 0x03780000
nand_read_bbt: Bad block at 0x03d60000
nand_read_bbt: Bad block at 0x05140000
Creating 3 MTD partitions on "brcmnand":
0x00000000-0x02000000 : "trx"
0x02000000-0x04000000 : "jffs2"
0x04000000-0x07f00000 : "brcmnand"
dev_nvram_init: _nvram_init
_nvram_init: allocat size= 65536


admin@RT-AC66U:/tmp/home/root# nvram show|grep size:
size: 35785 bytes (29751 left)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18 ... 90, 91, 92  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 17 of 92
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum