Asus RT-AC66U now in stock - DD-WRT compatibility?

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 90, 91, 92  Next
Author Message
spaceghost
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jun 2010
Posts: 105
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2016 21:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Will the AC-66U get support for linux kernel 3.18 or later?

I notice that after updating to the latest builds it is still on:

Linux 3.10.102 #13168 Fri Jul 1 12:10:38 CEST 2016 mips

I'm looking for some features that are available in kernel 3.18 and later, but I'm wondering if this router will be locked to that kernel and I need to start looking at new hardware?
Sponsor
vpn_stu
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Feb 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 22:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can someone provide the steps needed to downgrade the firmware to a dd-wrt flashable version?

Once I found the wiki page for the device I thought I was on the right path (getting a firmware that was much newer than the one from the router database page) but the router refuses to accept it as a valid firmware package.

I've found a few mentions of downgrading but I've not found any clear steps (ie grab this few version and use this programme to downgrade etc). I tried Merlin's fw mentioned on the previous page but it gets the same refusal as the DD-WRT fw.

Thanks in advance (and sorry for the first post in half a year).
spaceghost
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jun 2010
Posts: 105
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2017 8:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any updates on how this router is performing with the last Beta builds?

I just tried the most recent beta release for April 2017 and after flashing with it I'm seeing decreased throughput for routing over my trusty old Kong build 24200m.

On Kong 24200 I can saturate my VDSL connection at 67mbps downstream

With /betas/2017/04-24-2017-r31899 I could only reliably pull downstream 50mbps with the occasional spike up to 54mbps.
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5972
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2017 10:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Use the firmware restoration tool to flash merlin 380.59 then you can flash dd-wrt on it.
Use only the build with the rtn66 name in the file of the k3.x folder.



@Malachi

You have mixed up the RT-AC66U with the RT-N66U.

The RT-AC66U is in the root and not in the K3.x folder

@spaceghost

I have only a 30Mbit/s internet connection and it saturates it.
Have you tried to overclock it?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7217
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2017 11:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Wow. Sorry about that. I will delete my post.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
spaceghost
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jun 2010
Posts: 105
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2017 13:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:

@spaceghost

I have only a 30Mbit/s internet connection and it saturates it.
Have you tried to overclock it?


How safe is that to do and how far should I take it? Looks like default is 600?
hubermania
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 223

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2017 21:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
spaceghost wrote:
Any updates on how this router is performing with the last Beta builds? ... On Kong 24200 I can saturate my VDSL connection at 67mbps downstream. With /betas/2017/04-24-2017-r31899 I could only reliably pull downstream 50mbps with the occasional spike up to 54mbps.


Keep an eye on the "New build" threads to see folks' results with various routers. Like Per Yngve Berg, the '66 easily saturates my 30Mbps connection and that's with IPv6 & Adblock enabled, and Postfix & apcupsd running from /opt.

The RT-AC66U's 600MHz CPU is capable of 150Mbps according to "Brainslayer's Approximation" (CPU clock / 4). TMK there are fixes in v3.0 that make it a bit slower than v2.4, but not 54Mbps slow.

_________________
[Broadcom] Asus rt-ac66u r35531 ('66 should only be factory reset through the DD UI)
Fix RT-AC66U "wl1 [2.4 GHz TurboQAM]". DD-WRT failsafe UI @ http|https://169.254.255.1/
spaceghost
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jun 2010
Posts: 105
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2017 7:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've tried overclocking all the way to max OC speed with no consistent effect on my WAN throughput using the latest build. Kong 24200m still outperforms. Not sure what hidden bugs/features I'm losing though by using such an old FW.

Considering hunting for 68u now.
FTP
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Jul 2012
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 7:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
spaceghost wrote:
Any updates on how this router is performing with the last Beta builds?

1 year 1/2 after, same question?
What's now the latest recommanded build?


All I've found is:
-The RT-AC66U is not in the Router database any more (it used to be)
https://dd-wrt.com/support/router-database/
-The RT-AC66U is in the Supported Device list, but there's only a minimum build from March 2013 (20873)...
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices#Asus
-The Peacock thread §3 is stuck on recommanding the 14929 build from August 2010...
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=296835#296835
-There's no hardware specific for the RT-AC66U...
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Hardware-specific#Asus
- The RT-AC66U's Wiki does not give any advise regarding builds...
https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Asus_RT-AC66U
- The 36995 from 2 weeks ago has been installed without any errors by jrscs...
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1141670#1141670
- But according to their signatures jrscs & hubermania seem to use the 33492 & 34311 builds from late 2017

Any other input regarding the last builds?
Any build of 2018 known as the most recommanded?
Can I take the 37139 of this week for example?

2nd question: should I use the 30/30/30 hard reset or the Factory Default settings in the GUI?
I can't find anywhere in official FAQ/Wiki/Threads any comment saying the Asus RT-AC66U should not use the 30/30/30 hard reset but hubermania mention in his signature "66 should only be factory reset through the DD UI" and jrscs mention in his upgrade report that he also used "Reset: Yes, reset Factory Default both prior to and after install through WebGUI".
So I'm wondering if it's not better not to use the 30/30/30 hard reset for this model Rolling Eyes


Last edited by FTP on Fri Oct 05, 2018 16:20; edited 1 time in total
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5972
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 15:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have installed and tested 37012

Only use Factory Reset in the GUI on this model. A nvram reset will cause the 5Ghz to be detected as 2.4Ghz
Tony98031
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Oct 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 4:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just installed dd-wrt BS 37012 into Asus RT-AC66U, been running Merlin last 2 years,so far everything run smoothly. The reason I installed dd-wrt was to run it as Repeater bridge, so far so good.
FTP
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Jul 2012
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
On Oct. 5th morning there were:
- reports of failure with the 36698...
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1139116#1139116
- report of success with the 36995...
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1141670#1141670
- and not yet any reports about the 37012 & 37139.

So I installed the 36995 without any issue and since then... so far so good.

Now you guys add that the 37102 is ok, there's a report that the 37139 is also ok...
https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=1143260#1143260
...but nothing yet about the 37305.

Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Only use Factory Reset in the GUI on this model.

That's what I did, thanks.
spaceghost
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jun 2010
Posts: 105
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 18:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
So ironic that this thread and my earlier questions have come back to life. My old RT-AC66U was retired to acting as a media bridge with Merlin. However, Merlin has dropped support for this model and so I decided to put DD-WRT back on it yesterday. I had a hellish nightmare even getting it installed. Basically I ran into these problems

https://forum.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=300462&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

I was getting constant boot looping when installing DD-WRT - eventually got it on using June 1 2017 build with asus firmware utility and then was able to flash to current releases from there.

I have r37139 running on it for 24 hours and it's stable. It's still being used as a client bridge though.
adoucette
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 22:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
spaceghost wrote:
I was getting constant boot looping when installing DD-WRT - eventually got it on using June 1 2017 build with asus firmware utility and then was able to flash to current releases from there.

I have r37139 running on it for 24 hours and it's stable. It's still being used as a client bridge though.


Same issue here. I was getting reboot loops.
So I enabled firmware update mode by following instructions here:
https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1000814/
Download ASUS firmware update utility and install it. Don't run it yet.
Power off router, holding down reset button, power on router, wait 5 seconds, and then release reset button.
Plug network cable into LAN port, directly into PC.
Change the settings for the NIC to static IPv4 192.168.1.10 and mask 255.255.255.0 as in asus link above.
Open ASUS firmware update utility. Browse to firmware and upload to router. IN this case, the June 1 2017 r32170 build found here:
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2017/06-01-2017-r32170/asus-rt-ac66u/

Reset the NIC IPv4 settings to DHCP.
Browse to 192.168.1.1
Go through welcome screen and set username and password
Go to Administration and do a firmware upgrade to a more recent DD-WRT version, such as 37139 found here:
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2018/10-04-2018-r37139/asus-rt-ac66u/

Again go through setup.

Now works just fine. (except only that I don't get NTP...)

Thanks spaceghost for the help.
spaceghost
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Jun 2010
Posts: 105
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 6:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
adoucette - what mode are you using it in? NTP is working for me, but I'm in client bridge mode. Just make sure you have a gateway and dns server in Network Setup for the Router IP under basic setup. I always used to forget to configure that part because the webgui is accessible and works even if you don't a gateway and dns set
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 90, 91, 92  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 91 of 92
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum