Buffalo WZR-D1800H

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 46, 47, 48, 49, 50  Next
Author Message
symore
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Dec 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello

I've updated my wzr-d1800h to the newest dd-wrt brainslayer Version BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2014/11-20-2014-r25408/.
What I want to use is the NAS functionalty with an Attached USB Stick. The Router detected the Stick correctly and mounted it sucessfuly. I configured a new samba share, with an user who has rights for access.
When I now try to connect from Windows 8.1 Client to the new created samba share I typed in the Windows Explorer Adressfield \\192.168.1.1 (this is the IP of the Router). It shows me my new share, but if I want to access, it told me the share doesn't exist. What have I done wrong?

I read some other Wiki entries that told me I have to use Optware and then install Samba 3.5. Is this the only way to solve it?
Sponsor
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 21:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
has everyone gotten rid of this router? cause it's pretty dead in here.. lol

anyone having issues setting a VAP on this thing?
shpitz461
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Oct 2012
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 21:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
lol, i haven't, also been lazy lately and didn't flash anything new in the past few months...

What's a VAP?
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 22:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Virtual Access Point...

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Multiple_WLANs
shpitz461
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Oct 2012
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 22:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
is that similar to the guest network you can set up? looks like it's more flexible than the guest network feature...
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 23:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yep it can serve as a guest network

The funny thing is after waiting for about 2 hours it started to accept clients

But as soon as I make some changes bam gone

I don't think that is the right behavior

Now I am waiting for it again

This totally blows
shpitz461
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Oct 2012
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 23:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Which firmware are you on?
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 23:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Brainslayer's DD-WRT v24-sp2 (02/24/15) giga - build 26348M
shpitz461
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Oct 2012
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 0:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
I see there's a 02-26-2015-r26372, might flash it over the weekend.

I'm still running 12/03/14 giga - build 25544, on both routers (2nd router is repeater bridge on wl0).
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 21:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well I seriously don't know what's up. The Virtual SSID just won't let any clients connect even waiting for hours and rebooting the router completely.

Now I find out that every time I reboot the WZR-D1800 it causes my TP-Link SG2424 to not properly route VLAN. I have to go in to the SG2424 and untag and re-tag a port.

so frustrating!


Last edited by mbze430 on Fri Feb 27, 2015 22:18; edited 1 time in total
shpitz461
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Oct 2012
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 22:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did you try going back to an older firmware to see if it worked before?

Also, what procedure do you use going to a new firmware? 30-30-30, flash, then another 30-30-30, then reconfigure everything from scratch every time?
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 22:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
I read that the Broadcom ARM didn't take the 30-30-30.. I just ssh in and do a "erase nvram && reset"

besides there is a thread also pointing out to upgrade to the 26xxx revision you need to start fresh. So I started fresh without loading old data
shpitz461
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Oct 2012
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 22:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
I see. So when you flash a new build, you don't need to reconfigure from scratch?
jheide44
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2013
Posts: 729

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 22:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
mbze430 wrote:
I read that the Broadcom ARM didn't take the 30-30-30.. I just ssh in and do a "erase nvram && reset"

besides there is a thread also pointing out to upgrade to the 26xxx revision you need to start fresh. So I started fresh without loading old data


...

shpitz461 wrote:
I see. So when you flash a new build, you don't need to reconfigure from scratch?


not according to this guy HERE...
Wink

While I'm guilty of *dirty flashing* myself, you folks are correct it is a best practice.

_________________
reenignE esreveR
Resistance is NOT futile... It's Voltage divided by Current!

[size=9]
_.-:Curently Deployed Devices:-._
Loc_1.0: R6400 -- Kong PTB 35550M 03-28-2018
Loc_2.0: R6300v2 -- Kong PTB 35550M 03-28-2018
Loc_3.0: R6300v2 -- Kong PTB 35030M 02-19-2018
Loc_4.0: R6300v2 -- Kong PTB 28600M 12-31-2015 (Radios OFF) & 5 Ubiquity UniFi APs
Loc_4.1: E4200 -- BrainSlayer K2.6 30880
Others: too many others to list

UNofficial Repo Kong's old builds HERE.

R7000 (& similar HW) Tips/Tricks HERE.

Assumptions:
1. Everyone on the forum has read the relevant forum section announcements.
2. For Broadcom section we have ALL at least tried to understand the "Peacock" thread,
HERE
shpitz461
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Oct 2012
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 23:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
30/30/30 is the biggest bullshit I have ever read since I started developing 5 years ago. I have not seen a single device including my older K26 units, that would do what you expect it to do:-)


LMAO, like sheep to the slaughter... Very Happy

I guess i'll just flash a new build, do nvram erase, then reboot.

Thanks for the enlightment!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 46, 47, 48, 49, 50  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 47 of 50
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum