[wndr3400v2] - Repeater Mode, WAN IP and connectivity issues

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Kylethedarkn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2016
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Mar 26, 2019 18:14    Post subject: [wndr3400v2] - Repeater Mode, WAN IP and connectivity issues Reply with quote
Hello, I recently purchased a wndr3400v2 for cheap, and have been trying to use it to repeat a public xfinitywifi signal. I have gotten it to work but I'm running into a couple problems.

Some background info...I have the 5ghz radio set to repeater with the same name as the public xfinity hotspot. I have the 2.4ghz radio set as an ap with a different name and security on. Also xfinitywifi requires you to have an allowed MAC address to be able to access the internet, so I've spoofed the mac of a device that's allowed but I no longer use for the wan mac. I also have a mac filter on the 5ghz radio to keep it from repeating other xfinitywifi signals that are weaker as this is an apartment.

So originally I had the wan set to dhcp so that it would automatically pull an ip from the hotspot. That was working for a while, but it would occasionally lose its WAN ip. Going from 172.20.20.20 to 0.0.0.0 at which point internet connectivity would be lost. I would try to release and renew the dhcp lease for the wan but that wouldn't work. What fixed it everytime was just rebooting the router. It would then immediately pull a wan ip and start working again. I should also mention that the xfinity hotspot would still be listed as a wireless client under status>wireless. So it's not losing the connection to the hotspot entirely.

Recently however, it's stopped even working with dhcp. I've had to set the wan option to static ip and put the ip it always pulled 172.20.20.20 as the wan ip and the gateway as 172.20.20.1 which is what the hotspot is. That coupled with using Google's DNS has got it working sort of. It will now randomly drop the connection or have little hiccups where it cuts out/slows down for a second. Another thing I should mention is that with both setups the router would randomly lock up and not allow access from the web gui, telnet, or respond to a ping to it's local ip. Don't know if that's related, but maybe. Restarting the modem makes it responsive again when that happens.

So yeah, if anybody has any solutions, or can point me in the right direction as to what to troubleshoot, that would be very helpful. I'm even getting to a point where I'm willing to write a script that detects if there is a WAN connection and resets the interface or reboots the router.
Sponsor
Dr_K
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Mar 2018
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Tue Mar 26, 2019 19:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
When did dd-wrt start support for the v2?

Last I knew it's been a work in progress for the past.....decade...without any progress Rolling Eyes

_________________
Location 1
R6300V2- DD-WRT v3.0-r39345M kongac (04-03-19) Gateway
WNDR3400v1 DD-WRT v3.0-r35531_mega-nv64k (03/26/18 ) Access Point
WRT160Nv3 DD-WRT ?v3?.0-r35531 mini (03/26/18 ) Access Point
WRT54GSv5 DD-WRT v24-r33555_micro_generic (10/20/17) Repeater
Location 2
R6300V2- DD-WRT v3.0-r39345M kongac (04/03/19) Gateway
R6300V2- DD-WRT v3.0-r39345M kongac (04/03/19) Access Point
WNDR3700v2 DD-WRT v3.0-r35531 std (03/26/18 ) Access Point
E1200 v2 DD-WRT v3.0-r35531 mega-nv64k (03/26/18 ) Gateway(for trivial reasons)
RBWAPG-5HACT2HND-BE RouterOS-v6.46.4 (2/21/20) Outdoor Access Point
2 devices: RBSXTG-5HPACD RouterOS-v6.46.4 (2/21/20) PTP Bridge (0.8km/0.5mi)tx/rx 866.6Mbps-1GbpsLAN
Location 3
R7000 DD-WRT v3.0-r44627 netgear-r7000 (10/22/20) Access Point
2 devices: RBWAPG-60AD RouterOS-v6.45.9 (04/30/20) PTP Bridge tx/rx 2.3Gbps-1GbpsLAN


Thank You BrainSlayer & <Kong> for ALL that you do & have done, also to "most" everyone here that shares their knowledge
Kylethedarkn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2016
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 1:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Technically they didn't, but somebody made a port of one of the builds that doesn't have all of the options, but functions at least.
Kylethedarkn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2016
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 16:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was just thinking, could it be low signal quality plus too long of a beacon time? I have the beacon time set to 100 and the signal quality is about 20% usually from the hotspot. Maybe the signal degrades to the point where not enough information is getting through consistently to keep an ip?

Also, the router is only wireless N so I was reading that the best TX Power for that is around 40mW and that to not set the wireless mode to N-Only because that doesn't function correctly with dd-wrt? I have it set to mixed now.

EDIT: Also, I know this is a little ridiculous of a solution, but how would I go about learning how to add support for the router to the current builds? Was it just not a popular enough router to get attention, or is it just a huge pain in the ass or something?
kernel-panic69
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 08 May 2018
Posts: 7444
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 16:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
The 'somebody' is tathag... whatever his handle is and everyone has said don't use his firmware. But, if it is working, I would suggest that you try NG-Mixed and NA-Mixed on the wifi settings. Also look up the basic and advanced wireless settings wikis. Not even sure repeater modes are worth a darn. I will have to look and see if FreshTomato supports the V2 or not. BUT, to answer your question, you have to donate a device to get support added, and it may not get added right away, especially since it's probably a Broadcom MIPS device..... just my thoughts.

EDIT: Since it is the same hardware as the E2500 Linksys, well...

https://exotic.se/freshtomato-mips/v2019/2019.1/K26RT-N/Netgear%20WNDR-series/

Looks like FT does support it. I just don't remember if FT has repeater modes or not.
Kylethedarkn
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Dec 2016
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 20:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Would you recommend Fresh Tomato over OpenWRT? Both seem to support my router version.

Edit: Never mind it looks like openWRT doesn't support wifi which is a little weird.
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2613
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 22:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kylethedarkn wrote:
Edit: Never mind it looks like openWRT doesn't support wifi which is a little weird.
Broadcom drivers aren't open, so thus require specific kernels, configs, and/or workarounds for wireless to work; while OpenWRT uses newer kernels. Smile

It depends on your feature requirements, but I'm running Fresh on my EA6900 AP; no issues. I messed with OpenWRT on my WNDR3700v4, but it's back on OEM atm. My lone Atheros device sits asleep on a shelf...

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.4|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44758: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum