WHR-HP-G54 Flag 0x3758 instead of 0x2758/0x1758 ???

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
GeeTek
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 3768
Location: I'm the one on the plate.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 3:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
billbahamas wrote:
Does that extend to the WHR-G125?

No Bill, it does not. The 125 model does not have the switchable pre amp. I am remembering through the ethanol fog about the tower tests you aksed about. Only 0x1758 and 0x2758 were valid. Any other setting was the same as the 0x1758 which = no pre-amp.

_________________
http://69.175.13.131:8015 Streaming Week-End Disco. Station Ripper V 1.1 will do.
Sponsor
tkoyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 426

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 13:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
WTS wrote:
To the other member, i used V23 SP2 i try later V24 to check any difference, but think they are the same at power control config.
WTS, please do check V24 to see if it is the same. I have the 6/20 build now. Considering that, as I increased the transmit power, I saw benefits on the speed of file transfers between my computers, all the way up to a setting of 80 mw and my house is only about 1300 sq feet and I am not trying to get the signal in the basement, I would be surprised if I really ended up jacking up the router to one full watt just to get 54Mpbs connection between two rooms of my house, using the stock antenna that came with the router.
WTS
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 May 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Caracas

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 17:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok ill make that test, but remember the incorporated amplifier in the Buffalo HP gives 31 dBm , as it says in the specification page of that chip, so the answer is in the Brainslayer hands, because he knows if there is any difference in the power control between versions, and as i have read V23 and V24 has the same control commands for Xmit power.

Something is sure, you can get 100 mw (in the amplifier) up to 35 mw in Xmit power, after that amplifier go up really fast. I think at 80 mw amplifier gives 31 dBm (1.3 watts), because when i use more than 50 mw in Xmit power my tester doesnt support that power and says Range Exceed.
billbahamas
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 296
Location: Waldo Florida(trailer trash)

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 18:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
GeeTek wrote:
billbahamas wrote:
Does that extend to the WHR-G125?

No Bill, it does not. The 125 model does not have the switchable pre amp. I am remembering through the ethanol fog about the tower tests you aksed about. Only 0x1758 and 0x2758 where valid. Any other setting was the same as the 0x1758 which = no pre-amp.


So when you have new WHR-HP-G54 and you flash it with v24 dd-wrt and don't do anything with the board flags (whatever they are) is the tx amp and or rec amp on? And if you set the tx power say at 60 mW is that really 60 or some higher number as the guy with the meter says. Yes I am a stupid ass. You will get old too. I believe if it was clear there would not be so many threads on the subject. Spank me! Thanks, Bill

_________________
DSL from Windstream
I feed a friend 400 meters through trees to Wi Fi station taped to his window from my bullet hp feeding 15db pringles type antenna
GeeTek
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 3768
Location: I'm the one on the plate.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 18:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
The HP model always has the TX amp turned on no matter what. The RX amp is turned on by default with DD-WRT ver 24. With a setting of 60 mW in V24, the power is much higher than 60 mW. If you are still using 4-18-06 micro on the HP do not set the power higher than 30 mW, it will likely destroy the radio.
_________________
http://69.175.13.131:8015 Streaming Week-End Disco. Station Ripper V 1.1 will do.
billbahamas
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 296
Location: Waldo Florida(trailer trash)

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 19:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
GeeTek wrote:
The HP model always has the TX amp turned on no matter what. The RX amp is turned on by default with DD-WRT ver 24. With a setting of 60 mW in V24, the power is much higher than 60 mW. If you are still using 4-18-06 micro on the HP do not set the power higher than 30 mW, it will likely destroy the radio.

I am using 15/08/07 mini generic bin v-24. Do I still need to turn it down? This is on an hp-g54...

_________________
DSL from Windstream
I feed a friend 400 meters through trees to Wi Fi station taped to his window from my bullet hp feeding 15db pringles type antenna
GeeTek
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 3768
Location: I'm the one on the plate.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 19:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
billbahamas wrote:
I am using 15/08/07 mini generic bin v-24. Do I still need to turn it down? This is on an hp-g54...

A lot of folks report that they run the HP as high as 250 mW with V24. I do not use V24 on the HP radio so I do not know for sure. If you are driving an external amp with this radio then you would need to do some testing to determine the best drive level for that amp. If it is a stand alone unit, I'm pretty sure 60 or 80 mW will not be a problem at all.

_________________
http://69.175.13.131:8015 Streaming Week-End Disco. Station Ripper V 1.1 will do.
billbahamas
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 296
Location: Waldo Florida(trailer trash)

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 19:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
GeeTek wrote:
billbahamas wrote:
I am using 15/08/07 mini generic bin v-24. Do I still need to turn it down? This is on an hp-g54...

A lot of folks report that they run the HP as high as 250 mW with V24. I do not use V24 on the HP radio so I do not know for sure. If you are driving an external amp with this radio then you would need to do some testing to determine the best drive level for that amp. If it is a stand alone unit, I'm pretty sure 60 or 80 mW will not be a problem at all.


THANK YOU! For a professional drinker/computer whiz you are OK. Bill

_________________
DSL from Windstream
I feed a friend 400 meters through trees to Wi Fi station taped to his window from my bullet hp feeding 15db pringles type antenna
tkoyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 426

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 3:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
GeeTek wrote:
billbahamas wrote:
I am using 15/08/07 mini generic bin v-24. Do I still need to turn it down? This is on an hp-g54...

A lot of folks report that they run the HP as high as 250 mW with V24.
I have been running mine at 80 for months and have not blown it. So I wonder if v24 at a given setting is less power than v23 at the same setting. I also suspect this because I don't know why on earth I would see benefit from running a full watt to send files between computers in two rooms. I await WTS's testing of V24....

Also, while he is at it, he probably should do the Buffalo stock firmware on 25%, 50%, 75%, and 100% power settings.
billbahamas
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 296
Location: Waldo Florida(trailer trash)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
I had a friend on another boat that is running the whr-hp-g54 as a client bridge change the TX power while I looked at the receive level on the on shore g-125 AP. Above 30 Mw there was very little change. And above 60 mW all the way until 251 mW no change so we have left it on 60mW. His boat is 1 1/4 miles from the AP.
_________________
DSL from Windstream
I feed a friend 400 meters through trees to Wi Fi station taped to his window from my bullet hp feeding 15db pringles type antenna
tkoyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 426

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 2:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
WTS wrote:
Ok ill make that test, but remember the incorporated amplifier in the Buffalo HP gives 31 dBm , as it says in the specification page of that chip, so the answer is in the Brainslayer hands, because he knows if there is any difference in the power control between versions, and as i have read V23 and V24 has the same control commands for Xmit power.

Something is sure, you can get 100 mw (in the amplifier) up to 35 mw in Xmit power, after that amplifier go up really fast. I think at 80 mw amplifier gives 31 dBm (1.3 watts), because when i use more than 50 mw in Xmit power my tester doesnt support that power and says Range Exceed.
WTS, Have you had a chance to do the test with v24? (And you might try the stock firmware too.)

Thanks
stalonge
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 21 Jul 2006
Posts: 1865
Location: Fortaleza Ce Brazil

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 14:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello Guys ,

I made some tests and .. if i put 28 mw and 45 mw the range and the quality of the signal does not made any diference in ddwrt v24 rc2 .This is what a get ..



I jut look in status >>wirelless >> quality signal in dd-wrt .. can i trust in this measures ?


i

_________________
DDwrt ...it rocks ....
1 R8500 41556 AP OpenVPN webserver RETIRED (bricked)
1 R7800 42912 AP Wireguard webserver JFFS SAMBA FTP usb HD Mesh
1 R7800 42912 Cli Mesh
1 WZR1750 42908 AP Webserver OpenVPN
1 DDx86 Vmware 40260
1 E3000 41027 K3 @500 WAP wifi client
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7031
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 14:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
no, since the wireless status has nothing todo with the output power. this shows just how you will receive other clients / ap's
_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
billbahamas
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 296
Location: Waldo Florida(trailer trash)

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 17:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:
no, since the wireless status has nothing todo with the output power. this shows just how you will receive other clients / ap's

I was checking the receive level on the AP 1 1/4 miles from the whr-hp-g54 as he adjusted the TX power being in the client bridge mode and above 60 mW it made no difference. I have never messed with the board flags as I don't know how. There are 4 of us on the same AP on boats scattered around the harbour and islands over 6 or 7 sq. miles.

_________________
DSL from Windstream
I feed a friend 400 meters through trees to Wi Fi station taped to his window from my bullet hp feeding 15db pringles type antenna
tkoyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Feb 2007
Posts: 426

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 13:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Looks like WTS rode off into the sunset with his power meter and didn't do the test with v24 he said he would do. :-(

I hope this is not really the case, but doing a search reveals he has posted nothing since Aug 31.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 4 of 7
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum