E4200 V1 & V2 - Boxes are identical

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
rlped
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:09    Post subject: E4200 V1 & V2 - Boxes are identical Reply with quote
I just bought 2 e4200 routers at Best Buy today

One is a V1 and one is V2 - same price. - the boxes are identical, the UPC is the same - 45883-59043. You'll hve to open the package to make sure you get the one you want (v1, as V2 is not supported by DD-wrt).

The V2 has a wall-wart type powersupply and the v1 has a dongle. The model # on thte router is in black on the gray body on the back. a little difficult to see. The CD says E4200V2 on one, and E4200 on the other.

As I only needed one to update to DD-WRT to support client bridge, I went ahead and installed them both.

BTW the instructions worked fine, with a bit of rebboting here an there.
Sponsor
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
what are the serial numbers on the V1 & the V2? The 1st 4 ~ 5 characters should specify the model.

Please post the 1st 4 ~ 5 characters of the serial numbers for the V1 & the V2.

Someone shopping can then tell by looking at the box. The serial number is stated on the box.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
rlped
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 16:08    Post subject: serial numbers Reply with quote
first 5 digits:

01C106

01C10C

Unfortunately As I stacked the boxes up I am not sure which is which, I would Assume that the higher number is the V2
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 16:58    Post subject: Re: serial numbers Reply with quote
rlped wrote:
first 5 digits:

01C106

01C10C

Unfortunately As I stacked the boxes up I am not sure which is which, I would Assume that the higher number is the V2


the serial number will also be stated on the sticker of the router..

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
rlped
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 19:20    Post subject: 01C106 is V2 Reply with quote
Embarassed

I didn't even think of that until later.

having looked at both routers, and double checked:
frist 5 digits of S/N

01C106 is the V2 router
01C10C is the V1 router.
PetervdM
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Posts: 282
Location: EU

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 19:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
my v1 is 01C10C too
_________________
now running tomato by shibby
E4200v1 cfe 2010.09.20.0
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 19:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
great.. good info.. thanks
_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1243

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 20:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
From what I can tell the routers are clearly labeled on the front cover... enclosed is the photo of the version 2.

-Fractal

Uploaded at Picoodle.com
rlped
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 2:26    Post subject: maybe one of mine was a mistake Reply with quote
My battery is bad in my cam so I can't upload a pic but the boxes I have both say E4200, they do not say E4200V2 --

Perhaps there was just a packaging fluke.

I am planning to take the V2 back so I can run DD_wrt on both routers, event thought the V2 is working fine. It is a case of "If it ain't broke don't fix it." versus having flexibility and the same software with DD-wrt.
gehx
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 13:08    Post subject: got V2 from newegg. Ordered V1...wtf?? Reply with quote
Fractal wrote:
From what I can tell the routers are clearly labeled on the front cover... enclosed is the photo of the version 2.

-Fractal

Uploaded at Picoodle.com


i just received an E4200 V2 from newegg...I didn't order the V2. the first 5 digits of S/N are 01C106 and the front of the box doesn't say V2...the bottom of the router says it's a v2....wtf Linksys?? hmm, there's a $40 difference between the v1 and v2 routers. v1 comes w/ a free printer....should i return this router and ask for a v1...will v2 ever support dd-wrt...from what i read it's a hell no. is the v2 hardware worthy enough to warrant keeping it and not running open source firmware? thoughts?

Fighting_Viper
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Dec 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 15:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
I also bought a E4200V2 that was in an E4200 box.

The box is EXACTLY the same as the E4200 and it even states that it is 300 + 450 mbps.

I thought I had an E4200V1 for awhile until I went into the guest feature and I saw up to 50 guests! That was a dead give away that I had a V2. Other differences I've noticed are:

-My serial number starts with: 01C106

-Model number says E4200V2

-FCCID is Q87-E4200V2

-Has a low profile(?) power adapter

-CD says version 2

I personally don't care because I never planned to flash it with DD-WRT. But from what I can tell the V2 WILL NEVER be supported.

So why are E4200V2's coming in E4200 boxes?

At this point I can assume they had E4200V2's rolling off the production line but they did not have the V2 boxes ready. Since the V2's fit in the V1's boxes they just decided to ship them in that until they got the proper boxes.

@ghex: I suggest you make a forum post on http://www.eggxpert.com they have high level Newegg CSR's that go on the forum. If you call Newegg they will probably tell you that they do not guarantee what version of the product you get. This case is different though because they clearly advertise the different versions.
#cisco
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Dec 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 0:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Might also want to check the CPU if you are getting the E4200v1. Mine (bought in mid-Dec) came with the Broadcom BCM4716 instead of BCM4718.
Picchioni
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 1:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
#cisco wrote:
Might also want to check the CPU if you are getting the E4200v1. Mine (bought in mid-Dec) came with the Broadcom BCM4716 instead of BCM4718.


I have an E4200v1 that I received via an RMA and it too is a 4716. I would assume the same might apply for refurbs?

_________________
Picch
bwall
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Jun 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Picchioni wrote:
#cisco wrote:
Might also want to check the CPU if you are getting the E4200v1. Mine (bought in mid-Dec) came with the Broadcom BCM4716 instead of BCM4718.


I have an E4200v1 that I received via an RMA and it too is a 4716. I would assume the same might apply for refurbs?


DD-WRT reports mine as a 4716 (purchased new at Best Buy several months ago), but someone in another thread said that 4716, 4717, and 4718 all report as 4716. Does anyone know for sure?
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7631

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 3:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
bwall wrote:


DD-WRT reports mine as a 4716 (purchased new at Best Buy several months ago), but someone in another thread said that 4716, 4717, and 4718 all report as 4716. Does anyone know for sure?


It was prolly I who said it and I know for sure that it is so.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum