TP-LINK TL-WR740N v4

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 49, 50, 51, 52  Next
Author Message
inside83
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2015
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 0:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
@KrypteX
Thank you
I just installed 28444 on WR740N v4 and it works like a charm.
Sponsor
jsmammen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Dec 2015
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 6:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
inside83 wrote:
@KrypteX
Thank you
I just installed 28444 on WR740N v4 and it works like a charm.

Yes, 12-05-2015-r28444 is working fine on WR740N v4.

Where can I see the logs of the system? could not find it in Web interface.
ginzon
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Jun 2014
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2015 6:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
jsmammen wrote:
inside83 wrote:
@KrypteX
Thank you
I just installed 28444 on WR740N v4 and it works like a charm.

Yes, 12-05-2015-r28444 is working fine on WR740N v4.

Where can I see the logs of the system? could not find it in Web interface.


In Admin command section run the below,
Quote:
ln -f -s /tmp/var/log/messages /tmp/www/log.html


then goto
Quote:
192.168.1.1/user/log.html


For more details,
Quote:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Logging_with_DD-WRT

_________________
TP-Link: TL-WR740N
Hassan Syed
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Nov 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 9:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
I successfully converted my WR-740N into DD-WRT firmware. My Wifi range signals is low. I want to extend the range by enabling super channel. I have to 4 questions.

1) How to enable Super channel as it required some kind of key.

2) How can i get that key?

3) If I enable super channel will my Wifi range increase to double at least?

4) Will I be able to connect my mobile & laptop devices without any issue when super channel is enabled?
aiamuzz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 16:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello,

Sorry, as i am in a little hurry i haven't got the time to read the entire thread.

My Hardware and firmware details are as follows ...

Router Name : DD-WRT
Router Model : TP-Link TL-WR740N v4
Firmware Version : DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/25/13) std - build 21061
Kernel Version : Linux 3.6.11 #211 Mon Mar 25 09:22:42 CET 2013 mips


I flashed DD-WRT to transform this router into a repeater.

I followed a youtube video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYRmjHQ9N6w

fairly simple ...

I configured as per the above video.

1. DHCP
2. Wireless Mode : Client
the necessary details updated(wireless encryption matching the main router.
3. create a Virtual wirless interface.

When i try to connect to the newly created virtual repeater SSID ... it fails to connect and after that the router just goes invisible.

resetting the router (by holding the reset button in switched ON state until all the lights flash on the router)

i have tried it 3-4 times with the same result of router going invisible.

Any help would be appreciated.

PS : could this problem be bcos of the IP address of both the primary router as well as this being 192.168.1.1 ?

I'll try to change the router IP of this router and try again in the meanwhile.

thanks in advance !!!

_________________
Primary : Linksys Wireless G(WRT54GS v.2)
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r33492 mega (10/10/17).
Hardware: Broadcom BCM4712 chip rev 1 / 216Mhz / 32MB)

Secondary : Linksys Wireless G(WRT54GS v.7)
Firmware:DD-WRT v24-sp2 (05/09/15) micro
Hardware: (Broadcom BCM5354 chip rev 1 / 240Mhz / 16MB)

Tertiary(Neighbours) : Linksys E900
Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/22/14) mega
Hardware: (Broadcom BCM5357 chip / 300Mhz / 32MB)
inside83
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2015
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 17:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
@aiamuzz

Why don't you try with the latest firmware?
Mine is r28598.
aiamuzz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 17:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
inside83 wrote:
@aiamuzz

Why don't you try with the latest firmware?
Mine is r28598.


Can you please provide me the download link ...

(actually i am visiting my nephew and i am trying to setup a repeater for him ... hence my inability to read through or look for information myself ... apologies on seeking information without proper research)

i tried setting my IP for this router as 192.168.3.1(192.168.1.1 being that of the orginal router being repeated) ... this fixed the disappearing act of the router, however i am still not able to connect to it though !!!

thanks

_________________
Primary : Linksys Wireless G(WRT54GS v.2)
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r33492 mega (10/10/17).
Hardware: Broadcom BCM4712 chip rev 1 / 216Mhz / 32MB)

Secondary : Linksys Wireless G(WRT54GS v.7)
Firmware:DD-WRT v24-sp2 (05/09/15) micro
Hardware: (Broadcom BCM5354 chip rev 1 / 240Mhz / 16MB)

Tertiary(Neighbours) : Linksys E900
Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/22/14) mega
Hardware: (Broadcom BCM5357 chip / 300Mhz / 32MB)
aiamuzz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 May 2012
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 15:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Firmware running as below ...

Router Name DD-WRT
Router Model TP-Link TL-WR740N v4
Firmware Version DD-WRT v24-sp2 (03/25/13) std - build 21061
Kernel Version Linux 3.6.11 #211 Mon Mar 25 09:22:42 CET 2013 mips

with its default encryption standards of DD-WRT.
======================================================

Could someone point me the one encryption that will work on both the primary and secondary routers enabling successful repeater function to devices connected to it.

thanks in advance !!!

_________________
Primary : Linksys Wireless G(WRT54GS v.2)
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r33492 mega (10/10/17).
Hardware: Broadcom BCM4712 chip rev 1 / 216Mhz / 32MB)

Secondary : Linksys Wireless G(WRT54GS v.7)
Firmware:DD-WRT v24-sp2 (05/09/15) micro
Hardware: (Broadcom BCM5354 chip rev 1 / 240Mhz / 16MB)

Tertiary(Neighbours) : Linksys E900
Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/22/14) mega
Hardware: (Broadcom BCM5357 chip / 300Mhz / 32MB)
inside83
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Jan 2015
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 15:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Both devices are TP-Link 740?
ginzon
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Jun 2014
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 16:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
Anyone can help me... I need to increase some range for my router..
Tx Power in the field is 20dBm but status page shows 16dBm...
Also what I read, Antenna Gain is no more used..

Does Wide HT40 have any effect?


Thanks to anyone who helps Very Happy

_________________
TP-Link: TL-WR740N
crashnburn_in
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jan 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
inside83 wrote:
@aiamuzz

Why don't you try with the latest firmware?
Mine is r28598.


Where can I get this latest FW?
GreyDoc
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Jun 2015
Posts: 392

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
crashnburn_in wrote:
inside83 wrote:
@aiamuzz

Why don't you try with the latest firmware?
Mine is r28598.


Where can I get this latest FW?

latest 28647 is at ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/01-02-2016-r28647/tplink_tl-wr740nv4/
crashnburn_in
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Jan 2012
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 18:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
GreyDoc wrote:
crashnburn_in wrote:
inside83 wrote:
@aiamuzz

Why don't you try with the latest firmware?
Mine is r28598.


Where can I get this latest FW?

latest 28647 is at ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/01-02-2016-r28647/tplink_tl-wr740nv4/


Thank you. I guess this is also the most stable of the recent releases? Or is that a different release?
junrey1925
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2015
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2016 2:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
anyone can help me on repeater bridfe setup of tp-link WR740N v4?
Mile-Lile
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2013
Posts: 1516
Location: Belgrade

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2016 7:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
first try

https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge#Qualcomm_Atheros

or

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/WDS_REPEATER_on_QCA

if you have both Atheros units...

then ask question if you stuck somewhere...
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 49, 50, 51, 52  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 50 of 52
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum