TP-LINK TL-WR740N v4

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14 ... 50, 51, 52  Next
Author Message
mitza97
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 21:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
@dabyd64: Thanks for this great tutorial ! I will see what can i do...
Sponsor
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7031
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 22:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
i'm currenly a little bit confused why this happens.
_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
dabyd64
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 23:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah its a bit strange... no error messages or kernel panic. Just stands there....waiting for...something?

I suggest that for safety reasons, people don't flash the new builds unless they can recover in console, or somebody confirmed it working.
dabyd64
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 23:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was tired of opening the router each time I had to access to the console.

So I made this: Very Happy
The small board converter is taken from a Nokia DKU-5 cable.















Last edited by dabyd64 on Sun Mar 18, 2012 23:57; edited 6 times in total
dabyd64
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 23:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Delete this plz Arrow
*EDIT* Yeah, delete this post...I created a new one instead editing last one...
Confused


Last edited by dabyd64 on Sun Mar 18, 2012 23:58; edited 2 times in total
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7031
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 23:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
the posting?
_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
dabyd64
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 0:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
I detected a new bug:
In client mode, it can't get WAN DHCP IP address if being client of a WEP network.
In dmesg it shows associated and authentificated.
But WAN IP is always 0.0.0.0

Just changing security to WPA2 (in main router and dd-wrt) solves it, and it gets 192.168.1.1xx IP from main router.
oo00oo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Mar 2012
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 0:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
dabyd64 wrote:
What strange issues you have!
I configured my 740n v4.2 as repeater...well in atheros is client mode + virtual interface as ap.
Both with WPA2 mixed security.
Worked great at first! Fast, nothing strange.
The only bad are the leds. But thats all!


Hi,

I have tried setting client mode with another AP for all the day, but still nothing. I have read different documentation but nothing works.

In status panel Ap's are conected but internet no works.

edit:
I don't read the dabyd64's last post. Is the same bug.
mitza97
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 13:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:
i'm currenly a little bit confused why this happens.


@BrainSlayer: Please test this version on the router received as donation to see where is the problem...
dabyd64
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 16:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
abogangster wrote:


Do you think there is a difference between hw versions?, according to tp-link the only diference between wr740n v4.x and wr741nd v4.x is the detachable antenna, and also the only diference between subversions (4.x , 4.y, etc) is the firmware (software) version.

I am reading mixed results, as I said, I also have a wr841nd v7.2 (build r17201) and client mode works perfect, but that same build doesn't seem to work for people with hw version 7.1, and I kindda see the same patern here, wr740n v4.2 working ok, but wr741nd v4.3 having issues.


That seems very strange too. Usually the differences between same main HW versions (main version = v1, v2, v3, v4...) and different subversions ( v4.0, v4.2, v4.3)are small optimizations in the circuit layout, or small change in components for a cheaper build. But processor, RAM, and flash, if being the same, then I don't think it can be any problem.
And wireless is the same..I don't understand that you can do an AP in both versions, but client mode only working in one HW ver.
Are you trying both in the same scenario? Same main router, same security settings, same channel...

You could attach some images of the board of HW v4.3 to see if something is different
mitza97
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 17:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
New build 18777 is out...anybody tried Question
dabyd64
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 18:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm gonna try right now.
Wait few minutes for results Wink

*EDIT*
Works like a charm.
For now I see fixed Leds and I also think I got better signal.
It was 32% quality, now is 37%... maybe is just casual.
Later I will try if client mode and WEP security issue was fixed too.

Btw, is not possible to get more than 18dBm from this hardware?
mitza97
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 19:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
@dabyd64: Lag when browsing webgui of dd-wrt still exist ?
dabyd64
DD-WRT User


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 20:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
mitza97 wrote:
@dabyd64: Lag when browsing webgui of dd-wrt still exist ?


I don't see too much lag... for me it's the normal... over 1 second.
Tii
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 22:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
guys, can any one confirm if Hotspot System is functioning in any of these builds?
For me, build 18470 isn't giving any hotspot joy.

t.a.,
T.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14 ... 50, 51, 52  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 13 of 52
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum