Is SuperChannel required for EOC-5610 UK IR-2007 Band-C

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Senao Devices
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
communig8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Nov 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 22:00    Post subject: Is SuperChannel required for EOC-5610 UK IR-2007 Band-C Reply with quote
Hi, we are planning to use a number of (60+) EnGenius EOC-5610 running DD-WRT in a large WiFi network deployment. We currently use 5610's with their native firmware in the UK which are configured to use UK IR-2007 Band-C ch 149(5.745GHz)-165(5.825GHz) for which we have a UK OFCOM licenses. I understand that we need activation keys to run DD-WRT in these devices but do we or do we not also need a SuperChannel activation key as well? Thanks, Richard.
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 8:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
these frq. are called bfwa in germany and are regulary licenced but need no activation reg dom "germany bfwa" in ddwrt
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
communig8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Nov 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:46    Post subject: There seems to be some confusion about this Reply with quote
I also e-mailed the question to DD-WRT and have a reply from daniel danzberger, who says we do need a Super Chanel activation!

Who's correct?
Thanks, Richard
darrell
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Nov 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 15:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi,

you can use the following channels WITHOUT superchannel:

UK_BFWA Channel

...
140 - 5700 Mhz
167 - 5835 Mhz
171 - 5855 Mhz
...

DE_BFWA Channel

...
151 - 5755 Mhz
152 - 5760 Mhz
153 - 5765 Mhz
154 - 5770 Mhz
155 - 5775 Mhz
156 - 5780 Mhz
157 - 5785 Mhz
158 - 5790 Mhz
159 - 5795 Mhz
160 - 5800 Mhz
161 - 5805 Mhz
162 - 5810 Mhz
163 - 5815 Mhz
164 - 5820 Mhz
165 - 5825 Mhz
...
communig8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Nov 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 15:51    Post subject: HELP this is getting confusing Reply with quote
So far I have had three answers to do "I need Super Chanel?"

Sash - No
daniel danzberger - yes
darrell - Some

Who's got the definitive answer? Please!
communig8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Nov 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 12:57    Post subject: HELP! Reply with quote
Please, which one of you has the correct answer? Crying or Very sad
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 18:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
daniel d. = darrell
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
communig8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Nov 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 18:39    Post subject: hmmm Reply with quote
It might have saved some time if he had made that clear!
communig8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Nov 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2011 18:50    Post subject: Can we just clarify the position now please? Reply with quote
So the EnGenius "UK IR-2007 Band-C" is equivalent to DD-WRT "UK_BFWA". And that only the three channels 140 - 5700 Mhz, 167 - 5835 Mhz, 171 - 5855 Mhz can be used without Super Channel activation. Super Chanel activation is required to use the other "UK IR-2007 Band-C" channels?

Is all of that correct please?
Thanks.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7628

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 3:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Why don't you just set your reg domain in dd-wrt to germany bfwa so that you get the additional channels?
_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
communig8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Nov 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 7:39    Post subject: For two simple reasons... Reply with quote
1) We want to play by DD-WRT's rules. A lot of work has gone into the DD-WRT project and if they say we need activation keys in a particular circumstance then that is what we will do. We are not looking to sneak in anything for free. So we just need a clear statement on the rules.

2) We are a large scale community based project in the UK. We are heavily involved with local authorities and government agencies and have OFCOM licences. We welcome scrutiny from customers and partner organisations. As such we don't want to risk even looking as if we are bending regulations on frequency use. If the domain we are working in is UK, as it is, we must configure our equipment accordingly.
GeeTek
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 3770
Location: I'm the one on the plate.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 15:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Using the DE_BFWA setting would not violate the DD-WRT terms of agreement.

Strangers that you allow a gander into yer wireless settings will not even know what
in the sam fucking hell "DE_BFWA" even stands for. Shocked Shocked

_________________
http://69.175.13.131:8015 Streaming Week-End Disco. Station Ripper V 1.1 will do.
communig8
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Nov 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 16:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
GeeTek - Sorry but I think you have missed the point
GeeTek
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 3770
Location: I'm the one on the plate.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 0:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
It has happened before.... Confused
_________________
http://69.175.13.131:8015 Streaming Week-End Disco. Station Ripper V 1.1 will do.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7628

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
The reg domains are for un-licensed operation, with an OFCOM license you shouldn't have to be concerned about which reg domain you set - you are legal.

If your concern is that it looks fugly with Germany as reg domain then there might be a worldwide reg domain covering the channel you want to use.

If not then Superchannel is your remaining choice but make sure with the dd-wrt shop that Superchannel covers the channel you intend to use.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Senao Devices All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum