NEW Fractal BUILDS 17949 *CLOSED* Moving on to Devel Thread

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 10, 11, 12  Next
Author Message
Taomyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Oct 2011
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 15:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Bird333 wrote:

I am wanting to know this too. Is this setting just automatically set with this firmware?


Nope it's still broken, so need to use a sleep loop in the startup script to set it every 30 seconds Crying or Very sad

Also, where has SAMBA gone? It's not under NAS any more after enabling USB support and USB storage support. I haven't connected a drive yet.

Plus, why is there now a "SPUTNIK Powered" logo at the top of the GUI? I don't have it enabled.

** Update **

The 5GHz only channel also seems more unstable in this build - can't hold a connection above 300MBit for very long unlike previous builds which were fine. Have tried a variety of power settings and even changed the eth2 interference value, but nothing helps.
Sponsor
lawleo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Sep 2011
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 15:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
just try the 17949 standard mega build, it successfully mount the optware partition.. yeah!

-----
Disk Info
--- /dev/discs/disc0/disc
Block device, size 1000 MiB (1048576000 bytes)
DOS/MBR partition map
Partition 1: 512 MiB (536870912 bytes, 1048576 sectors from 2048)
Type 0x83 (Linux)
Ext3 file system
Volume name "Optware"
UUID 42770D79-761D-4D4E-8850-FC9021248904 (DCE, v4)
Volume size 512 MiB (536870912 bytes, 131072 blocks of 4 KiB)
Partition 2: 64 MiB (67108864 bytes, 131072 sectors from 1050624)
Type 0x82 (Linux swap / Solaris)
Linux swap, version 2, subversion 1, 4 KiB pages, little-endian
Swap size 63.99 MiB (67100672 bytes, 16382 pages of 4 KiB)
Partition 3: 423 MiB (443547648 bytes, 866304 sectors from 1181696)
Type 0x0B (Win95 FAT32)
FAT32 file system (hints score 5 of 5)
Volume size 422.2 MiB (442662912 bytes, 108072 clusters of 4 KiB)
Volume name ""
Status: Mounted on /opt
Status: Not mounted
-----
just a stupid question, how could I know if the swap partition is used?

_________________
Belkin N600 Play Max HD F7D4301v1
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1243

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 16:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry for the delay... however, after compiling mega the bins are 7.835 megs I am going to have ascott check them before I post....

2nd... compiling NMBD makes the bin 7.9mb which is no go, will have to figure out how to trim them down

-Fractal


Last edited by Fractal on Tue Nov 29, 2011 17:44; edited 1 time in total
kt_haddock
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Dec 2009
Posts: 710

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 16:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Don't forget NMBD !
_________________
[I prefer answere in whole sentence]
Taomyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Oct 2011
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 16:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
Fractal wrote:
You are right samba was disabled the new bins on page 6 will have samba ... thanks for the quick reply.

-Fratal


Sorry I'm confused Confused Are you saying here that the bins on page 6 have samba? That is the build I am testing.
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1243

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 16:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Taomyn wrote:
Fractal wrote:
You are right samba was disabled the new bins on page 6 will have samba ... thanks for the quick reply.

-Fratal


Sorry I'm confused Confused Are you saying here that the bins on page 6 have samba? That is the build I am testing.


not just yet .... when u see the file size above 6.6 megs they are up... I am almost done compiling the whole run.

-Fractal
Taomyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Oct 2011
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 16:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Fractal wrote:
Taomyn wrote:
Fractal wrote:
You are right samba was disabled the new bins on page 6 will have samba ... thanks for the quick reply.

-Fratal


Sorry I'm confused Confused Are you saying here that the bins on page 6 have samba? That is the build I am testing.


not just yet .... when u see the file size above 6.6 megs they are up... I am almost done compiling the whole run.

-Fractal


Ah I understand, thanks

Will anything else be fixed as to be honest I can live without samba for a while before needing to rebuild my router again
daveM
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 18:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks Fractal. any chance of a openvpn_small compile as well? seems like brainslayer has abandoned his regular builds, and we have many E1000 customers who may benefit.
basmaf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 1074

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 20:00    Post subject: Re: Linero/gcc-4.12 Reply with quote
First thing first!!
Thanks Fractal for your good work!!
Running your latest build 17949

Have to report the same issue as Barryware about the dual mounting to opt of diskparts..
SHoTTa35
DD-WRT User


Joined: 09 May 2011
Posts: 243

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 20:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Fractal wrote:
Sorry for the delay... however, after compiling mega the bins are 7.835 megs I am going to have ascott check them before I post....

2nd... compiling NMBD makes the bin 7.9mb which is no go, will have to figure out how to trim them down

-Fractal


Do a NV60/64 as all the routers in this range has 16MB or more of flash. Only the older Mega devices have only 8MB. The currently Linksys flash is 12MB which includes IPV6 and all that jazz.
Fractal
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1243

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 21:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
SHoTTa35 wrote:
Fractal wrote:
Sorry for the delay... however, after compiling mega the bins are 7.835 megs I am going to have ascott check them before I post....

2nd... compiling NMBD makes the bin 7.9mb which is no go, will have to figure out how to trim them down

-Fractal


Do a NV60/64 as all the routers in this range has 16MB or more of flash. Only the older Mega devices have only 8MB. The currently Linksys flash is 12MB which includes IPV6 and all that jazz.


You are right. Only the nv routers like e4200 can go above 7.5 mb. I will try a roll with alot of goodies for those. I am on my iPad right now as I am traveling. Also I can roll VPN builds. Ascott confirmed working bin this am so he may post updated mega with samba.

This forum has been very active lately so if I missed a request please let me know. My main focus has been USB auto fix and that seems working in most situations, this has been broken since June. Again thanks everyone for testing.

-Fractal
ascott
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jun 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 23:14    Post subject: Mega bins with samba no nmbd Reply with quote
Hello,

Attached is a mega nv60k bin for testing rev 17949 with 17841 reverted, in order to test the fix for the USB automount problem for ext2/3 type file systems. (the fix is revert 17841)

Fractal's traveling and asked me to post these after testing myself. I tested with an e2k and an e3k. Samba is in this one. nmbd is not. These bins were kind of big but seem to work okay. We left nmbd out, for now, until we can get the size down further.

lawleo: cool, thanks

kt_haddock: fractal said he will try to do nmbd next.

taomyn: these do not have wl interference mode 2 by default. what's your setup for applying interference mode? I thought you would just need to do that once at boot-up and you're good. will you explain what you're doing/seeing more.

barryware, basmaf: thanks. are you using kong's method? cat /tmp/disktype.dump . We're testing with a typical "optware" type setup. First partition is ext2 /opt and 2nd part is swap, that's all. we're mounting swap via optware init scripts triggered from rc_startup. We're not using kong's patches and method of partition labels though kong's work was mighty useful to us while testing - we're just trying to get usb working like it was - automounts the first part to /opt, whether it's ext2/3, vfat. Swap we're handling our own way and not sure if it's the generally favored solution.

The current hypothesis we're testing is that the addition of ext4 support and checkin 17841 broke USB support (or is at least one problem with USB support since 17349).

I'm working on a preprocessor-based solution to submit to brainslayer as a patch for the USB problem.

sorry to anyone I didn't reply, pls post again.

-ascott



dd-wrt.v24-17949_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv60k.bin
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  dd-wrt.v24-17949_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega-nv60k.bin
 Filesize:  7.46 MB
 Downloaded:  745 Time(s)

rwhalb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 29 Nov 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 1:49    Post subject: Report on ascott latest mega build... Reply with quote
* Installed on my e4200 router with no problems...

* Been using rflow and working as expected with no high CPU usage...

* My wireless rate 2.4Ghz-N was around 65Mbps for a while (20 mins) and then dropped to 26Mbps...

* Wi-viz is not working in this Mega build...
Taomyn
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Oct 2011
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 6:58    Post subject: Re: Mega bins with samba no nmbd Reply with quote
ascott wrote:
taomyn: these do not have wl interference mode 2 by default. what's your setup for applying interference mode? I thought you would just need to do that once at boot-up and you're good. will you explain what you're doing/seeing more.


As I understood it from testing a previous Fractal build, 17806 I think, it was discovered that setting this to 2 fixed the majority of the 2.4GHz issues people were having and that it was added to the new builds as a default. I then tested this but found that although it was initially set to 2 at start-up, subsequent changes to other settings through the GUI would reset this back to 0. Hence I now have to place the following in my start-up script:

Code:
while [ 1 ]; do wl -i eth1 interference 2; sleep 30; done &


I have an E4200.
ascott
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Jun 2011
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 15:31    Post subject: Re: Mega bins with samba no nmbd Reply with quote
Taomyn wrote:

As I understood it from testing a previous Fractal build, 17806 I think, it was discovered that setting this to 2 fixed the majority of the 2.4GHz issues people were having and that it was added to the new builds as a default. I then tested this but found that although it was initially set to 2 at start-up, subsequent changes to other settings through the GUI would reset this back to 0. Hence I now have to place the following in my start-up script:

Code:
while [ 1 ]; do wl -i eth1 interference 2; sleep 30; done &


I have an E4200.


Taomyn, I get it. Thanks. That makes sense. It sounds like that when you apply changes to the network, it brings down and up the interface again, which loses the setting. This makes me think that setting interference mode should be done from the networking services routines: when an interface is brought up, check a nvram variable for interference mode and turn it on if it's set.

We were thinking we were going to put this setting into a init script, but now I see that's not going to work. I'll take a look at adding it in networking services and see if I can formulate a patch to submit. I'm thinking this might be something the dd-wrt devs would want to add to their UI: setting interference mode nvram variables that are picked up from networking services.

-ascott
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 10, 11, 12  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 7 of 12
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum