WNDR4500 (N900) supported?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 90, 91, 92, 93  Next
Author Message
gifty74
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 13:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
Did you reset and manually set up? Otherwise use BS build 33555 and do so again. Make sure SFE accelerated NAT is enabled.


So I reset and installed the initial flash (26138 for mega v1) and then flashed with the recommended Kong 25015-SP1. I did not reset when upping to the Kong build because it was just reset and didn't set anything up before re-flashing with Kong. Should I re-do? Is the recommended 25015 build on the wiki not the one I should be using?
Sponsor
gifty74
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 17:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
gifty74 wrote:
So I installed Kong build dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC.bin on my wndr4500 v1. All went well with the installation, however, all of my speeds dropped. Wired went from 125 Mbps to 95, and wireless has suffered worst of all with my 5ghz dropping from 105 Mbps to 45. Anyone know what is going on? Is this typical of the dd-wrt firmware? If so think I'll be going back to stock.
Did you reset and manually set up? Otherwise use BS build 33555 and do so again. Make sure SFE accelerated NAT is enabled.


Ok, so I updated to the 33555 build, with full reset, but cannot find where SFE accelerated NAT is. Can someone help?
flakie
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Posts: 99
Location: Swindon, UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 17:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
gifty74 wrote:

Ok, so I updated to the 33555 build, with full reset, but cannot find where SFE accelerated NAT is. Can someone help?


Setup>Basic Setup>WAN Setup>Optional Settings
Shortcut Forwarding Engine (SFE)

_________________
Router Model: Netgear R7800
Firmware Version: DD-WRT v3.0-r33770M kongat (11/15/17)
Modem: SuperHub 3
ISP: Virgin Media 100/6 Mbps
OpenVPN Client (IPVanish): 98/5.5 Mbps (best test result)
gifty74
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 18:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
flakie wrote:
Setup>Basic Setup>WAN Setup>Optional Settings
Shortcut Forwarding Engine (SFE)


Thanks flakie. So after the reset and fresh load of 33555 my wired PC is back to 120 Mbps speeds, but my 5ghz wifi is still stuck around 40-50 Mpbs, even at 10' line of sight to the router. Anyone know what to tweak to improve speeds to the ~100'ish I was getting via the stock firmware on 5ghz?
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 1853
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
gifty74 wrote:
So after the reset and fresh load of 33555 my wired PC is back to 120 Mbps speeds, but my 5ghz wifi is still stuck around 40-50 Mpbs, even at 10' line of sight to the router. Anyone know what to tweak to improve speeds to the ~100'ish I was getting via the stock firmware on 5ghz?
Use NA-Mixed mode and set Ack Timing to 0. You could try frame burst maybe, but I usually don't change any Advanced Wireless setting except on 2.4 (BT Coexistence to Preemptive).
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 18.7b344|EA6900v1.1 Xwrt 380.70|DD: 36168 WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nks, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
gifty74
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 13:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
Use NA-Mixed mode and set Ack Timing to 0. You could try frame burst maybe, but I usually don't change any Advanced Wireless setting except on 2.4 (BT Coexistence to Preemptive).


Tried this, same limit of about 50Mbps on 5ghz band. Any other suggestions?
gifty74
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 3:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Went back to stock Netgear firmware and bam, right back up to 115 Mbps on 5ghz band. Less than half with dd-wrt and played around with a lot of settings to try and improve. I really want to use dd-wrt, but not with a performance hit like that.
_________________
WNDR4500 - 33555 dd-wrt
osterac
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Dec 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 14:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
In the meantime, Tomato by Shibby has firmware for WNDR4500 v1 and v2:
http://tomato.groov.pl/download/K26RT-AC/
I haven't tried it yet but I will be trying it later today. I'll post back here if I can.
hoot_spoot
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Dec 2009
Posts: 74
Location: Earth.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 19:08    Post subject: wiki out of date Reply with quote
where do I get the latest stable dd-wrt firmware for the WNDR4500v1?

I just picked one up from the bin with the 'flashing power light' issue. I was going to tftp over a copy of dd-wrt, but I am not sure which one to use. The wiki refers to a specific build folder for the r4500, which is not in the folder structure.

Edit: this is labelled an R4500, apparently costco sold these, but they are hardware identical to the WNDR4500v1

Edit2: I read through a few more recent pages of this thread. Apparently there is not a build available yet in the most recent build version, and they may be brickbuilds anyway. Going to use 31690 which there is a /netgear-wndr4500 folder for!

Edit3: Couldn't do the netgear recovery with tftp2 using the netgear WNDR4500, (power light just kept flashing green), but it worked with the R4500. Going to try to change over to DD-WRT now.

Edit4: It's rejecting the 31690 chk dd-wrt flash after restoring the (only available version) netgear r4500. Maybe the WNDR4500 CHK needs to be tweaked to allow crossflashing from the R4500?

how to crossflash
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Evv2pnfgXy4

_________________
various hw
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 6491
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 20:31    Post subject: Re: wiki out of date Reply with quote
hoot_spoot wrote:
where do I get the latest stable dd-wrt firmware for the WNDR4500v1?

I just picked one up from the bin with the 'flashing power light' issue. I was going to tftp over a copy of dd-wrt, but I am not sure which one to use. The wiki refers to a specific build folder for the r4500, which is not in the folder structure.

Edit: this is labelled an R4500, apparently costco sold these, but they are hardware identical to the WNDR4500v1

Edit2: I read through a few more recent pages of this thread. Apparently there is not a build available yet in the most recent build version, and they may be brickbuilds anyway. Going to use 31690 which there is a /netgear-wndr4500 folder for!

Edit3: Couldn't do the netgear recovery with tftp2 using the netgear WNDR4500, (power light just kept flashing green), but it worked with the R4500. Going to try to change over to DD-WRT now.

Edit4: It's rejecting the 31690 chk dd-wrt flash after restoring the (only available version) netgear r4500. Maybe the WNDR4500 CHK needs to be tweaked to allow crossflashing from the R4500?

how to crossflash
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Evv2pnfgXy4


You need to change the board id to turn it into a wndr4500. Google "convert your r4500 into a wndr4500".
Also never do an erase nvram on these.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
hoot_spoot
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Dec 2009
Posts: 74
Location: Earth.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 22:41    Post subject: Re: wiki out of date Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:

You need to change the board id to turn it into a wndr4500. Google "convert your r4500 into a wndr4500".
Also never do an erase nvram on these.


Hi Malachi,

I have been reading on this. I converted a DGN2200v4 to stock+amod, and ran across the UDP version of TelnetEnable, which works on Windows 10 (usually called telnetenable2). I had to use the newer, UDP version of telnetenable to mess with the router, but ended up using AMOD which has a telnet on boot option built-in, all the features I needed, and the hardware is old and also not supported by dd-wrt.

Fast forward to this R4500:
Because Netgear only offers only the stock firmware for the R4500, and no upgrades, they never released a newer R4500 firmware that uses the UDP instead of TCP telnetenable protocol.

So I need a telnetenable TCP, that works on Windows 10, and as far as I can tell, the existing copies on the net were compiled incorrectly, which resulted in dependencies that Windows 10 does not support.

_________________
various hw


Last edited by hoot_spoot on Tue Nov 14, 2017 23:19; edited 1 time in total
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 6491
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 22:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
I converted an r4500 to a wndr4500 but I think it was win 7.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
hoot_spoot
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Dec 2009
Posts: 74
Location: Earth.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 23:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
I converted an r4500 to a wndr4500 but I think it was win 7.



Right you are, sir. And those documentations I found for converting an R4500, were done on Windows 7 not Windows 10. The telnetenable.py script i tried, gives the error:

Code:
  File "telnetenable.py", line 44
    print "Need a type that is 4 bytes on your platform so we can fix the data!"


Command:

python telnetenable.py IPADDRESS MACADDRESS Gearguy Geardog

Edit: The script requires PyCrypt. PyCrypt requires Visual Studio....

_________________
various hw
november17
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Nov 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 19:39    Post subject: Re: wiki out of date Reply with quote
hoot_spoot wrote:

Edit: this is labelled an R4500, apparently costco sold these, but they are hardware identical to the WNDR4500v1




edit: Guide is for win7 not win10
Save yourself some hassle and read my guide on how to do this - how to install dd-wrt on an R4500 - read the step-by-step guide and save yourself a headache figuring it out if you're having trouble. They have the same hardware but are not simply cross-compatible.

_________________
n17tech blog
hw: r4500; WNDR4500v2; WNDR3700v2; WNR2000v3; WNR2000v5; BEFS841v3.1; WRT54GSv.4; WRT54G2v1.5; E900; E1000; E1200v2; WRT610Nv1; M20; RT-68P; DIR-601A1; DIR-615; DIR-635


Last edited by november17 on Thu Nov 30, 2017 18:18; edited 1 time in total
hoot_spoot
DD-WRT User


Joined: 07 Dec 2009
Posts: 74
Location: Earth.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 20:18    Post subject: Do keep up Reply with quote
Do keep up, watson.

We've already gone over that. Read the previous post. Telnetenable only works on windows 7. Not 10. The original python script might work, but I have a slow internet. Narrow bandwidth. The necessary python package requires pycrypt, which requires the massive multi gig download of visual studio.

Etc

_________________
various hw
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 90, 91, 92, 93  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 91 of 93
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum