DDWRT pro for Pico station 2 won't install

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ubiquiti Devices
Author Message
johnnyb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 20:12    Post subject: DDWRT pro for Pico station 2 won't install Reply with quote
Hi,

We bought an activation code to test out DDWRT for this device but both web and tftp install fail with a timeout. I used the instructions in this forum for tftp.

I have v3.2.build3734 of AirOs instaled l downgraded to that to see if it would work any better after v3.5.build4494 failed first. I'm trying to install using pS2.dd-wrt.bin linked to from the ddwrt harddatabase.
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17619
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 11, 2010 20:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
input!

read:

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
johnnyb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 16:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've tried to install ddwrt on a pico station 2 in the following ways:

pS2.dd-wrt.bin via tftp method detailed at the top of this forum

v24 presp2 [Beta] Build: 13064 (recommended) on the latest (3.5) version of air os and earlier 3.2 as well. I have also tried the latest release v24 presp2 [Beta] Build: 14311 the router database says works. I always get the following results:

tftp 192.168.1.20
tftp> bin
tftp> trace
Packet tracing on.
tftp> verbose
Verbose mode on.
tftp> put pS2.dd-wrt.bin
putting pS2.dd-wrt.bin to 192.168.1.20:pS2.dd-wrt.bin [octet]
sent WRQ <file=pS2.dd-wrt.bin, mode=octet>
sent WRQ <file=pS2.dd-wrt.bin, mode=octet>
sent WRQ <file=pS2.dd-wrt.bin, mode=octet>
sent WRQ <file=pS2.dd-wrt.bin, mode=octet>
sent WRQ <file=pS2.dd-wrt.bin, mode=octet>
Transfer timed out.

tftp> status
Connected to 192.168.1.20.
Mode: octet Verbose: on Tracing: on Literal: off
Rexmt-interval: 5 seconds, Max-timeout: 25 seconds

I tried the web install image ubnt_pico2-firmware.bin in the same firmware combination with the result of a time out error as well.
Expect v24 presp2 [Beta] Build: 14311 to Air OS 3.5 gives this.
Bad firmware update image.
FIRMWARE UPLOAD
Current Firmware: XS2.ar2316.v3.5.4494.091109.1451

I'll try the Ubiquity forums as well.
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17619
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
I tried the web install image ubnt_pico2-firmware.bin in the same firmware combination with the result of a time out error as well.

then is a problem on the pc (firewall etc).
ubnt tftp server activated?!

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
johnnyb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 14:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
No, there is no firewall. I've tried it from my linux desktop and Mac laptop with the same results each time.

I think you are correct that the tftp server is the issue. The command prompt with Ubiquiti images fails as well that way. I just logged into the device via ssh and found that busybox reports that tftpd is not installed. The tftp client works and I have a tftp server for switches to use but the syntax is different and according to busybox documentation there is no option for binary mode. So I'm still not sure how to make this work.
johnnyb
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 17:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've been poking around through the device to see how the install scripts run and it appears that the size of the dd-wrt images may be a problem with or without tftpd. The scripts seem to but the image in /tmp and then run a check to make sure it's there via script called /etc/fwupdate which run a binary called /etc/fwupdate.real. I can't find any utility that shows the disk space available but most ddwrt images are more than 4Mb and I get an space error when I try to scp them to /tmp. The 12188 pS2.dd-wrt.bin file is reported as 3735896 bits and will scp to tmp successfully. But if I have something from the web interface open such that it puts files in /tmp it fails so its awfully tight. I think the web image probably fails for this reason.

Anyhow, I was thinking about running fwupdate.real manually on the image but the largest Ubiquiti firmware is 3022315 bits which leaves a fair amount more space for programs to run so I'm concerned about it crashing and failing. I couldn't find a micro image for this. Is there one available ?
julleymitry
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Oct 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
do you solve it? i have same problem..
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17619
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 18:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
guys..read the manual and put the unit in recovery mode!
_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
julleymitry
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Oct 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 18:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
which manual?
dd-wrt installation manual have nothing about 'recovery mode'
vaden
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Nov 2010
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 18:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sash wrote:
guys..read the manual and put the unit in recovery mode!


Guten tag,

We are trying to use the web gui to upload the web gui version of the recommended firmware (beta) and get "bad firmware image" in response to the upload.

DD-WRT Software SHOP
------------------------------------------------------
Order Number: 13343

Your help is fully appreciated.

kind regards/ldv
GeeTek
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: I'm the one on the plate.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 16:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
vaden wrote:
Guten tag,

Bless you !
vaden wrote:
We are trying to use the web gui to upload the web gui version of the recommended firmware (beta) and get "bad firmware image" in response to the upload.

Be sure you selected "Firmware Upgrade" and not "Restore Settings". Two different animals.

_________________
http://69.175.13.131:8015 Streaming Week-End Disco. Station Ripper V 1.1 will do.
vaden
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Nov 2010
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 16:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
GeeTek wrote:
vaden wrote:
Guten tag,

Bless you !
vaden wrote:
We are trying to use the web gui to upload the web gui version of the recommended firmware (beta) and get "bad firmware image" in response to the upload.

Be sure you selected "Firmware Upgrade" and not "Restore Settings". Two different animals.


That leaves me asking the question of whether the initial upgrade from AirOS to dd-wrt must be done as a TFTP operation (oops, forget the candidates in the air) or can it be performed via their normal GUI?
GeeTek
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: I'm the one on the plate.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 17:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
vaden wrote:
That leaves me asking the question of whether the initial upgrade from AirOS to dd-wrt must be done as a TFTP operation (oops, forget the candidates in the air) or can it be performed via their normal GUI?

I think this may answer your question ;
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=45474

_________________
http://69.175.13.131:8015 Streaming Week-End Disco. Station Ripper V 1.1 will do.
jregehr
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Jul 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 17:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am having a similar problem only I have installed multiple different Picostation 2 devices with DD-WRT Pro in the past.

I can use the reset button / power on for 10 seconds to get it into recovery mode. (The signal strength LEDs flash) and it pings just fine.

However, when i kick in the TFTP transfer instantly the signal strength lights go solid and stop blinking. I lose ping instantly and the TFTP transfer does a "Timeout Occured" after 20-30 seconds. I can wait for this as long as I want and nothing changes.

I can power cycle the device and it comes back to the normal firmware again so I can retry this.

I have upgraded to ubiquiti firmware 4.0 to see if that helps but no change.

I have disabled windows firewall completely just to be sure. I can browse to the device just fine. it's only when i start a tftp transfer that it seems to "lockup".
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ubiquiti Devices All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum