have WRT54G v5, doing flash, need help

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
photoz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 14:55    Post subject: have WRT54G v5, doing flash, need help Reply with quote
I've read the procedure on how to do the flash and have done all the instructions to the T from this site:

http://www.bitsum.com/openwiking/owbase/ow.asp?WRT54G5%5FCFE

I'm at the point where I TFTPed the micro-generic image and am waiting for the flash to take and the unit reboot... this never happened and my router is sitting there with the flashing power LED. YES, I did wait for several minutes, I left it this way overnight in fact, but in the morning, the power LED was still flashing.
My unit isn't bricked, cause all the lights are not on, so I guess its still waiting for an image to be present to get flashed.

Any ideas? I need custom firmware for WDS, or else I would just exchange this unit for a clean router.

Thanks in advance (I did search before posting this!)
Sponsor
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 15:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did you try to unplug it for 1 min and then plug it back?
photoz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 15:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
I did unplug at 1 point, but not for 1 minute...more like 10-15 sec. after I did this, I resent the image over again via TFTP and it wrote successfully again... waited... nothing but blinky power led.

If I do unplug for a minute... should I wait to see if the image is flashed? or should I re-attempt to tftp the image over again?

thanks for the help
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 15:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
DO you tftp right image?
photoz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 15:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes... I'm not that much of a dolt... micro-generic, just like the instructionds said to.

but I'm wondering if my image maybe corrupt or something? Once I get home, I will compare file sizes to check on that...
photoz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 2:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
well, I am partially a dolt... guess I should proclaim my discovery for others to share in.

not sure if this is the case for every version of tftp, but I'm on a Mac and the default xfer mode is ascii... this don't work so well when transferring a binary file... switched mode to binary, sent the image over again and voila... a rebooted router, with brand new firmware cranking along.


learn from my mistake, don't send image over in ascii mode...

go ahead, laugh it up, I deserve it.

kudos to this crew for some nice work.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum