Netgear WNDR3700, not possible to install DD-WRT on it :)

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
alias86
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Nov 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 23:09    Post subject: stick with it it does work Reply with quote
just posting to to say yes u have to use r16785, i did the short 30/30/30 then upgrade to r17201.

well in the end, third time lucky

nb my version is v1 the code on the box is 02r6

now after 3 hours better work well!. fingers crossed!

ddwrt transformed my old dlink 615, but I broke it. wrong power cable on a lan up....

hd video streaming here i come......

ps thankyou to everyone who posted, and to the ppl in this thread that made it posiable
Sponsor
alias86
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Nov 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 18:42    Post subject: wireless Reply with quote
having wireless drops outs, with the 17201, will stick with it for abit, and if I continue to get probs I will down grade.
TheIgnoramus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Dec 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:37    Post subject: I Have Solved This Router Reply with quote
Yes You heard right, I have a bullet proof method to properly flash this seemingly fussy and touchy router with equally seeming touchy and fussy firmware! Very Happy

This router does not require the 30-30-30 ritual like some of the others do. I have a version 2 of this home router of awesomeness and these are my steps.


1. Turn Firewall off, raise both of your hands and scream "YEA OUT WITH THE EVIL SPIRTS!"

2. Hold the reset button for 45 seconds ( untill the G light is blinking green)

3. In a command prompt type "tftp -i 192.168.1.1 (insert name of 17201 dd-wrt.img)

4. Wait 5 minutes after the blue and green wireless lights begin blinking

5. power cycle router

6. BAM your done!
glundby
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 15:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tried to load factory.img both via wendors web interface and via tftp. The result was the same, a bricked router looping on the boot process.

Luckily I figured out how to reload vendors latest release via tftp. (The secret with the timing is to hold reset until first blinking power yellow and then imeadelately release reset and start tftp when it begins blinking blue.

I am about to give up the project, which i initiated to see if I could use the OpenVPN feature.

Any advice?
NatRay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2011
Posts: 35
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 16:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
glundby wrote:
Any advice?


Take a look at the "The DD-WRT3700 Project"

_________________
Best regards,
Nat Ray Cool
______________________
Cox Communications > SB6120 DOCSIS 3.0 > WNDR3700v1 (2) *AP via Wired Backbone* > Ooma Telo / D-Link DGS-1024D > NeoTV-550 (3)
** Qosmio-X505 **
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/14/11) std. Build 18007
Optimize your network: Disable IPv6 . . . Post responsibly . . .
‘Quality trumps Quantity’
glundby
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jan 2012
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:35    Post subject: Thanks! Reply with quote
I am now successfully on DD-WRT v24-sp2 (04/13/11) std - build 16785 using tftp. I allmost got stuck after trying webupdate from this to 17201. Could not even tftp! After a 30/15/30 however, I luckily could.

Until someone tell me a safe build I dare not try again.
Juggler
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 3:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
It wasn't working for me either with build 17201. I took a deep breath and web-flashed from 17201 to 18024--port-forwarding is now working!

NOTE: running a WNDR3700v1 with both wireless networks disabled

splitlenz wrote:
Is port forwarding working correctly for you guys? It doesn't seem to be working correctly for me.

I'm using port range forwarding to open some ports for some apps im running. They were working fine with another router I was using before this one. Anyone have any ideas?

How do you have it setup, maybe I'm doing it wrong.
Juggler
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Nov 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 18:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm not seeing any SNMP information on the current build. Has anyone had any success in enabling SNMP on their dd-wrt WNDR3700?
ptown77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2012 18:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not sure if this thread is still active, but having issues installing DD-WRT on my 3700 v1. I followed the instructions found on the wiki to the letter. I downloaded the correct firmware, hardwired to the router, and used the stock upgrade service to flash the new IMG. When it was almost done flashing, I got the dreaded "Unable to connect to webpage" error. (This happened to an old Linksys router I had while updating using THEIR firmware and, not knowing better, believed a so-called tech rep when he told me the router was fried and then tried selling me a new one. Didn't bite tho)

I was able to follow the recovery image instructions and flash Netgear's stock firmware so up and running at least. Is it just not possible to install DD-WRT? It's a bummer since my 2.4GhZ band is garbage. I get about 25 MB/s down on my 5Ghz band, but my 2.4 gives me a pathetic 2-3 MB/s down at best. I have a feeling it has something to do with the firmware but have been seeing rumors of faulty 2.4 radios. So maybe there is no fixing it. Any thoughts?
cloggy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Mar 2008
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 14:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Strange, I have a WNDR3700V1 too and build 18024 installed with just one minor problem: the WiFi leds remain off while WiFi is working fine.
vig1116
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Feb 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2012 19:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
cloggy, i think 18007 is the same as 18024 but with working led's... I'm on 17953 and seems ok, but i just flashed yesterday.....
BLOODYGLOCC
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2011
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 19:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
i have in my possession a WNDR3700v2 (i didn't buy a v1 because they have smaller flash and printed antennas as opposed to patch antennas) and a jtag cable

i'm familiar with openwrt and router hacking but DD-WRT is still my favorite firmware. WNDR3700 support for DD-WRT sucks right now, is there anything we who have the tools to mess with our routers do to help advance the WNDR3700 port?
space_eyes
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 1:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well I'm running DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/10/11) std - build 17461 just fine. I was checking for an update and noticed the the different build numbers from ddwrt and the wiki. I'm not sure where I got my build from but I don't seem to have any issues (somewhere on the interweb). I do however seem to recall some flashes being too large for memory or something to that bit.
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7516
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 2:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
the build posted yesterday should work fine on the v2 again
_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
Exordium
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 Feb 2008
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
BrainSlayer wrote:
the build posted yesterday should work fine on the v2 again


Confirmed. WiFi is also back.

Found a little problem with OVPN Client Setup:

LZO Compression option "Yes" will not be saved.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Display posts from previous:    Page 5 of 5
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum