Linksys E1000 v2.1

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19  Next
Author Message
dmginc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Nov 2013
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2013 23:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Which you should read. Also read the stickies and announcements
You asked if you could flash the thee1200v2.bin.
If you'd read everything you'd know you only flash the file with the router model in the name if you have stock fw on it. Since you said you have dd-wrt already on there, you wouldn't flash that.


Sorry, sorry! I was making my way through the announcements and hadn't come to the trailed build part yet. Thank you for all the info!
Sponsor
dmginc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Nov 2013
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 1:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Which you should read. Also read the stickies and announcements
You asked if you could flash the thee1200v2.bin.
If you'd read everything you'd know you only flash the file with the router model in the name if you have stock fw on it. Since you said you have dd-wrt already on there, you wouldn't flash that.


Note: The build: dd-wrt.v24-22118_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin does NOT work on E1000 V2.1's if you want to use WiFi. Best build is: dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin.
etyrnal
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 23:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
dmginc wrote:
Malachi wrote:
Which you should read. Also read the stickies and announcements
You asked if you could flash the thee1200v2.bin.
If you'd read everything you'd know you only flash the file with the router model in the name if you have stock fw on it. Since you said you have dd-wrt already on there, you wouldn't flash that.


Note: The build: dd-wrt.v24-22118_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin does NOT work on E1000 V2.1's if you want to use WiFi. Best build is: dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin.


dmginc,

Is dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin running on YOUR E1000 V2.1??

Where's the link to that firmware?

Is that build specifically for te E1000 v2.1? I ask because the forum seems to indicate the E1000v2.1 requires a build which is particular to it.

I found that the more i read all the stickies, announcements, peackocks, etc, the LESS clear it all becomes. Sure it answers some questions, but it also introduces some -- which, when you ask here about them, someone burns more calories telling you to re-read the entire forum, wiki, and dd-wrt website plus google, than they would have if they'd just helped out. It's like reverse trolling.
dmginc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Nov 2013
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 23:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
etyrnal wrote:
dmginc wrote:
Malachi wrote:
Which you should read. Also read the stickies and announcements
You asked if you could flash the thee1200v2.bin.
If you'd read everything you'd know you only flash the file with the router model in the name if you have stock fw on it. Since you said you have dd-wrt already on there, you wouldn't flash that.


Note: The build: dd-wrt.v24-22118_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin does NOT work on E1000 V2.1's if you want to use WiFi. Best build is: dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin.


dmginc,

Is dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin running on YOUR E1000 V2.1??

Where's the link to that firmware?

Is that build specifically for te E1000 v2.1? I ask because the forum seems to indicate the E1000v2.1 requires a build which is particular to it.

I found that the more i read all the stickies, announcements, peackocks, etc, the LESS clear it all becomes. Sure it answers some questions, but it also introduces some -- which, when you ask here about them, someone burns more calories telling you to re-read the entire forum, wiki, and dd-wrt website plus google, than they would have if they'd just helped out. It's like reverse trolling.


I know, lots of posters here don't really try to help you it seems. Yes, it runs fine on my E1000 v2.1. Mind you, I was upgrading from a previous version of DD-WRT. Here's the link: ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2013/05-27-2013-r21676/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin . Let me know if you need help.
etyrnal
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 23:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
dmginc wrote:


I know, lots of posters here don't really try to help you it seems. Yes, it runs fine on my E1000 v2.1. Mind you, I was upgrading from a previous version of DD-WRT. Here's the link: ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2013/05-27-2013-r21676/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin . Let me know if you need help.


Thanks for your help. Saturday night i never slept because i stayed up late, having tried another recommendation, thought everything was great (configuring wired), got it all configured up, with a considerable number of settings to adjust, then plugged it in, was going to stream something to fall asleep to, realized the wireless wasn't working on the v2.1, and knew that if i didn't fix it before the sun came up, the kids would surround me with pitchforks.

Would be cool if there was an nvram to xml, and an xml to vnram tool. i.e. you could save the nvram file of a build, feed it to the tool, which would parse the tool, taking into account teh build/version etc, and put ALL of the found variables/values etc, into an XML file. Then when you go to try another build, you'd feed the XML file back into the tool, tell it which version/build you were wanting to make a nvram restore file for, then it would parse the xml file for APPLICABLE settings/values/variables, and skip any setting which do not apply to the destination build/firmware, and generate a nvram restore file. Then you could hold the majority of your settings across builds - especially common settings to get you back quickly.

i had to enter several, 10 dhcp reservations, and 20 port mappings, ssh keys, etc etc. Anyway. I will try this build tonight. Thanks for your help. Since i already have dd-wrt on the unit, it should just be a matter of finding the version that has all the features i need, bug-free (or no bugs affecting features i need), which will fit in my hardware's configuration.

Again - thanks! You help helped two people. A friend i talked to over the weekend also has this router and is considering dd-wrt.

I'll let you know what happens.

It would seem the community could benefit from a database that included a list of 'verified to be working' combinations of build/hardware. Of course it would be unfortunately dependent on people coming back to indicate a successful install/upgrade etc.
dmginc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Nov 2013
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 0:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
etyrnal wrote:

Since i already have dd-wrt on the unit, it should just be a matter of finding the version that has all the features i need, bug-free (or no bugs affecting features i need), which will fit in my hardware's configuration.


I wouldn't do too much searching, as that is the only build that will work on the E1000 V2.1. The other builds are either too large for it or don't have working wireless N. Let me know how it goes!
etyrnal
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
dmginc wrote:
I wouldn't do too much searching, as that is the only build that will work on the E1000 V2.1. The other builds are either too large for it or don't have working wireless N. Let me know how it goes!


So far... perfect.

I wish it had the ability (like mini) to control bandwidth on a per-client basis, but...

Looks like everything i set up works fine. Most stable version i've tried so far...

..tho i'm still curious about the significance of the WPS button LED eventually turning amber ... ? [shrugs]


Should put this in the router database.

How exactly did YOU find this version?
dmginc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Nov 2013
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 16:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
etyrnal wrote:

How exactly did YOU find this version?


Page 13 of this thread.
etyrnal
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
dmginc wrote:
etyrnal wrote:

How exactly did YOU find this version?


Page 13 of this thread.


ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2013/05-27-2013-r21676/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_nokaid_small.bin

on my e1000v2.1 this seems like it's ok, BUT it becomes unresponsive eventually. Sometimes seemingly randomly. Is there a way to set the logging to be super verbose (not including DROPPED/ACCEPTED/REJECTED logging). I mean verbose enough to show what the router may be freaking out. Like in the nvram settings?
ka4o_pi4a
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2010
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Dec 06, 2013 20:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi folks. I have one board E1000 V2 with only power led keep flashing. When I put wire in some of the LAN ports it flashes. Reset and hard reset didn't seems to work. Connected using USB to UART converter over the serial and after hit Ctr + C I go into CFE and I get IP respond. Then successfully flashed the last OEM firmware, type "reboot" command the router reboot and happens the same.... I thing the bootloader has some problem. Please give me some advise how to proceed next ? Have a nice holidays !

EDIT: Here is my bootlog:

Code:
-Decompressing............done
Start to blink diag led ...


CFE version 5.60.101  based on BBP 1.0.37 for BCM947XX (32bit,SP,LE)
Build Date: 08/04/10 11:22:34 CST (wzh@cybertan)
Copyright (C) 2000-2008 Broadcom Corporation.

Initializing Arena
Initializing Devices.

No DPN
This is a Serial Flash
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
Found a 4MB ST compatible serial flash
Partition information:
boot    #00   00000000 -> 0003FFFF  (262144)
trx     #01   00040000 -> 0004001B  (28)
os      #02   0004001C -> 003F7FFF  (3899364)
nvram   #03   003F8000 -> 003FFFFF  (32768)
Partition information:
boot    #00   00000000 -> 0003FFFF  (262144)
trx     #01   00040000 -> 003F7FFF  (3899392)
nvram   #02   003F8000 -> 003FFFFF  (32768)
BCM47XX_GMAC_ID
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 5.60.101
CPU type 0x19749: 300MHz
Total memory: 32768 KBytes

CFE mem:    0x80700000 - 0x807A7B00 (686848)
Data:       0x8073DC00 - 0x80740E40 (12864)
BSS:        0x80740E40 - 0x80741B00 (3264)
Heap:       0x80741B00 - 0x807A5B00 (409600)
Stack:      0x807A5B00 - 0x807A7B00 (8192)
Text:       0x80700000 - 0x8073DBFC (252924)

Boot version: v5.1.6
The boot is CFE
mac_init(): Find mac [98:fc:11:87:e5:7c] in location 0
Nothing...
CMD: [ifconfig eth0 -addr=192.168.1.1 -mask=255.255.255.0]
Device eth0:  hwaddr 98-FC-11-87-E5-7C, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
        gateway not set, nameserver not set
CMD: [go;]
Check CRC of image1
  Len:     0x3A9000     (3837952)       (0xBC040000)
  Offset0: 0x1C         (28)            (0xBC04001C)
  Offset1: 0x8BC        (2236)  (0xBC0408BC)
  Offset2: 0x8905C      (561244)        (0xBC0C905C)
  Header CRC:    0x32C7FCF8
  Calculate CRC: 0xCC05584F
Boot program checksum is invalid
CMD: [flash -ctheader : flash1.trx]
Reading :: _tftpd_open(): retries=0/3
_tftpd_open(): retries=1/3
_tftpd_open(): retries=2/3
Failed.: Timeout occured
CMD: [flash -ctheader : flash1.trx]
Reading :: _tftpd_open(): retries=0/3
_tftpd_open(): retries=1/3
_tftpd_open(): retries=2/3
Failed.: Timeout occured
CMD: [flash -ctheader : flash1.trx]
Reading :: _tftpd_open(): retries=0/3
_tftpd_open(): retries=1/3
_tftpd_open(): retries=2/3
Failed.: Timeout occured
CMD: [flash -ctheader : flash1.trx]
Reading :: _tftpd_open(): retries=0/3
_tftpd_open(): retries=1/3
_tftpd_open(): retries=2/3


I see "Header CRC" and "Calculate CRC" are different, but must be the same... where am I mistaking ?

Please guys help me... I can't sleep with this brik near to my bed Very Happy
ka4o_pi4a
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2010
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 6:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok guys. Give me something, a shot in the dark maybe ?!?
etyrnal
DD-WRT User


Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Dec 17, 2013 20:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
ka4o_pi4a wrote:
Ok guys. Give me something, a shot in the dark maybe ?!?


i don't understand the function of the LED's on mine either... especially the one above the WPS button turning and staying steady orange
mikesmtih
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Dec 2013
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 0:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
ka4o_pi4a did you solve your problem? If not take a look at what I did: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=206715

Might be of help. I think if you follow those instructions you should be able to recover.
ka4o_pi4a
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2010
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Dec 18, 2013 8:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I will try your steps in friday. I'm not at home next 2 days. Thanks for replay Smile Merry Christmas !!!
ka4o_pi4a
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Apr 2010
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 22:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
The same happen. It's just briked I guess.

EDIT: Anyone....devs... ???
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 15 of 19
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum