Lan ports not active on WR850g

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
linen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 6:37    Post subject: Lan ports not active on WR850g Reply with quote
I have a motorola WR850g v2 and have installed "dd-wrt.v23_generic.bin" from the sp2 section of the downloads. Now i can only access the motorola with wifi but not over the LAN ports. Any help would be appreciated!
Sponsor
Seth7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 670
Location: DN17IQ

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 8:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
Shoot.. there should be a waring abou tit... look for the beta's at the top of teh download section .. goto the V24.. and get the latest .. and tftp flash that into the wr850g

i have several wr850g's tah run the V24

_________________
WRT54G,GS v1.1, V2, V3 V4, V5
WR850G V2, V3
Fonera 2100
linen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was not able to tftp my the latest V24 using the lan connection (i never saw a successful ping as i powered it up while pinging). However, I was able to upgrade to V24 wirelessly. Unfortunatly, the Lan ports are still not responding. Any other ideas?
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 6:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Press reset button until power led turns red (4 s). This will restore fac.def.
linen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 6:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have tried a few times reseting by holding the power button till power light turns red, but this has not enabled my lan ports. Since I can access the router wirelessly, i have also tried reseting to factory defaults through the browser interface...no luck there either. Any other ideas?

Bye the way, when I push the reset button until red, all of the leds light and stay lite on the router. I usually have to power cycle to fix this, and make the router responsive.

Another thought I had...when I originally loaded dd-wrt, I did the mini_moto upgrade first, as instructed. At one point, I selected something like "make wan port like lan". It is possible that the lan ports haven't worked since then...not sure though since i have tried many things and have forgotten the order of events. I do not see that option in the full version generic v24 that I am using now.
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Check this out


Code:
vlan0ports=0 1 2 3 5*
lan_ifname=br0
lan_ifnames=vlan0 eth1 eth2 eth3
wan_ifnames=vlan1
vlan1hwname=et0
vlan1ports=4 5
wan_ifname=vlan1
fullswitch=0
linen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
Eko...Pardon my ignorance, I am assuming you are suggesting I should try what you just showed me. How? Thanks.

Last edited by linen on Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:31; edited 1 time in total
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
nvram get name

eg.
Code:
nvram get lan_ifname


Also give me
Code:
nvram show|grep adm_
linen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:30    Post subject: Reply with quote
"nvram get lan_if name" gives BR0

"nvramshow|grep adm_" gives
gpio2=adm_eecs
gpio3=adm_eesk
gpio4=adm_eedi
gpio5=adm_rc
size: 29990 bytes (2778 left)
linen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dont know if it matters but:

vlan1ports=0 5u
Seth7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 670
Location: DN17IQ

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
linen wrote:
I was not able to tftp my the latest V24 using the lan connection (i never saw a successful ping as i powered it up while pinging). However, I was able to upgrade to V24 wirelessly. Unfortunatly, the Lan ports are still not responding. Any other ideas?


why not conect irelessly and issue a comand in the command windo of

erase nvram
nvram commit
reboot

wouldnt that do it ??

_________________
WRT54G,GS v1.1, V2, V3 V4, V5
WR850G V2, V3
Fonera 2100
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Seth7 wrote:
why not conect irelessly and issue a comand in the command windo of

erase nvram
nvram commit
reboot

wouldnt that do it ??


NO ! NO !

dd-wrt prevents this on wr850g v2, because it will render unit dead.
linen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the heads up Eko...I did not try Seth7's suggestion.
Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, do I need to hold your hand?
Code:

nvram get vlan0ports
nvram get lan_ifname
nvram get lan_ifnames
nvram get wan_ifnames
nvram get vlan1hwname
nvram get vlan1ports
nvram get wan_ifname
nvram get fullswitch
linen
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Mar 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sry Eko...

Here it is:

vlan0ports=0 1 2 3 5*
lan_ifname=br0
lan_ifnames=vlan0 eth1 eth2 eth3
wan_ifnames=vlan1
vlan1hwname=et0
vlan1ports=0 5u
wan_ifname=vlan1
fullswitch=0
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum