SOLVED: Asus RT-ac66U chokes under load by IPTV (multicast)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5808
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 22:14    Post subject: SOLVED: Asus RT-ac66U chokes under load by IPTV (multicast) Reply with quote
I tried to exchange my isp's stock router with my RT-ac66U that is running Kong 24200M

I have split out port 4 into vlan3 and enabled multicast only on this vlan. The stock router is not using any cpu at all, while dd-wrt is running at 100% unable to service other tasks. It looks like the stock router is handling the IPTV by the switch without affecting the CPU.

Anyone else have tried IPTV with dd-wrt?
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5808
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 18:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
br0 is by default enabled for multicast and therein the wifi.

I found this tutorial, but the procedure is awkward.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=175432
It use ebtables to block. Instead a found out that the IGMP-proxy have a configuration file with the help of this Russion topic.



1. Download /tmp/igmpproxy.conf with a ftp client.
2. Edit the file and disable unwanted interfaces.
I have put the IPTV coder on vlan3.
This is how it looks after editing.

Code:
quickleave
phyint vlan2 upstream  ratelimit 0  threshold 1
phyint br0 disabled
phyint eth0 disabled
phyint eth1 disabled
phyint eth2 disabled
phyint vlan1 disabled
phyint vlan3 downstream  ratelimit 0  threshold 1
phyint lo disabled


3. Uploaded the file to /jffs as the /tmp folder is not saved between reboots.

4. Put a startup script in the command box of the gui.

Code:
for i in / proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf / *;  do echo 0> $ i / rp_filter;  done
 # Restart igmprt
 killall -9 igmprt;
 sleep 3;
 igmprt-c /jffs/igmpproxy.conf


From the monitor I found out that the IPTV have a bandwidth of 15M.
hazwan07
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Sep 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 11:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
br0 is by default enabled for multicast and therein the wifi.

I found this tutorial, but the procedure is awkward.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=175432
It use ebtables to block. Instead a found out that the IGMP-proxy have a configuration file with the help of this Russion topic.



1. Download /tmp/igmpproxy.conf with a ftp client.
2. Edit the file and disable unwanted interfaces.
I have put the IPTV coder on vlan3.
This is how it looks after editing.

Code:
quickleave
phyint vlan2 upstream  ratelimit 0  threshold 1
phyint br0 disabled
phyint eth0 disabled
phyint eth1 disabled
phyint eth2 disabled
phyint vlan1 disabled
phyint vlan3 downstream  ratelimit 0  threshold 1
phyint lo disabled


3. Uploaded the file to /jffs as the /tmp folder is not saved between reboots.

4. Put a startup script in the command box of the gui.

Code:
for i in / proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf / *;  do echo 0> $ i / rp_filter;  done
 # Restart igmprt
 killall -9 igmprt;
 sleep 3;
 igmprt-c /jffs/igmpproxy.conf


From the monitor I found out that the IPTV have a bandwidth of 15M.


Hi Per. I think this is what I need to enable on one of my bridge to get iptv to work. Do you think this can be done using startup commands?
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5808
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 15:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can pipe into the file as done in the original wiki article.
TikiHead
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Jul 2016
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 19:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:

Code:
for i in / proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf / *;  do echo 0> $ i / rp_filter;  done
 # Restart igmprt
 killall -9 igmprt;
 sleep 3;
 igmprt-c /jffs/igmpproxy.conf




Hi,

I'm using this script to point to my own .conf file in jffs to kill igmpproxy (original conf file is in tmp). Can you tell me what the first line in the script does? (for i in / proc/sys/net/ipv4/conf / *; do echo 0> $ i / rp_filter; done)

Also, do you know what the file igmp_qrv does?

Thanks!
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5808
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 20:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't remember what the first line is. It's probably not needed.
I don't run my own configuration file any more as the igmpproxy in newer builds work much better and does not send multicast data to interfaces that have not asked for it.
nolimitz
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 20:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
I don't remember what the first line is. It's probably not needed.
I don't run my own configuration file any more as the igmpproxy in newer builds work much better and does not send multicast data to interfaces that have not asked for it.


How do you do that? Just turn IGMP snooping on in setup/networking settings?

I turned it on for my R6300v2 running Kongs 33770M, however, as soon as i connect iptv box to lan port of R6300v2, wireless goes down. Btw, R6300v2 is running as AP/Switch and connected to ISP Gateway:

ISP GATEWAY--->R6300v2--->IPTV Box

Any thoughts?
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5808
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 20:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
It's configured by /tmp/igmpproxy.conf

I have IP-TV on a separate interface (VLAN3)
nolimitz
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 19:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
It's configured by /tmp/igmpproxy.conf

I have IP-TV on a separate interface (VLAN3)


So VLAN3 has only the IPTV device?
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5808
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 19:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes. VLAN3 is unbridged and is not bridged with any wifi interfaces.
nolimitz
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Yes. VLAN3 is unbridged and is not bridged with any wifi interfaces.

Thanks for the replies.

Did not work here. I tried to have the iptv box on port 4 and set port 4 as vlan3, also enabled IGMP snooping from settings, no custom config done based on your comment above that you didnt need custom config anymore in new builds, but it didnt work.

Did i miss any step?
nolimitz
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 22:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
nolimitz wrote:
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Yes. VLAN3 is unbridged and is not bridged with any wifi interfaces.

Thanks for the replies.

Did not work here. I tried to have the iptv box on port 4 and set port 4 as vlan3, also enabled IGMP snooping from settings, no custom config done based on your comment above that you didnt need custom config anymore in new builds, but it didnt work.

Did i miss any step?


I gave up on this and did the ebtables solution, thanks Per.
zhelev81
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Feb 2014
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 10:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
nolimitz wrote:
nolimitz wrote:
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Yes. VLAN3 is unbridged and is not bridged with any wifi interfaces.

Thanks for the replies.

Did not work here. I tried to have the iptv box on port 4 and set port 4 as vlan3, also enabled IGMP snooping from settings, no custom config done based on your comment above that you didnt need custom config anymore in new builds, but it didnt work.

Did i miss any step?


I gave up on this and did the ebtables solution, thanks Per.


can you help me to do this with the Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r42410 std (02/17/20)

how to set it up ?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum