Q: How to resize partition 3?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
olmari
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 1447
Location: Vaasa, Finland

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 6:11    Post subject: Q: How to resize partition 3? Reply with quote
As noted on some thread, if user wants more hard-disk space in DD-WRT, it is needed to resize partition 3, but how can one accomplish it in DD-WRT enviroment? Is it safe to delete both partitions 3 and 4 and recreate them, as fdisk doesn't seem to have way to resize any partition?

Thanks

_________________
Site 1:
P3 1GHz Coppermine with DD-WRT v24 as main router
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 with DD-WRT v24 as AP

Site 2:
AMD64 4200+ Dualcore AM2 with DD-WRT v24 as main router
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 with DD-WRT v24 as AP
Sponsor
roman_legion
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Feb 2007
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 3:24    Post subject: bump Reply with quote
bump
aussiepoof
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
See this very recent post entitled "You want to compile X86".

Please try reading all the most recent posts in the forum to see if anyone's covered your need before posting a question.

P.
olmari
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 1447
Location: Vaasa, Finland

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
aussiepoof wrote:
See this very recent post entitled "You want to compile X86".

Please try reading all the most recent posts in the forum to see if anyone's covered your need before posting a question.

P.


I have read that thread before and also used search before questioning. Only thing relating I found was "you need to resize partition 3 to have more space".

I now have hooked that HDD to another computer with linux and ran gparted, but as indicated by your linked thread also, partition 2 and 4 isn't any regular partition gparted would regonize, hence I can't move partition 4 to make space for partition 3. And if I delete partition 4, wouldn't that wipe out my registation?

EDIT: Hmm, after just said that, I think of something (obvious) to test, when my CD-IDE adapter arrives, so I can experiment with HDD without fearing of losing my registration etc...

Would it go as I'll try to dd partition 4 to file and then delete i, resize part 3 and then dd part 4 back somehow?

_________________
Site 1:
P3 1GHz Coppermine with DD-WRT v24 as main router
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 with DD-WRT v24 as AP

Site 2:
AMD64 4200+ Dualcore AM2 with DD-WRT v24 as main router
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 with DD-WRT v24 as AP
aussiepoof
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
olmari wrote:
I now have hooked that HDD to another computer with linux and ran gparted, but as indicated by your linked thread also, partition 2 and 4 isn't any regular partition gparted would regonize, hence I can't move partition 4 to make space for partition 3. And if I delete partition 4, wouldn't that wipe out my registation?


Indeed you will lose your registration if you delete it.

olmari wrote:
Would it go as I'll try to dd partition 4 to file and then delete i, resize part 3 and then dd part 4 back somehow?


Absolutely correct. The detailed steps are:
* dd off part 4 into a file
* mount/copy off part 3's contents
* delete part 4, then part 3
* make new larger part3, leaving space for part4
* make part 4 (same size or slightly larger than old part4)
* mkfs.ext2 part3
* copy old part3 contents into new part3
* dd old part4 onto new part4

Voila!
P.
umisguy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 21 Apr 2007
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 5:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
this can be done easily enough ON the router pc by booting to knoppix cd for the purpose of changing the file system size on partition 3 for dd-wrt x86
HowardZ
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jun 2007
Posts: 706
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 19:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Why not have dd-wrt's image make the partition larger.
have it support a 1/2 Gig or 1 Gig disk?
Then there will be plenty of space for packages.


One concern I have is whether openwrt 2.6 packages are compatible with the latest dd-wrt?

_________________
We all face the choice between what is right and what is easy.
adx
DD-WRT User


Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 123

PostPosted: Wed Dec 05, 2007 21:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yeah. It would be nice if x86 calculate the HDD space and expand the partition 3 to whatever is free then make it rw. No problem with storage anymore. So, any progress with packages? Is it compatible?
_________________
- adx -
kdragon
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Dec 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 19:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
ok so im in knoppix right now. Im a complet noob with linux. So if i understand i need to dd part4 but when i try to do this i just get permision denied.

This is what im trying to do.
Code:
dd if=/dev/hda4 of=/ramdisk/part4.image


Am I missing something?

EDIT also I am unable to find how to get rw permisions.
olmari
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 1447
Location: Vaasa, Finland

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
try prefix "sudo", or some other way to become super user, another way to try is run just "su" and then the dd if...

I haven't used knoppix but AFAIK as it is debian-based, that sudo method should do the trick. Generally speaking, adding prefix "sudo" into any command, it runs command as super-user priviledges instead of normal user rights. Usually it asks for (your) password, but as this is live-cd boot, there are none, so it won't ask anything.

_________________
Site 1:
P3 1GHz Coppermine with DD-WRT v24 as main router
2x Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 with DD-WRT v24 as AP

Site 2:
AMD64 4200+ Dualcore AM2 with DD-WRT v24 as main router
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 with DD-WRT v24 as AP
HowardZ
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 18 Jun 2007
Posts: 706
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 15:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
kdragon wrote:

EDIT also I am unable to find how to get rw permisions.


Yes, I wish dd-wrt would just mount partition 3 read/write to begin with.

Here is the mount command:

mount -o remount /dev/discs/disc0/part3 /usr/local
mkdir /usr/local/jffs

unfortunately the next command won't work:
ln -s /usr/local/jffs /jffs

so, it would be nice if dd-wrt comes with the symbollic link /jffs pointing to /usr/local/jffs
it probably should also come with a /usr/local/jffs directory too.

_________________
We all face the choice between what is right and what is easy.
elvicomte
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 21:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:

Absolutely correct. The detailed steps are:
* dd off part 4 into a file
* mount/copy off part 3's contents
* delete part 4, then part 3
* make new larger part3, leaving space for part4
* make part 4 (same size or slightly larger than old part4)
* mkfs.ext2 part3
* copy old part3 contents into new part3
* dd old part4 onto new part4


This worked fine for me using parted to delete/create part4 and resize part3 on Ubuntu.

After DD-WRT bootup, you need to remount part3 in rw to write to it.

Quote:
mount -w -o remount /dev/discs/disc0/part3
DiliaK
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 20 Feb 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun May 16, 2010 17:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello,

I am trying same things. On my linux mandriva, impossible to mount partition3 to recupere something on it. I can't mount partitions 2, 3, 4.

I tried create dd-wrt on windows with "physdisk" and on linux using "dd".

I tried on a cf card and on a hdd. Only partition 1 is ext2 format.
When i print /dev/sdc, i see a lot of errors. Some physical/logical unnormal places...

What is the problem ?

Thank's

PS: i forgot to say that my cf cards are working well on my alix 2d3 but i have problems to move, resize partitions.
qhlive
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 May 2011
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 1:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello

I plan to install dd-wrt x86 full but was wondering if it is possible to resize the partition 3 before entering the registration key. So I do not lost the registration key right?

I also wonder what is the easiest way to resize the partition 3, and what is the proper size.

Thank you and await response.
sefs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 01 Oct 2008
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 20:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi guys,

I installed build 17201. And it makes no sense having a 14 mb partition when you have a whole drive. So I too want to expand partition 3.

My problem is the same as others and I don't see the answer how do you handle resizing partition 3 when it is an unknow partition that you can neither mount/move/resize.

Thanks.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> X86 based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum