New Kong Build 28575

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
racef@ce
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Apr 2015
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 18:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
Router: Netgear R6250
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r28575M kongac (12/21/15)
Kernel: Linux 3.10.94 #50 SMP Mon Dec 21 23:16:08 CET 2015 armv7l
Status: Working
Reset: No
Errors: Yes, IPv6 issue reported to Kong since I upgraded to r28500M. (manual running a IPV6 script fixes this issue).
Sponsor
labo
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Jan 2015
Posts: 675
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 23:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have issues with this version on repeater bridges.
Can someone please post the Dec-15th release r28500M ?
DaveTheNerd
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 2:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
On my R8500 I'm finding that if I click on Setup > MAC Address Clone (i.e. loading http://192.168.1.1/WanMAC.asp) it results in a half-loaded page... and httpd crashes. Anyone else seeing that?
hurleyp
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Sep 2009
Posts: 288
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2015 0:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
A bit off topic, but today I received an email from Netgear informing me that they have released a firmware update for the R7000. I'm running Kong's version so I have no need for Netgear firmware, but I think this is the first time I've received an email notification like this from Netgear.

Netgear release notes here:

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/30091

_________________
Netgear R7000: v3.0-r44809 std (11/15/20)
EdgeRouter-X: EdgeOS v2.0.8
cool77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Jan 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 4:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello guys, I'm using DD-WRT v24-sp2 (02/03/15) kongac - build 26135M on a R7000. Can I still use ddup command line to update to this version or need to do extra steps? Usually, I factory reset before and after flashing, then do a manual config. Since this is a long process (for me Smile, time is relative! ) I update once a year. Cheers, Cool77
nathulal
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 7:35    Post subject: Problems With PPTP server Reply with quote
Setup a R7000 after factory reset. Having problems with PPTP server connection. Cannot connect. Basic configuration with IPv6 enabled and QOS enabled. Anyone else have PPTP server connecting successfully?
DaveTheNerd
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Jul 2008
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2015 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just as a data point, I've been running this (the 12/22/2015 version) "live" on my NETGEAR R8500 for a few days. It mostly works (w00t!) but I'm getting 1-2 reboots per day. When the system comes back from a reboot the 2.4GHz channel is consistently flaky.

It will accept *some* clients, but others (especially those that show up as LEGACY and not HT20) will report a "0" signal (with the status reading 100%) and not really connect. Sometimes a soft reboot will fix this, other times it requires a power cycle of the router to make it function happily again.

I've tried all manner of settings on the 2.4GHz channel (20MHz vs. 40MHz, TurboQAM on/off, NitroQAM on/off, both modes of beamforming on/off), but nothing seems to have affected it. I've always had it on channel 11, but now am testing on "Auto" (though it picked 11). I'll report back as things progress, or am happy to try anything folks here might suggest.

Thoughts?
Paint
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Jun 2015
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
Paint wrote:
Router: R8000
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r28575M kongac (12/21/15)
Kernel: Linux DDWRT 3.10.94 #50 SMP Mon Dec 21 23:16:08 CET 2015 armv7l DD-WRT
Status:Working
Reset:No
Errors: Yes, IPv6 issue reported to Kong since I upgraded to r28500M. Most likely a factory reset (nvram erase) will fix the issue.

I use a prewall script to fix my specific issue with ipv6 - other than that, this build works extremely well. Thank you, Kong!

Very nice speeds over my internal AC network and WAN with this build:

Code:

[root@DDWRT scripts] # ./bwtest_interal.sh

iperf3 Speed Test
Testing: Download Speed for 30 seconds...
Results: DOWNSTREAM
[SUM]   0.00-30.00  sec  1.11 GBytes   317 Mbits/sec                  receiver


Testing: Upload Speed for 30 seconds...
Results: UPSTREAM
[SUM]   0.00-30.07  sec   796 MBytes   222 Mbits/sec   17             sender
[root@DDWRT scripts] # ./bwtest.sh

iperf3 Speed Test
Testing: Download Speed for 30 seconds...
Results: DOWNSTREAM
[SUM]   0.00-30.00  sec   353 MBytes  98.8 Mbits/sec                  receiver


Testing: Upload Speed for 30 seconds...
Results: UPSTREAM
[SUM]   0.00-30.01  sec   333 MBytes  93.0 Mbits/sec  239             sender
[root@DDWRT scripts] #


racef@ce wrote:
Router: Netgear R6250
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r28575M kongac (12/21/15)
Kernel: Linux 3.10.94 #50 SMP Mon Dec 21 23:16:08 CET 2015 armv7l
Status: Working
Reset: No
Errors: Yes, IPv6 issue reported to Kong since I upgraded to r28500M. (manual running a IPV6 script fixes this issue).


I did a full nvram erase on my R8000 and reloaded Kong's r28575M with a factory reset (for safe measure). After configuring manually again via the GUI, I still need to do the two ip -6 addr add commands to get IPv6 working since Kong's r28000M.

_________________
pfSense i7-4510U + 2x Intel 82574 + 2x Intel i350 Mini-ITX Build
940/880 mbit Fiber Internet from FiOS
Dell PowerConnect 2716 Gigabit Switch
Netgear R8000 AP, running DD-WRT
Asus RT-66U AP, running DD-WRT
evolvente23
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 May 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 7:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have still problems with cron jobs, seems the service is falling asleep.
Toggling wifi on and off via cron doesn't work anymore, I have to reset the unit every morning....
MikeMcr
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
evolvente23 wrote:
I have still problems with cron jobs, seems the service is falling asleep.
Toggling wifi on and off via cron doesn't work anymore, I have to reset the unit every morning....

Are you sure it is cron and not the commands you are calling? cron jobs continue to work fine for me on this build. Try writing to a log file only just to see if (and when) it stops working.
evolvente23
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 May 2014
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 10:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm not really sure what the problem is.
In the short term (few minutes) I can toggle on/off wifi several times, everything works fine. The commands seem to be correct.
But if i toggle off wifi at 11pm and want to turn it on on 5am, nothing happens.

I am back on 28000M because I have not enough time to isolate the problem.
ranko
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 16:57    Post subject: AC-68u - funny log - time Reply with quote
funny log

Dec 28 10:23:28 DD-WRT-ac68u user.info : dnsmasq : dnsmasq daemon successfully started
Dec 28 11:23:28 DD-WRT-ac68u daemon.info dnsmasq[18130]: reading /tmp/resolv.dnsmasq
Dec 28 11:23:28 DD-WRT-ac68u daemon.info dnsmasq[18130]: using nameserver xx.1.1.2#53
Dec 28 11:23:28 DD-WRT-ac68u daemon.info dnsmasq[18130]: using nameserver xx.1.1.2#53
Dec 28 11:23:28 DD-WRT-ac68u daemon.info dnsmasq[18130]: read /etc/hosts - 7 addresses
Dec 28 10:23:30 DD-WRT-ac68u user.info : httpd : http daemon successfully stopped
Dec 28 10:23:42 DD-WRT-ac68u kern.info kernel: br0: port 1(vlan1) entered forwarding state
Dec 28 10:23:42 DD-WRT-ac68u kern.info kernel: br0: port 2(eth1) entered forwarding state
Dec 28 10:23:43 DD-WRT-ac68u kern.info kernel: br0: port 3(eth2) entered forwarding state

Kernel log has the wrong time.
PiSToL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 May 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 22:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
evolvente23 wrote:
I have still problems with cron jobs, seems the service is falling asleep.
Toggling wifi on and off via cron doesn't work anymore, I have to reset the unit every morning....



Found Cron Bug Using Netgear R7000

My connection Type: PPPoE

In Additional Cron Jobs menu put the following for testing purpose:

*/1 * * * * root /bin/ping -w 10 8.8.8.8 >/tmp/ping.txt

When I reboot the router cron job doesn't work.

I have to go to STATUS/WAN/ Login Status => click Disconnect then click Connect to make the cron job work.

See if It is the same issue.
HalfBit
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 761
Location: AR, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 19:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
After 6 days 15 hours of uptime, maybe a little less, no clients were able to connect wirelessly to the 2.4Ghz band. After logging into the router on a wired connection, I noticed that there were thousands of TX errors overnight from 0 the day before--RX were still 0 errors--and clients would show up temporarily on connected clients list when attempting to connect, then drop off once the connection failed on the client side.

Instead of rebooting the router on the same build, I just ran ddup and updated to 28600M. If there's information I am able to gather with 28575M without a serial cable, I can flash back and let it run and see if it happens again; however, I doubt that it will be relevant as there's a new build.

_________________
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
R7000 Nighthawk - DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongac (07/11/19)
~~~~~~~~~~Dismantled for learning opportunities~~~~~~~~~~
WRT54Gv2
WRT54Gv8.2
mac913
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 02 May 2008
Posts: 1598
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 22:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
mac913 wrote:
Router: Netgear R7000 #1
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r28575M kongac (12/21/15)
Kernel: Linux 3.10.94 #50 SMP Mon Dec 21 23:16:08 CET 2015 armv7l
Status: Working for over 3 hours
Reset: YES, Before and After. Came from KongAC Build 28500 and Full Manual Reconfigure
Errors: None so far
Configuration: Wireless Disabled, 3xVLANs, 2xBridges, Stactic Leases, OpenVPN Client, USB Storage, IPv4 Only and Firewall Scripts


Router: Netgear R7000 #2
Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r28575M kongac (12/21/15)
Kernel: Linux 3.10.94 #50 SMP Mon Dec 21 23:16:08 CET 2015 armv7l
Status: Working (uptime 40min)
Reset: YES, Before and After. Came from KongAC Build 28500 and Full Manual Reconfigure
Errors: None so far
Configuration: 2xAPs, 6xVAPs, 6xVLANs, 5xBridges, Static WAN, Static Routes, OPenVPN Client, USB Storage, IPv4 Only and Firewall Scipts


The last 2 builds (28000 & 28500) that I tested would fill-up my logs with message or similar too...
kern.warn kernel: br0: received packet on wl0.2 with own address as source address
So far I haven't seen one message on any of the R7000s with 28575M.

With KongAC 28575M the 2.4Ghz Mixed/20Mhz wireless plays well with mixed devices from Legacy to HT40. I can be streaming audio from a Legacy G-Only Device and having a netbook speed test the (100/10)WAN and get 60-75Mb/s. I know with build 28000M any Legacy Device on the same radio would limit speed tests to 26Mb/s for the faster devices. I removed my 2nd 2.4Ghz radio now since this build with the R7000 is doing a great job handling the mix of devices on the 2.4Ghz radio. I haven't tested the Work Laptop and I don't plan to start it until I'm back to work on Dec29.

I'm Very Happy so far. Thank-You Kong & BS and have Merry Christmas!


UPDATE....

I ran into an issue with "Impede WAN DoS/Bruteforce" feature for SSH under Security/Firewall. Basicaly I'm with the same cable provider as my parents which is on the same subnet; when I try it SSH to their R7000 with this build I cannot connect but if I go through a VPN connection I can connect to their R7000. Disabling the Impede WAN DoS/Bruteforce on the SSH port and using a custom Firewall SSH Bruteforce script I can connect on the same subnet. I'm guessing that code for the built-in Impede WAN DoS/Bruteforce must filter anyone on the same subnet, but I do have the Remote Access SSH enables to Allow Any Remote IP... Don't know if it's a bug or a feature.

As for the Work Laptop' WiFi with Intel's Window Driver still looses WiFi intermittenly so I set Intel's Driver with disabled wireless-n and it's much better, 26Mbit/s is enough for work.

I'll be sticking with this build for a while.

_________________
Home Network on Telus PureFibre - 10GbE Copper Backbone
2x R7800 - Gateway & WiFi & 3xWireGuard - DDWRT r44483 Std
R7000 - Wired ISP 4K IPTV Gateway - DDWRT r44483 Std

Off Site 1

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi & WireGuard - DDWRT r44483 Std
WRT610Nv1 - Client Bridge - DDWRT r33679 Mega K2.4

Off Site 2

R7000 - Gateway & WiFi - DDWRT r44483 Std
E2000 - Wired ISP IPTV PVR Blocker - DDWRT r35531


YAMon 3.4.6 | DNSCrypt-Proxy V2
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum