Hardware NAT acceleration in DD-WRT?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2179
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2015 16:04    Post subject: Theads about slow speed tests vs modem or OEM f/w... Reply with quote
Thanks for that BS!

Can a mod please make this a sticky, and change the title to something like:
"Hardware NAT in DD-WRT? Slow internet / speed tests?"

Or similar...as threads for 'slow speed tests' vs OEM f/w or direct modem connections have become prevalent.

Here's another thread about CTF, one on snb from AsusWRT's RMerlin, and some info from OpenWRT lists.

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 19.1.7|EA6900v1.1@1GHz FT 2019.2|DD 39747: WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nsg, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
Sponsor
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2179
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 15:01    Post subject: Sticky me! Reply with quote
Well, for posterity, I will capture the implications of this discussion:
jwh7 wrote:
dunnothebull wrote:
When I plug directly into the AT&T router I can get 300MB solid.
So I got the new ASUS router and BAM I got 300MB everytime up and down.
[...]
After flashing to DD-WRT I am back to 100MB. This is with me plugged directly into the Router with CAT6 cable.
This is expected; hardware NAT problem. It gets asked here all the time. Search Google for:
    "hardware nat" site:dd-wrt.com/phpBB2
Use OEM f/w, or overclocking can help a little (if your router is capable):
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=987361
Or per Per Yngve Berg, use IPv6:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=989928

KrypteX wrote:
georgeberz wrote:
I finally got really fast internet (150Mb/25Mb) [...]
I just tested a beta firmware [...]
105.34/24.99 DD-WRT v3.0-r27805 mega (09/11/15)

As jwh7 said above, DD-WRT has only software NAT, so the speeds will depend directly on the CPU frequency. I have a good rule of thumb for DD-WRT: max expected speed = CPU frequency / 4.5

Applying it to your particular case: max speed should be around 480/4.5 = 106 Mbps. Guess what... you just measured 105 Mbps ! I was pretty close Cool
Can this get a Sticky?
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 19.1.7|EA6900v1.1@1GHz FT 2019.2|DD 39747: WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nsg, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
blaser
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Jul 2006
Posts: 460

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 18:17    Post subject: Re: Sticky me! Reply with quote
jwh7 wrote:
Well, for posterity, I will capture the implications of this discussion:
jwh7 wrote:
dunnothebull wrote:
When I plug directly into the AT&T router I can get 300MB solid.
So I got the new ASUS router and BAM I got 300MB everytime up and down.
[...]
After flashing to DD-WRT I am back to 100MB. This is with me plugged directly into the Router with CAT6 cable.
This is expected; hardware NAT problem. It gets asked here all the time. Search Google for:
    "hardware nat" site:dd-wrt.com/phpBB2
Use OEM f/w, or overclocking can help a little (if your router is capable):
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=987361
Or per Per Yngve Berg, use IPv6:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=989928

KrypteX wrote:
georgeberz wrote:
I finally got really fast internet (150Mb/25Mb) [...]
I just tested a beta firmware [...]
105.34/24.99 DD-WRT v3.0-r27805 mega (09/11/15)

As jwh7 said above, DD-WRT has only software NAT, so the speeds will depend directly on the CPU frequency. I have a good rule of thumb for DD-WRT: max expected speed = CPU frequency / 4.5

Applying it to your particular case: max speed should be around 480/4.5 = 106 Mbps. Guess what... you just measured 105 Mbps ! I was pretty close Cool
Can this get a Sticky?


I have EA6500V1 with CPU of 600Mhz.
my connection is 150mbs.
from your calcultation I can get to 600/4.5 = 133 but I get no more than 105.
should more like cpu/ ~6

_________________
Asus RT-AC68U 39575M
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4308
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 18:23    Post subject: Re: Sticky me! Reply with quote
blaser wrote:
jwh7 wrote:
Well, for posterity, I will capture the implications of this discussion:
jwh7 wrote:
dunnothebull wrote:
When I plug directly into the AT&T router I can get 300MB solid.
So I got the new ASUS router and BAM I got 300MB everytime up and down.
[...]
After flashing to DD-WRT I am back to 100MB. This is with me plugged directly into the Router with CAT6 cable.
This is expected; hardware NAT problem. It gets asked here all the time. Search Google for:
    "hardware nat" site:dd-wrt.com/phpBB2
Use OEM f/w, or overclocking can help a little (if your router is capable):
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=987361
Or per Per Yngve Berg, use IPv6:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=989928

KrypteX wrote:
georgeberz wrote:
I finally got really fast internet (150Mb/25Mb) [...]
I just tested a beta firmware [...]
105.34/24.99 DD-WRT v3.0-r27805 mega (09/11/15)

As jwh7 said above, DD-WRT has only software NAT, so the speeds will depend directly on the CPU frequency. I have a good rule of thumb for DD-WRT: max expected speed = CPU frequency / 4.5

Applying it to your particular case: max speed should be around 480/4.5 = 106 Mbps. Guess what... you just measured 105 Mbps ! I was pretty close Cool
Can this get a Sticky?


I have EA6500V1 with CPU of 600Mhz.
my connection is 150mbs.
from your calcultation I can get to 600/4.5 = 133 but I get no more than 105.
should more like cpu/ ~6


If you don't mind a bit higher pings you can run these commands through ssh/telnet on the router:

nvram set et_dispatch_mode=1
nvram commit
reboot

after your unit rebooted you should be able to saturize your 150Mbps line
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2179
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 18:36    Post subject: Re: Sticky me! Reply with quote
blaser wrote:
I have EA6500V1 with CPU of 600Mhz.
my connection is 150mbs.
from your calcultation I can get to 600/4.5 = 133 but I get no more than 105.
should more like cpu/ ~6
Ya, I'm sure it varies by many factors; ARM/MIPS/x86/etc, core #, configuration, and more; but there is clearly a relationship. Smile

Kong wrote:
If you don't mind a bit higher pings you can run these commands through ssh/telnet on the router[...]
Thanks Kong! Does that variable interact w/ CTF?
So in src/router/services/sysinit/sysinit-broadcom.c, I see the comment for it:
Changeset 22280 wrote:
    // nvram_set("et_dispatch_mode","1"); 1=better throughput 0=better ping

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 19.1.7|EA6900v1.1@1GHz FT 2019.2|DD 39747: WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nsg, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum