Hardware NAT acceleration in DD-WRT?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
BL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 46
Location: EU

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:18    Post subject: Hardware NAT acceleration in DD-WRT? Reply with quote
Hi, forum and developers (like Kong etc.)!

What are the chances of hardware NAT acceleration being implemented (at all or anytime soon) in DD-WRT?

From several tests I've done with WNDR3700v1, RT-AC66U & RT-N66U I've come to the conclusion that the only firmware which can deliver (and not loose any WAN speed) is Merlin/ASUS builds.

So right now I'm using Merlins build even though I hate the ASUS GUI and features so I don't loose any speed... Crying or Very sad
Sponsor
Anti-Ultimate
DD-WRT User


Joined: 11 Oct 2014
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:34    Post subject: Re: Hardware NAT acceleration in DD-WRT? Reply with quote
BL wrote:
Hi, forum and developers (like Kong etc.)!

What are the chances of hardware NAT acceleration being implemented (at all or anytime soon) in DD-WRT?

From several tests I've done with WNDR3700v1, RT-AC66U & RT-N66U I've come to the conclusion that the only firmware which can deliver (and not loose any WAN speed) is Merlin/ASUS builds.

So right now I'm using Merlins build even though I hate the ASUS GUI and features so I don't loose any speed... Crying or Very sad


Kong was working on this but disabled it until it runs fine for everyone. IIRC it's only for Netgear models though.
BL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 46
Location: EU

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
For me it's a "deal-breaker" (and I don't think I'm alone) so I really hope it's possible to implement on current ASUS models as well as future models of various kinds (different models/makes).
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1450
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
I believe Tomato offers ctf in the current builds.
_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7800 - Router
Netgear R7000 - AP mode

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
BL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 46
Location: EU

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well, if they have solved it with Tomato it should be possible with DD-WRT at least I guess?
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1450
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
BL,
the topic of ctf has been discussed quite a bit a couple of months ago.
It has to do with the kernel & when Broadcom gives updated ones to BrainSlayer.

Do a forum search and try "ctf" I believe that would be the easiest way to find the discussion so you can get caught up.

Since I have only used kong firmware on my r7000 I do not know if BS put ctf in the firmware for your router.

_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7800 - Router
Netgear R7000 - AP mode

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
earthmind
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 May 2008
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 12:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
BL wrote:
Well, if they have solved it with Tomato it should be possible with DD-WRT at least I guess?


Correct me if I'm wrong. I thought newer Tomato builds on the old kernel (>114) and all builds on new kernel dropped support for BCM_NAT
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1450
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 13:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am 90% sure that on tomato 117 (latest at the time I was looking at the feature) it was able to do ctf for the r7000.

Again, I do not know if this works for the asus router or not.

I prefer dd-wrt so my experience with tomato is limited.

_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7800 - Router
Netgear R7000 - AP mode

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
BL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 46
Location: EU

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 19:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
SliderMike; I too prefer DD-WRT, that is why I'm so interested in this question and why I posted.

Hopefully BrainSlayer and other developers already knows the need for this and is working on it or will do so when Broadcom (and other chip manufacturers) release the necessary hardware information, meantime I'll (sadly) be on ASUS Merlin.
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1450
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 19:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
You could try loading one of kongs firmware (not the latest as it been disabled) for your router.
Kong had ddtb (ddwrt turbo I think it was called) enabled in a couple of the recent builds.

If you experience issues with it, just flash back to asus merlin.

Some users said it worked fine, others complained about this or that.
I never noticed a problem while I was running the firmware.
I don't have that sort of wan speed to tax non-ctf firmware.

_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7800 - Router
Netgear R7000 - AP mode

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1450
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2014 19:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was going over kongs read me's and I keep forgetting you don't have the r7000.
I do not see ddtb for your line of routers.

Best to keep with asus merlin or stock IMO from what I can see.

_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7800 - Router
Netgear R7000 - AP mode

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
BL
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 46
Location: EU

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 6:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
SliderMike; thanks for your suggestions!

When I was running VDSL2 recently everything was fine, as soon as the fiber was installed I got problems (the WNDR3700 I got couldn't communicate with the fiber modem and the RT-N66U & RT-AC66U lost most of the fiber speed/performance).

But right now, when using Merlin on the RT-AC66U the communication with the modem works and no speed is lost (actually not a single Megabit (which is impressive in itself I think)).

So again, developers of DD-WRT; hope that you can solve the problem with hardware NAT acceleration / ctf soon so me and others in the same situation can go back to our beloved DD-WRT! Wink
petersk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Jan 2012
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 17:56    Post subject: Command to re-enable it if one wants to try... Reply with quote
I'm using dd-wrt.v24-28366_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega-WNDR4500 and I was wondering how one could re-enable the Hardware NAT if one wants to give it a try. Googled around for it, but don't see anyone explaining how to turn it on..

Kurt
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2100
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2015 21:29    Post subject: Re: Command to re-enable it if one wants to try... Reply with quote
petersk wrote:
I was wondering how one could re-enable the Hardware NAT if one wants to give it a try.
You can't...it was only an experimental addition (by Kong I think, briefly) a year or two ago. You have to use OEM s/w for hardware NAT.
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 19.1.1|EA6900v1.1@1GHz FT 2019.1beta|DD 38744: WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nsg, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 6806
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 0:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
ctf is impossible since its incompatible with any kernel different from broadcoms. the ctf driver is also only provided as binary. (even if i have a nda with broadcom and own all sourcecodes for wireless drivers. no vendor in this world got ever the ctf sourcecode)
but this is no hw nat acceleration. ctf is a software hotpath to accelerate bridged networks. but not nat.

hw nat acceleration might bring some benefits, but some really poor problems.
hw nat acceleration does not take care about any special firewall settings.
it all. it will break alot of iptables specific rules.

current cpu's are fast enough anyway to handle any sort of traffic.

some devices like newer broadcom devices do also offer complete wireless offloading, since chipsets own a own cpu with a own micro os. so the main cpu isnt that busy with handling the wireless stack etc.

so the answer is. some devices/architectures do support hw offloading features which are supported.
but broadcom ctf is no hw acceleratin or hw offloading. its a kernel hack to override the network stack and bypass the complete network stack to make it faster. but bypassing means it bypasses really everything, also features you will miss at the end.

we played with a own ctf like driver one year ago, but it was never finished and had the same troubles with filtering like described here

_________________
one cigarette costs 2 minutes of your life.
one bottle of beer costs 4 minutes of your life.
one working day costs 8 hours of your life.

Yummee:
Linux DD-WRT 4.14.8 #42 SMP PREEMPT Thu Dec 21 18:11:16 CET 2017 armv7l DD-WRT
root@DD-WRT:/sys# nvram get DD_BOARD
Netgear R7800
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum