Linksys E1200v2 - which build can do port forwarding?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
okashiwa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Nov 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 20:39    Post subject: Linksys E1200v2 - which build can do port forwarding? Reply with quote
Hoping this post is in the right place, the Broadcom BCM5357 is Broadcom SoC based Hardware?
The WAN port of this Linksys E1200v2 router seems dead, it does not work, even after upgrading the Linksys firmware. The DD-WRT wiki instructs to install the initial version of DD-WRT as:
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2013/05-27-2013-r21676/broadcom_K26/dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-e1200v2.bin [E1200v2 Trailed Initial Flash Build].

Does this version enable me to redefine and use one of the 4 switch ports on the router as a WAN port?
If not, is there a version I can upgrade to after, that will have that capability, and be small enough to fit on the router?

SPECS from the wiki:
Linksys E1200v2
CPU Broadcom BCM5357
CPU Speed 300 MHz
Flash ROM 8 MB
RAM 32 MB
Radio 2.4 GHz
WLAN Support b/g/n
WLAN Max Speed 300 mbps
Thank you
Sponsor
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4622
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 22:04    Post subject: Re: Linksys E1200v2 - which build can do port forwarding? Reply with quote
okashiwa wrote:
The WAN port of this Linksys E1200v2 router seems dead,.....


That'll happen sometimes with the E1200v2 ---

See if any of this will help ¬
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=277707&highlight=e1200v2

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=977505#977505

to install a K3.x build on E1200v2
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=972104#972104

You can also search and find much more info about the E1200v2 ---
okashiwa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Nov 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2015 19:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for the prompt replies. I'm saving them for future reference.
However they seem to imply that hardware-wise, the WAN port is working, just not recognized, and that I have already done the trail install.
If I may rephrase my post question in a more obvious way, it is asking how to use one of the switch ports as a WAN port, simply that.
The WAN port is mechanically DOA (wire bent broken, etc.), which can happen when someone connects the cable modem very carelessly to the router WAN port, etc.
On this router, space is limited for installing and runnign DD-WRT:
Specs:
Flash ROM 8 MB
RAM 32 MB
So what I am asking, is:
1)- is the DD-WRT Trail version
dd-wrt.v24-21676_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini-e1200v2.bin
capable of making one of the switch ports act as a WAN port?
2)- if not, what is the smallest size upgrade I can add, that will do that?

I hope that someone who has done this type of port reassignment will pitch in?
Thank you
okashiwa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Nov 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 18:19    Post subject: problem with confusing title Reply with quote
although I had heard the phrase "port forwarding" in a discussion relating to this problem, reading more about the term I realize that it covers mostly other functionality and does not present my question well.
The title cannot be changed, so I'm restarting this post anew with a better-defined title:
Linksys E1200v2 - which build can use a switch port for WAN
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=990486#990486
Please answer there
Thank you
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12680

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 19:19    Post subject: Re: problem with confusing title Reply with quote
okashiwa wrote:
although I had heard the phrase "port forwarding" in a discussion relating to this problem, reading more about the term I realize that it covers mostly other functionality and does not present my question well.
The title cannot be changed, so I'm restarting this post anew with a better-defined title:
Linksys E1200v2 - which build can use a switch port for WAN
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=990486#990486
Please answer there
Thank you


You can edit your original post, and change the title. You should do this rather than start a new topic on the same issue.

_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
okashiwa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Nov 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 6:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
It seems my new topic was deleted, I can't find it...
please show me how to change the title of this one? I have seen that when I write a new title in the "Subject" line, , it only shows on that single post, it does not change the title of the thread, so it does not help when people look for topics in the forum list...
I cannot get an answer with the port-forwarding phrase in the title I'm afraid... I need for the the thread title to indicate clearly, that I'm trying to use a switch port as a WAN port. If I can't get to do this with DD-WRT, I'll have to buy another router.
MongooseProXC
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 May 2012
Posts: 235

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 16:07    Post subject: Re: Linksys E1200v2 - which build can do port forwarding? Reply with quote
mrjcd wrote:
to install a K3.x build on E1200v2
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=972104#972104

Don't install K3.x on your E1200. It will most likely brick if you try to revert back to a K26 build.
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 4622
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 21:42    Post subject: Re: Linksys E1200v2 - which build can do port forwarding? Reply with quote
MongooseProXC wrote:
mrjcd wrote:
to install a K3.x build on E1200v2
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=972104#972104

Don't install K3.x on your E1200. It will most likely brick if you try to revert back to a K26 build.

That is just not true of a E1200v2.
Myself and many others do this all time.
If fact, on the E1200v2, you have to first go back to a K2.6 mini build if you want to upgrade to a different K3.x
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2285
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 22:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
okashiwa wrote:
please show me how to change the title of this one? I have seen that when I write a new title in the "Subject" line, it only shows on that single post, it does not change the title of the thread...
Because you have to change the subject in your OP; the first one.
_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: Builds, Types, Modes, Changelog, Peacock, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 19.7.2|EA6900v1.1@1GHz FT 2019.3b|DD 40599: WNDR4500v2, WNDR4000@533, E1500@353, R6300v1,
2*E2500, WRT54*@250: GLv1.1 nsg, GSv6 µ
|RT-N66U@663 Merlin 380.70|OEM: WGR614v10@400-WNR1000v3 mod
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5065
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2015 15:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
What you have to do is putting one of the other ports into vlan2

Telnet or ssh into the router

Run the command "nvram show | grep vlan\.ports"
That will print the port configuration

The wan port is usually port 0 and the processor is on 5 or 8. Check with the initial output.

Use port 1 as wan:
nvram set vlan2ports="1 5"
nvram set vlan1ports="2 3 4 5"
nvram commit

Basically port 1 is removed from the vlan1 list and put into vlan2.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum