WRT320N including in ddwrt 3.0?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
repomanz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 2:58    Post subject: WRT320N including in ddwrt 3.0? Reply with quote
Hi folks - i did a bit of looking in some of the new builds coming out with ddwrt 3.0 and sadly i don't see one of my routers.

Am I missing the build somewhere or is it time to retire my WRT320N v1 router?

thanks.

Jon
Sponsor
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 9:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
You've tried this one in here? ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/07-09-2015-r27506/broadcom_K26/
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2613
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 13:07    Post subject: Re: WRT320N including in ddwrt 3.0? Reply with quote
repomanz wrote:
Hi folks - i did a bit of looking in some of the new builds coming out with ddwrt 3.0 and sadly i don't see one of my routers.

Am I missing the build somewhere or is it time to retire my WRT320N v1 router?
http://dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Linksys_WRT320N_v1.0
The wiki tends to be out of date, but at least it's a good baseline, and verifies support. Smile


I see a 3.x kernel version too... peruse the build release and k3x threads to verify if it works for your router. ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/07-09-2015-r27506/broadcom_K3X/dd-wrt.v24-27506_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega_wrt320n.bin


Last edited by jwh7 on Fri Jul 10, 2015 13:51; edited 1 time in total
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 13:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
He asked for dd-wrt 3.0 not k3.x.
Some of those older routers have problems in the 3.x kernel.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
jwh7
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 25 Oct 2013
Posts: 2613
Location: Indy

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 13:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Yes but k3x is also inclusive to DDv3 builds. Wink
But that's a good point; I've only used k3x on my WNDR4000. I did look if the 320n wiki mentioned anything about k3x support; it did not. That's why I suggested to research the threads for support, but I should stress that more. Especially since it doesn't specify v1 or v2...

_________________
# NAT/SFE/CTF: limited speed w/ DD # Repeater issues # DD-WRT info: FAQ, Builds, Types, Modes, Changes, Demo #
x64 OPNsense 20.7.4|FT2020.6: EA6900v1.1@1GHz, F7D8302@532|DD 44758: DIR-810L, WNDR4500v2 & 4000@533,
R6300v1, RT-N66U@663, E1500@353, WRT54G{Lv1.1,Sv6}@250
|OpenWRT 19.7.3: RT-ACRH13, R6220, WNDR3700v4
Brianwuz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 23:43    Post subject: WRT-320N with K3.X Reply with quote
I flashed my WRT320N V1 with the very latest dd-wrt.v24-27805_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega_wrt320n. Was on k2.6 build 21061. Besides the duplicate LAN and WIFI MAC addresses, the only other pain so far was manually re-doing all the settings.
Brian

I set clkfreq to 480,240,120 plus added a small heat sink on the cpu and ram chips.
bachikho
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2015
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 6:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
You've tried this one in here? ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/07-09-2015-r27506/broadcom_K26/

with this one i cannot change the wireless channels (always stuck at channel 1)
jwh7 wrote:
I see a 3.x kernel version too... peruse the build release and k3x threads to verify if it works for your router. ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/07-09-2015-r27506/broadcom_K3X/dd-wrt.v24-27506_NEWD-2_K3.x_mega_wrt320n.bin

with this one everything ok
bachikho
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2015
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2015 11:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
which is the firmware with strongest wifi signal for linksys wrt320n please?
Brianwuz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2015 12:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
bachikho wrote:
which is the firmware with strongest wifi signal for linksys wrt320n please?


In all DD-WRT firmware you can change the wi-fi power levels. The TX-Power setting is on the Wireless/Advanced Settings Tab. If you turn it up too high it could cause problems like excess heat. Use with caution.

Brian
bachikho
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2015
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2015 14:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
default setting is 71mW, what is the max safe value please?
Brianwuz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2015 14:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
bachikho wrote:
default setting is 71mW, what is the max safe value please?


Safe Xmit Power
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=19381
84 mW is a commonly-used maximum.

A few things to consider:
Too high and the transmitters will overheat, and you'll piss off your neighbors by overriding their signals.

Increasing the Tx level on the router may not even help your range much. If the router can't "hear" the PC, you're not going to have a reliable connection no matter how much power the router is pumping out.

It depends on your location (Country) as to how much power you can put out and on what channels you are authorized to do it on. In the united states the FCC is currently causing a stink over the ability of 3rd party firmware to be able to use unauthorized channels (frequencies) and raise the power output above the maximum for those frequencies.

Just remember that just because you can use all the channels and raise the power way up dose not mean you are authorized to do so. You have been warned now be informed.

Brian
bachikho
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2015
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Which is best build for wrt320N so far please?
Brianwuz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2015 13:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
bachikho wrote:
Which is best build for wrt320N so far please?


I ran: dd-wrt.v24-21061_NEWD-2_K2.6_mega for years. It ran great. The only problem I found was SSH is broke. If you don't need SSH (for remote management) and just use telnet or GUI (web interface) then you can use this one as stable.
There is no real best as when things are fixed in newer builds, other thing are broken.
If you are going to try betas then I wouldn't recommend the v3 kernels yet as I haven't determined if it is causing my random reboots.

Brian
bachikho
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2015
Posts: 59

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
running v27858 k3x without any problem, wifi signal strongest so far Smile
Brianwuz
DD-WRT User


Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2015 13:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
check you LAN mac address and see if it's the same as your WIFI mac address. I had to change my LAN mac after flashing V3 r27805.
Brian
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum