RT-N66U / LAN Ports not working

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Kurt T.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Aug 2015
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2015 10:21    Post subject: RT-N66U / LAN Ports not working Reply with quote
1: What router-model is it?

ASUS RT-N66U

2: What firmware version is used?

I decided for: dd-wrt.v24-26138_NEWD-2_K3.x-big-RT-N66U and it works.

Whats the problem?

LAN Ports are not working/ not addressing.



Quote:
Post the output of:

nvram show | grep vlan.*ports



http://abload.de/img/15u0ufe.jpg

Quote:
You have a bogus vlan here.

nvram unset vlan0ports

It should only be vlan 1 and 2.


I tried the command: nvram unset vlan0ports and nvram commit before rebooting.. But after rebooting the N66U the Vlan 0 is again there and LAN Ports still not addressing/working. Why? What can I do?

G THX
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 4793
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2015 12:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
There have been posts with that specific router model. I have an RT-AC66U that have the same switch chip. There is no vlan0ports in nvram.

nvram set vlan1hwname="et0"
nvram set vlan2hwname="et0"
nvram set vlan1ports="1 2 3 4 8*"
nvram set vlan2ports="0 8"


You can also try nvram set vlan0ports=""

Is any ports ticked for vlan0 in the GUI?
Kurt T.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Aug 2015
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2015 18:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
Vlan GUI is like original:

http://abload.de/img/235krnr.jpg

I tried now: nvram set vlan0ports=""

and nvram commit before rebooting: then comes the message: removing lockfile

but same Problem Sad Sad

G THX
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 4793
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2015 20:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
The screenshot of the GUI is not correct.

vlan0 should be empty.
vlan1: Port 1-4 and assigned to LAN
vlan2: Wan and asigned to none.

On Setup->Networking: wan set to vlan2
Kurt T.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Aug 2015
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 15:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello

Quote:
vlan0 should be empty.
vlan1: Port 1-4 and assigned to LAN
vlan2: Wan and asigned to none.

On Setup->Networking: wan set to vlan2


I made these settings and after that I hopefully tried again your commands with putty (nvram set vlan0ports="" or nvram unset vlan0ports) but this s***t vlan0 is still there after rebooting and LAN Ports aren´t getting an IP Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes

http://abload.de/img/2444qdk.jpg
http://abload.de/img/25xar7y.jpg
http://abload.de/img/26hhp7u.jpg

THX for you help!
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 4793
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 15:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do the wan port work?
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 4793
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 17:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
This should be correct.

You probably have to update the CFE on the router.

http://www.snbforums.com/threads/cfe-bootloader-update.8259/#post-49790
Kurt T.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Aug 2015
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 17:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok I checked the CFE Version:

bl_version=1.0.1.2

This might be the Problem...

Updating CFE
Update works only on Merlin's mod.

This means I have to change the firmware again first and the brick the (unbrickable) router maybe during CFE upgrade?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7045
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 19:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kurt T. wrote:
Ok I checked the CFE Version:

bl_version=1.0.1.2

This might be the Problem...

Updating CFE
Update works only on Merlin's mod.

This means I have to change the firmware again first and the brick the (unbrickable) router maybe during CFE upgrade?


Follow this guide. http://www.snbforums.com/threads/cfe-bootloader-update.8259/

It's really easy. Using telnet, it's a a couple of steps.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Kurt T.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Aug 2015
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 9:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello thx for your help.

I am running Merlin Mod now and I am able to connect with putty to the router. The next problem is, that when I am connected to the router I have no internet connection with putty.

So the problem is the command:

cd /tmp
wget http://files.ryzhov-al.ru/Routers/RT-N66U_CFE_update/cfe_n66u-1.0.1.9.tgz
tar -xzvf cfe_n66u-1.0.1.9.tgz


Is not working. I saved the tgz file now local on my computer but what is the right command to access to this local file?
Ah-Pin-Kor
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 Sep 2015
Posts: 198

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 9:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kurt T. wrote:

I am running Merlin Mod now and I am able to connect with putty to the router. The next problem is, that when I am connected to the router I have no internet connection with putty.

So the problem is the command:

cd /tmp
wget http://files.ryzhov-al.ru/Routers/RT-N66U_CFE_update/cfe_n66u-1.0.1.9.tgz
tar -xzvf cfe_n66u-1.0.1.9.tgz


Is not working. I saved the tgz file now local on my computer but what is the right command to access to this local file?

Enable sshd on your N66U, then use scp to copy the file over (putty has pscp.exe).

_________________

Linksys EA8500 37015M kongat || Netgear R7000 35550M kongac (Client Bridge=5GHz, AP=2.4GHz)
D-Link DIR-885L A1 35550M kongac || D-Link DIR-890L A1 35550M kongac
Kurt T.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Aug 2015
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 10:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
My options in Asus-Merlin are:

Enable Telnet : Yes
Enable SSH : Yes
Allow SSH Port Forwarding : No
SSH service port : 22
Allow SSH access from WAN : No
Allow SSH password login : Yes
Enable SSH Brute Force Protection : No
SSH Authentication key : Empty

Quote:
Enable sshd

Were?

I am completely new. What is/are the correct commands? Die tpz file is now on:
D:\cfe_n66u-1.0.1.9.tgz

Quote:
So to copy the local file c:\documents\foo.txt to the server example.com as user fred to the file /tmp/foo you would type:
pscp c:\documents\foo.txt fred@example.com:/tmp/foo


I have to replace wget http://files.ryzhov-al.ru/Routers/RT-N66U_CFE_update/cfe_n66u-1.0.1.9.tgz with pscp D:\cfe_n66u-1.0.1.9.tgz 192.168.1.1:/tmp??
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7045
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 11:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
You should have Internet acces while using telnet.
I've done this procedure many times.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Kurt T.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 10 Aug 2015
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 12:14    Post subject: ***SOLVED*** Reply with quote
I used WINSCP to transfer the files to the root folder of the router. Then I updated successfully to 1.0.1.9 Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

After that I changed again firmware to dd-wrt.v24-26138_NEWD-2_K3.x-big-RT-N66U.

Restored with the backup I made all settings. Made the Vlan Settings:

vlan0 should be empty.
vlan1: Port 1-4 and assigned to LAN
vlan2: Wan and asigned to none.

On Setup->Networking: wan set to vlan2 ->this has already been set.

I checked the nvram show | grep vlan.*ports and vlan0 not there! Very Happy Very Happy

AND NOW I AM WRITING this POST over LAN-CONNECTION!!

Thank you very much. DD-WRT rocks!! Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

Special Thanks to Per Yngve Berg and Malachi Cool

Quote:
You should have Internet acces while using telnet.
I've done this procedure many times.


Unfortunately not because I have only through WLAN Internet and use the router as repeater too. Cool Cool
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum