"EA6300V1" (Q87-EA6400) BCM4360

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 44, 45, 46 ... 97, 98, 99  Next
Author Message
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 17:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
Silent_Swift wrote:
I've got the modified cfe running on my router and it's working great; good job Very Happy

For anyone who's wondering, it has fixed the nvram 32k limit and my problem with it bricking after 3 reboots. Asus-Wrt (Merlin) 378.56_alpha2-X5.6 is now my daily driver. I think I need to find the gpio command to turn on the light though as it is off.

5G and 2.4G performance were never a problem on the normal dd-wrt for me and still isn't with the new cfe and different firmware.

And yes, I did have the same problem as rosenrot with it bringing a error of [e]Erasing mtd failed: linux2 and yes the Asus firmware did flash successfully on both firmware paths.

I guess I have finally found a alternative to the stock Linksys firmware Cool

The new cfe, doesn't seem to fix the temperature problems, but I guess I'll just attach a usb hub and hook up a usb fan and continue using my hard drive on another port.

(My temps: 2.4 GHz: 54°C - 5 GHz: 60°C - CPU: 77°C)


I just have the cover out. Don't need to add anything. The cpu temperature stay about 62°C. I'm thinking just cut out the hole on the cover for the cpu. Let it works just like the 1970 Hi-Fi.
Sponsor
ghoffman
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 18:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
has anyone actually solved the running hot problem, or just ameliorated it with a fan, hole, ice cube?

i've go two of these routers. one runs hot (90-102C), the other cold (60-80C). I have completely reworked these to be identical, with xvortex/LOM CFE (identical except for mac addresses), nvram values, firmware versions, etc. I've swapped power supplies, powered radios on and off, changed power levels, even checked AC power sources. But nothing makes the hot one run cool.

what am i overlooking?

thanks
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 19:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
ghoffman wrote:
has anyone actually solved the running hot problem, or just ameliorated it with a fan, hole, ice cube?

i've go two of these routers. one runs hot (90-102C), the other cold (60-80C). I have completely reworked these to be identical, with xvortex/LOM CFE (identical except for mac addresses), nvram values, firmware versions, etc. I've swapped power supplies, powered radios on and off, changed power levels, even checked AC power sources. But nothing makes the hot one run cool.

what am i overlooking?

thanks


Unscrew the heatsink, apply new/better paste, re-install the heatsink?

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 19:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Fan is not a good solution. Since router is running 24/7/52. After a long run, the fan bearing makes noise also it'll have dust stuck on the Fan. I'm thinking to use air cooling. This is my future Star Router. Not sure the big metal will effect the signal. Have to test it Very Happy


Star Router V1.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  158.32 KB
 Viewed:  8097 Time(s)

Star Router V1.jpg


rosenrot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 21:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
There is a new beta version of dd-wrt out. I was not able to flash this one from merlins web interface. It gave me an error an nothing happened.

Since the Asus firmware from merlin gives me bad 5Ghz performance, I want to go for dd-wrt but it seems that even from the mini dd-wrt it gives an erasing linux2 error.

Could anyone tell me why this is? Or how to make it work?
colnago
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Oct 2014
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 21:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hello, I am fairly certain that you cannot use the web interface to flash if you are on modded cfe and Merlin. Use the interface at boot, tftp, or scp the file up and telnet/ssh in to run the flash command.
rosenrot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 21:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
colnago wrote:
Hello, I am fairly certain that you cannot use the web interface to flash if you are on modded cfe and Merlin. Use the interface at boot, tftp, or scp the file up and telnet/ssh in to run the flash command.


Which flash command? This failed previously:
mtd write /tmp/temp/link-to-firmware-chosen.bin linux2
Biohead
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Dec 2009
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 5:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
What's your output from the following command?
cat /proc/mtd

After I've flashed merlin and xvortex cfe, my mtd areas have all been renamed. There's no linux2 area to flash.

dev: size erasesize name
mtd0: 00080000 00020000 "boot"
mtd1: 00180000 00020000 "nvram"
mtd2: 03e00000 00020000 "linux"
mtd3: 03c66064 00020000 "rootfs"
mtd4: 03ec0000 00020000 "brcmnand"
mtd5: 00140000 00020000 "asus"
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
A simple solution for those don't want to open the router to drill hole to mount a Fan on their router. Get one of this Fan, put it on the side of the router, it'll help to cool down the router. This Fan uses USB power, if you don't use USB drive, just plug it in the USB on router.


$_57 (5).JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  65.77 KB
 Viewed:  7951 Time(s)

$_57 (5).JPG



$_57 (6).JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  50.11 KB
 Viewed:  7951 Time(s)

$_57 (6).JPG


ghoffman
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 10:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Biohead wrote:
What's your output from the following command?
cat /proc/mtd

After I've flashed merlin and xvortex cfe, my mtd areas have all been renamed. There's no linux2 area to flash.

dev: size erasesize name
mtd0: 00080000 00020000 "boot"
mtd1: 00180000 00020000 "nvram"
mtd2: 03e00000 00020000 "linux"
mtd3: 03c66064 00020000 "rootfs"
mtd4: 03ec0000 00020000 "brcmnand"
mtd5: 00140000 00020000 "asus"


i have also flashed xvortex cfe, but the dd-wrt and merlin firmware use different layouts.
with dd-wrt, this is my mtd map:
Code:
root@hoffman21:~# cat /proc/mtd
dev:    size   erasesize  name
mtd0: 00080000 00020000 "boot"
mtd1: 00100000 00020000 "nvram"
mtd2: 01f00000 00020000 "linux"
mtd3: 03880000 00020000 "rootfs"
mtd4: 01b00000 00020000 "linux2"
mtd5: 043fe780 00020000 "rootfs2"
mtd6: 04000000 00020000 "ddwrt"


on bootup, the mtd map is checked. if it doesnt match what the firmware wants, it is rewritten. this is one phase of the multiple-reboot process after flashing a new firmware architecture. not all firmwares respct all partitions.

i've always flashed firmware to linux, not linux2.
if that doesn't work, use the bootloader tool.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 15:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
^^^

Do note that dd-wrt has reduced the size of mtd1 to 1MB which means that devinfo is protected for writing to, dd-wrt is neither able to destroy it nor is it able to repair it.

Access to the devinfo area is therefore only available from the original Linksys CFE and its devinfo cmds, or by mtd write when running merlin Asus firmware.

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
ghoffman
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 15:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
^^^

Do note that dd-wrt has reduced the size of mtd1 to 1MB which means that devinfo is protected for writing to, dd-wrt is neither able to destroy it nor is it able to repair it.

Access to the devinfo area is therefore only available from the original Linksys CFE and its devinfo cmds, or by mtd write when running merlin Asus firmware.


i did notice that dd-wrt reduced the mtd partition size to 1MB, but i did not notice the hole in the partition map that theoretically protects devinfo (unless i did something really stupid!)
thank you for the clarification.
Silent_Swift
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Aug 2015
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 16:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
My output from the Merlin firmware is quite similar from the dd-wrt firmware:

Code:
ASUSWRT-Merlin EA6400_3.0.0.4 Mon Sep 14 10:48:04 UTC 2015
henri@LinksysHome:/tmp/home/root# cat /proc/mtd
dev:    size   erasesize  name
mtd0: 00080000 00020000 "boot"
mtd1: 00180000 00020000 "nvram"
mtd2: 03e00000 00020000 "linux"
mtd3: 03c66064 00020000 "rootfs"
mtd4: 03ec0000 00020000 "brcmnand"
mtd5: 00140000 00020000 "asus"
henri@LinksysHome:/tmp/home/root#


So what is the correct procedure to (for example), move back to dd-wrt firmware using xvortex cfe? I am guessing I should flash it from the miniweb server that starts up at bootup? Or flash it using the command to linux path? I read one post a page back stating that you couldn't flash it from the web gui.
Devianttwo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2015
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 18:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
rosenrot wrote:
I just tried what you said Devianttwo.

Here are some points that are different on my side:

8. The user/pass is independent of the data set within the web interface. root/admin worked for me

13.
Quote:
mtd write /tmp/proftpd/users/admin/linksys-ea6400-webflash.bin linux2

gives me
Code:
Unlocking linux2 ...
Writing from /tmp/proftpd/users/admin/linksys-ea6400-webflash.bin to linux2 ...  [e]Erasing mtd failed: linux2


Could someone help me?

Just found that flashing EA6400_378.56_alpha2-X5.6.trx works without any error.



8. That is correct.
13. the linux2 partition may fail to format. thats normal.
Fishrman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2015 18:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have another issue with ea6300v1

I wanted to try the newest build - maybe the temps will go lower ...

Now I have 27805 and wanted to upload 27858 but after upgrading the router gets back to default settings but remains at 27805. I also tried flashing again "linksys-ea6400-numinit-super-hacky-smaller-version" but still no luck - the router goes to defaults but remains 27805... should I 30-30-30 ?

Am I missing something ?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 44, 45, 46 ... 97, 98, 99  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 45 of 99
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum