"EA6300V1" (Q87-EA6400) BCM4360

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 43, 44, 45 ... 97, 98, 99  Next
Author Message
rosenrot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 10:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just tried what you said Devianttwo.

Here are some points that are different on my side:

8. The user/pass is independent of the data set within the web interface. root/admin worked for me

13.
Quote:
mtd write /tmp/proftpd/users/admin/linksys-ea6400-webflash.bin linux2

gives me
Code:
Unlocking linux2 ...
Writing from /tmp/proftpd/users/admin/linksys-ea6400-webflash.bin to linux2 ...  [e]Erasing mtd failed: linux2


Could someone help me?

Just found that flashing EA6400_378.56_alpha2-X5.6.trx works without any error.
Sponsor
rosenrot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 12:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
First impressions:
5Ghz Wifi performance decreased


Can I now flash any DD-WRT beta using the web interface?
Silent_Swift
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Aug 2015
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 20:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Um. I'm guessing that the XVortex CFE complied is only for the ea6400? Or does this include the ea6300v1? I would guess they're cross compatible but because this is a form of a bootloader, I guess it's not my job to mess with the cfe Confused .

I don't have any abnormal temperatures whilst running dd-Wrt on my ea6300v1 so I cannot see any benefit for me (other than the nvram bugfix). The next changeset does sort out the partialboots so I'm guessing I may test this out again to see if the three reboot brick is fixed Laughing

If the CFE does fix the bricks after three reboots, I'll try it out on my ea6300v1 Very Happy - though I'm not sure if its compatible Confused
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 20:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Silent_Swift wrote:
Um. I'm guessing that the XVortex CFE complied is only for the ea6400? Or does this include the ea6300v1? I would guess they're cross compatible but because this is a form of a bootloader, I guess it's not my job to mess with the cfe Confused .

I don't have any abnormal temperatures whilst running dd-Wrt on my ea6300v1 so I cannot see any benefit for me (other than the nvram bugfix). The next changeset does sort out the partialboots so I'm guessing I may test this out again to see if the three reboot brick is fixed Laughing

If the CFE does fix the bricks after three reboots, I'll try it out on my ea6300v1 Very Happy - though I'm not sure if its compatible Confused


ea6300v1 & ea6400 have the same hardware, they are the same species. I got the ea6300v1.
Silent_Swift
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Aug 2015
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 20:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
dan368 wrote:

ea6300v1 & ea6400 have the same hardware, they are the same species. I got the ea6300v1.


Well, yes I know the firmware can be flashed but my point is if the cfe can be flashed? Something must determine the model between an ea6300v1 and a ea6400 and I'm guessing it's a property in this cfe.

I just don't want a unbootable router as of cfe...
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 20:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Silent_Swift wrote:
dan368 wrote:

ea6300v1 & ea6400 have the same hardware, they are the same species. I got the ea6300v1.


Well, yes I know the firmware can be flashed but my point is if the cfe can be flashed? Something must determine the model between an ea6300v1 and a ea6400 and I'm guessing it's a property in this cfe.

I just don't want a unbootable router as of cfe...


Hum... you didn't read my previous posted above. I did said I’m using the xvortex_cfe_ea6400.bin
Silent_Swift
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Aug 2015
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 21:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
dan368 wrote:
Silent_Swift wrote:
dan368 wrote:

ea6300v1 & ea6400 have the same hardware, they are the same species. I got the ea6300v1.


Well, yes I know the firmware can be flashed but my point is if the cfe can be flashed? Something must determine the model between an ea6300v1 and a ea6400 and I'm guessing it's a property in this cfe.

I just don't want a unbootable router as of cfe...


Hum... you didn't read my previous posted above. I did said I’m using the xvortex_cfe_ea6400.bin


Thanks I just couldn't make out of it Smile

I guess I'll have a go on mine then Wink
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 21:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
The xvortex_cfe_ea6400.bin boot up slow because it gives more time to wait for the tftp flash upload. It's good for debrick also you don't have the 32k nvram bug. I'm very appreciated.

Null Rescue Flag.
boot the image...
go load
Loader:raw Filesys:tftp Dev:eth0 File:: Options:(null)
Loading: TFTP Server.
..tftp retry wait 0
..tftp retry wait 1
..tftp retry wait 2
Failed.
Could not load :: Timeout occured
Booting(0): boot -raw -z -addr=0x8000 -max=0xef8000 nflash0.os:
Biohead
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Dec 2009
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 12:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dan368: I saw a few posts back you had issues unlocking mtd0 - how did you get over this?
moppa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Posts: 26
Location: Northern Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 14:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
moppa wrote:
Malachi wrote:
Try to flash it using command line.


Ok thanks - I assume using this method: https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Installation#Method_3:_Flashing_with_Command_Line

Will give this a go tomorrow night. The offending router is used to connect to Sky Fibre which can be a bit painful to get going again.[/url]


Still no joy with this - any other suggestions?

now have 1 router with 27805 and the other 27700 despite upgrading via telnet and web interface!?

_________________
Downstairs EA6300v1 - DD-WRT build 27858
Upstairs EA6300v1 - DD-WRT build 27858
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 17:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Biohead wrote:
Dan368: I saw a few posts back you had issues unlocking mtd0 - how did you get over this?


I copied the cfe to the /tmp first then used UART to do it. Malachi said after he flashed the mini version, he could do it too.
Biohead
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Dec 2009
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 17:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks Dan, I'm running 27805 at the minute and thought I'd be able to do it straight from there.
ghoffman
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 19:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
the mtd tools report an error with unlocking, but the tools do erase and write to mtd. so be careful.
you should check your mtd structure with this command:

cat /proc/mtd

you'll get somthing like:

Code:
dev:    size   erasesize  name
mtd0: 00080000 00020000 "boot"
mtd1: 00100000 00020000 "nvram"
mtd2: 01f00000 00020000 "linux"
mtd3: 03880000 00020000 "rootfs"
mtd4: 01b00000 00020000 "linux2"
mtd5: 04400000 00020000 "rootfs2"
mtd6: 04000000 00020000 "ddwrt"


assume cfenew.bin and firmware.bin are your cfe and firmware files, trasnsferred via scp or ftp (or even on usb).

these commands worked for me via telnet:

cd /tmp
ls -l (to check that your cfe and firmware are there)

to burn new cfe:

mtd erase /dev/mtd0
mtd write cfenew.bin /dev/mtd0

based on the mtd map, those commands are equivalent to:
mtd erase boot
mtd write cfenew.bin boot

to burn new firmware:

mtd erase linux
mtd write firmware.bin linux


then
reboot
numinit
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 66
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
Still alive, bumping the email notifications.

Let me know if anyone needs help with anything.

_________________
How to EA6400:

Flash the smaller build: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=36227

Flash the real build: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/

Initial flashing post: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=979857#979857

Results: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=980039#980039

GLHF
Silent_Swift
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Aug 2015
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 17:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've got the modified cfe running on my router and it's working great; good job Very Happy

For anyone who's wondering, it has fixed the nvram 32k limit and my problem with it bricking after 3 reboots. Asus-Wrt (Merlin) 378.56_alpha2-X5.6 is now my daily driver. I think I need to find the gpio command to turn on the light though as it is off.

5G and 2.4G performance were never a problem on the normal dd-wrt for me and still isn't with the new cfe and different firmware.

And yes, I did have the same problem as rosenrot with it bringing a error of [e]Erasing mtd failed: linux2 and yes the Asus firmware did flash successfully on both firmware paths.

I guess I have finally found a alternative to the stock Linksys firmware Cool

The new cfe, doesn't seem to fix the temperature problems, but I guess I'll just attach a usb hub and hook up a usb fan and continue using my hard drive on another port.

(My temps: 2.4 GHz: 54°C - 5 GHz: 60°C - CPU: 77°C)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 43, 44, 45 ... 97, 98, 99  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 44 of 99
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum