"EA6300V1" (Q87-EA6400) BCM4360

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 43, 44, 45 ... 96, 97, 98  Next
Author Message
fehom
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 5:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
dan368 wrote:
Hi fehom,

I've been brick & debrick more than 20 times. I get used to it. I could test it. What performance do I have to pay attention for this built?

Regards
dan368

Hi Dan368

I just found it from http://koolshare.cn/forum-72-1.html

If you have the ability of TTL to save brick,you can try to flash this built from dd-wrt Web upgrade page.

If you start a problem , please tell me the TTL log.

Thanks.


Last edited by fehom on Fri Sep 25, 2015 8:39; edited 2 times in total
Sponsor
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi fehom,

First of all this is a mega built. It took very long time for the first time booted up. I got the console watched all the process. Decompressing, check sum, module loading, took very long time. I thought this won’t booted up but it did. Lines below are really interesting. I’ve never seen it before.

ehci_hcdDigital core power voltage set to 0.9375V
Decompressing...done
Digital core power voltage set to 0.9375V
Decompressing...done

It took about 44 seconds to get to Booting(0): ( because I’m using the xvortex_cfe_ea6400.bin)
Total 2.05 minutes to start seeing the ping reply.

This is a crazy built. There’re many features there. I definitely stay for testing for a while. I’m not sure if this is guilty to talk about this built on this Forum.

Some basic functions tested.

2.4G works ok, 5G is better than the v3.0-r27805 std built
After 1 hour drive temperature is: 2.4 GHz: 47°C - 5 GHz: 58°C - CPU: 68°C
USB share works well.
SSH, telnet, remote web management work ok.
I got full speed up & down.
Vlan ports are corrected

Testing will be continued, it’s 2:18am now, time to sleep.
fehom
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Sep 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 3:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
dan368 wrote:
Hi fehom,

First of all this is a mega built. It took very long time for the first time booted up. I got the console watched all the process. Decompressing, check sum, module loading, took very long time. I thought this won’t booted up but it did. Lines below are really interesting. I’ve never seen it before.

ehci_hcdDigital core power voltage set to 0.9375V
Decompressing...done
Digital core power voltage set to 0.9375V
Decompressing...done

It took about 44 seconds to get to Booting(0): ( because I’m using the xvortex_cfe_ea6400.bin)
Total 2.05 minutes to start seeing the ping reply.

This is a crazy built. There’re many features there. I definitely stay for testing for a while. I’m not sure if this is guilty to talk about this built on this Forum.

Some basic functions tested.

2.4G works ok, 5G is better than the v3.0-r27805 std built
After 1 hour drive temperature is: 2.4 GHz: 47°C - 5 GHz: 58°C - CPU: 68°C
USB share works well.
SSH, telnet, remote web management work ok.
I got full speed up & down.
Vlan ports are corrected

Testing will be continued, it’s 2:18am now, time to sleep.


Thank you for your testing.
Devianttwo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2015
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 5:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
**Refer to next post **

Last edited by Devianttwo on Sat Sep 26, 2015 9:39; edited 1 time in total
Devianttwo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2015
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Alright so after hours of work I finally got everything working like it should. I can confirm temperature has also dropped. Here is the consolidated instructions to install XVortex and your flavor of firmware.

Latest Instructions to install DD-WRT or the new Test build of Merlin on a linksys EA6300/EA6400v1 Router.


XVortex CFE for EA6400 & CFEEdit 1.2
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=33329

1 ) You have to modify the CFE with your router's MAC addr using CFEEdit.

Code:

et0macaddr -> Your base mac address on the bottom sticker
0:macaddr -> equals et0macaddr + :0x01
1:macaddr -> equals et0macaddr + "0x02

example:
et0macaddr XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:01
0:macaddr XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:02
1:macaddr XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:03


2 ) flash the default stripped down version of DD-WRT

http://d.pr/f/17CIg/5I5UrVmX+
(Credit goes to numinit for the Initial WebFlash)

3 ) do a 30/30/30 with reset button to clear nvram.
4 ) log into DD-WRT. Create a User/Password
5 ) MAKE A BACKUP OF YOUR CFE BY BROWSING TO http://192.18.1.1/backup/cfe.bin
*You will need this if you EVER want to revert back to stock.
6 ) Enable ProFTPD and create a new user (SSHD does not work on the stripped down version)

Code:

 -> Services
 -> NAS
 -> ProFTPD


7 ) FTP your modified CFE with that user

* REMEMBER TO ENABLE BINARY MODE IN FTP. suggestion: Use WinSCP

8 ) telnet into router and run the following commands to flash CFE. Username/Password is your DD-WRT Login information.
*EDIT* (9/29/2015) Username/Password is the information you entered when you first booted DD-WRT.

Code:

mtd unlock /dev/mtd0
mtd write -f /tmp/temp/modified_cfe.bin /dev/mtd0


* DO NOT CUT AND PASTE! Adjust these to match the file link and directory names.

Once done unplug the router. Hold the WPS button while plugging it in. Wait for the LED to blink fast. Release WPS button.

9 ) Go back into DD-WRT, Set back up user and password
10 ) Re-Enable ProFTPD same as before.
11 ) FTP Desired EA6400 Firmware that you want (Either DD-WRT or the test version of Merlin for EA6400)

Links:

DD-WRT Latest Builds: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2015/
Navigate to latest folder
Navigate to the linksys-ea6400 folder
Download the linksys-ea6400-webflash.bin

Or

Merlin for EA6400: https://www.dropbox.com/s/grtjpxfong12jym/EA6400_378.56_alpha2-X5.6.trx?dl=0
(Credit to fehom)


12 ) Open up Putty (Or any telnet program) and connect to 192.168.1.1

13 ) Flash your new firmware with the following commands:

*EDIT* (9/29/2015) When formatting the linux2 partition it may return an error. This is safe to ignore. It is still writing the firmware.

Code:

mtd write /tmp/temp/link-to-firmware-chosen.bin linux2
(Wait for it to write)
mtd write /tmp/temp/link-to-firmware-chosen.bin linux
erase nvram
reboot

* Once again Make sure to point to the CORRECT File name.

**AFTER THIS IS DONE YOUR ROUTER WILL TAKE A VERY LONG TIME TO REBOOT FOR THE FIRST TIME! IT WILL REBOOT MULTIPLE TIMES AND CAN TAKE 2-15 MINUTES OR MORE!! JUST LEAVE IT ALONE AND GO SMOKE A CIGARETTE OR GET SOMETHING TO DRINK!! **

14 ) Navigate back to http://192.168.1.1 If you see the CFE MiniWeb then Continue to wait. If you see your new firmware then you have successfully flashed to the latest version with the newest CFE files. Configure to how you like it Smile


Side Notes:
1 ) After a factory reset the router will take between 2-15+ Minutes to reboot for the first time. It will also Reboot multiple times. (You can check this with a ping or watching the lights on the router). This is normal. It has something to do with the new CFE.

2 ) After Initial bootup your router will take about 2-3 minutes for a normal reboot. This is normal. Also has something to do with the new CFE.

3 ) If you are having issues with your routers Temperature then this fix is for you.


Last edited by Devianttwo on Tue Sep 29, 2015 18:14; edited 2 times in total
rosenrot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 10:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just tried what you said Devianttwo.

Here are some points that are different on my side:

8. The user/pass is independent of the data set within the web interface. root/admin worked for me

13.
Quote:
mtd write /tmp/proftpd/users/admin/linksys-ea6400-webflash.bin linux2

gives me
Code:
Unlocking linux2 ...
Writing from /tmp/proftpd/users/admin/linksys-ea6400-webflash.bin to linux2 ...  [e]Erasing mtd failed: linux2


Could someone help me?

Just found that flashing EA6400_378.56_alpha2-X5.6.trx works without any error.
rosenrot
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Jan 2015
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 12:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
First impressions:
5Ghz Wifi performance decreased


Can I now flash any DD-WRT beta using the web interface?
Silent_Swift
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Aug 2015
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 20:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Um. I'm guessing that the XVortex CFE complied is only for the ea6400? Or does this include the ea6300v1? I would guess they're cross compatible but because this is a form of a bootloader, I guess it's not my job to mess with the cfe Confused .

I don't have any abnormal temperatures whilst running dd-Wrt on my ea6300v1 so I cannot see any benefit for me (other than the nvram bugfix). The next changeset does sort out the partialboots so I'm guessing I may test this out again to see if the three reboot brick is fixed Laughing

If the CFE does fix the bricks after three reboots, I'll try it out on my ea6300v1 Very Happy - though I'm not sure if its compatible Confused
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 20:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
Silent_Swift wrote:
Um. I'm guessing that the XVortex CFE complied is only for the ea6400? Or does this include the ea6300v1? I would guess they're cross compatible but because this is a form of a bootloader, I guess it's not my job to mess with the cfe Confused .

I don't have any abnormal temperatures whilst running dd-Wrt on my ea6300v1 so I cannot see any benefit for me (other than the nvram bugfix). The next changeset does sort out the partialboots so I'm guessing I may test this out again to see if the three reboot brick is fixed Laughing

If the CFE does fix the bricks after three reboots, I'll try it out on my ea6300v1 Very Happy - though I'm not sure if its compatible Confused


ea6300v1 & ea6400 have the same hardware, they are the same species. I got the ea6300v1.
Silent_Swift
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Aug 2015
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 20:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
dan368 wrote:

ea6300v1 & ea6400 have the same hardware, they are the same species. I got the ea6300v1.


Well, yes I know the firmware can be flashed but my point is if the cfe can be flashed? Something must determine the model between an ea6300v1 and a ea6400 and I'm guessing it's a property in this cfe.

I just don't want a unbootable router as of cfe...
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 20:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Silent_Swift wrote:
dan368 wrote:

ea6300v1 & ea6400 have the same hardware, they are the same species. I got the ea6300v1.


Well, yes I know the firmware can be flashed but my point is if the cfe can be flashed? Something must determine the model between an ea6300v1 and a ea6400 and I'm guessing it's a property in this cfe.

I just don't want a unbootable router as of cfe...


Hum... you didn't read my previous posted above. I did said I’m using the xvortex_cfe_ea6400.bin
Silent_Swift
DD-WRT User


Joined: 20 Aug 2015
Posts: 102
Location: London

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 21:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
dan368 wrote:
Silent_Swift wrote:
dan368 wrote:

ea6300v1 & ea6400 have the same hardware, they are the same species. I got the ea6300v1.


Well, yes I know the firmware can be flashed but my point is if the cfe can be flashed? Something must determine the model between an ea6300v1 and a ea6400 and I'm guessing it's a property in this cfe.

I just don't want a unbootable router as of cfe...


Hum... you didn't read my previous posted above. I did said I’m using the xvortex_cfe_ea6400.bin


Thanks I just couldn't make out of it Smile

I guess I'll have a go on mine then Wink
dan368
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2015 21:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
The xvortex_cfe_ea6400.bin boot up slow because it gives more time to wait for the tftp flash upload. It's good for debrick also you don't have the 32k nvram bug. I'm very appreciated.

Null Rescue Flag.
boot the image...
go load
Loader:raw Filesys:tftp Dev:eth0 File:: Options:(null)
Loading: TFTP Server.
..tftp retry wait 0
..tftp retry wait 1
..tftp retry wait 2
Failed.
Could not load :: Timeout occured
Booting(0): boot -raw -z -addr=0x8000 -max=0xef8000 nflash0.os:
Biohead
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Dec 2009
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 12:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dan368: I saw a few posts back you had issues unlocking mtd0 - how did you get over this?
moppa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Posts: 26
Location: Northern Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 14:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
moppa wrote:
Malachi wrote:
Try to flash it using command line.


Ok thanks - I assume using this method: https://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Installation#Method_3:_Flashing_with_Command_Line

Will give this a go tomorrow night. The offending router is used to connect to Sky Fibre which can be a bit painful to get going again.[/url]


Still no joy with this - any other suggestions?

now have 1 router with 27805 and the other 27700 despite upgrading via telnet and web interface!?

_________________
Downstairs EA6300v1 - DD-WRT build 27858
Upstairs EA6300v1 - DD-WRT build 27858
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 43, 44, 45 ... 96, 97, 98  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 44 of 98
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum