"EA6300V1" (Q87-EA6400) BCM4360

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 24, 25, 26 ... 97, 98, 99  Next
Author Message
moppa
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Posts: 26
Location: Northern Ireland

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 20:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
Worth a shot! Hoping to get rid of my sky 'router' once and for all....
Sponsor
Onemangang
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Aug 2014
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 20:40    Post subject: Editing the javascript files... Reply with quote
Hi Silent_Swift.

About editing the JavaScript files...
This is not impossible at all.

I used something called "Firmware Toolkit" to add
telnet to the original firmware, wich has worked
just fine. This is a free tool, and with that, you
can unpack the original firmware, edit the file,
and repack it.

Update:
The link for it is here. Read the docs if you want to give it a try.
https://code.google.com/p/firmware-mod-kit/

Regards

PS. Thank you BrainSlayer Smile


Last edited by Onemangang on Thu Aug 20, 2015 20:48; edited 1 time in total
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 20:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Works great so far.


ea6300.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  113.06 KB
 Viewed:  7932 Time(s)

ea6300.jpg



_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.


Last edited by Malachi on Thu Aug 20, 2015 20:55; edited 1 time in total
Onemangang
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Aug 2014
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 20:51    Post subject: Flashing Reply with quote
Hi Malachi.

Can you elaborate a little more on how you did it?
I assume you used serial to stop it at the cfe prompt,
and then used tftp to upload the firmware image?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 20:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I stopped the cfe, then typed: flash -noheader : nflash1.trx, then used tftpd32 by jpourin to upload the build.

Also someone else asked about the 32k nvram bug, I don't know, as it shows in the screenshot I am below that.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Onemangang
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Aug 2014
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 21:23    Post subject: Flashing Reply with quote
Hi Malachi.

Thank you for the info. When i played with it some time ago, I replaced my cfe with the one from the EA6900.
As far as i understood from previous posts, that should not have this 32k bug.

But one has to change the boardtype and clock frequency manually as this is different for the EA6900.

One thing to note here is, that it waits a looong time before it starts loading the firmware.
Don't quite know why that is so. Besides that i have had no trouble using this cfe.

I am now wondering, if dd-wrt will detect my router wrong, thinking it is a EA6900 and not an EA6400

Are you running dd-wrt with all bells and wistles, having ssl/tls enabled to see if the bug still exists?
ossus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jul 2015
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 21:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Guru developers! - BS first:
Possible to flash 6300v1 with 6400 from ddwrt asus firmware from webinterface or possibly bricks?

What do you think? And one more! if it wont start after flash, uart-vfe-tftp could work still to mend it, am i right?

Web:
It is a fool idea to edit the code of html, it can be easily seen , that upload passes that point , so not client side problem, it is a firmware problem, possibly firmware kit solves, but telnet also an outstanding idea.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 21:40    Post subject: Re: Flashing Reply with quote
Onemangang wrote:
Hi Malachi.

Thank you for the info. When i played with it some time ago, I replaced my cfe with the one from the EA6900.
As far as i understood from previous posts, that should not have this 32k bug.

But one has to change the boardtype and clock frequency manually as this is different for the EA6900.

One thing to note here is, that it waits a looong time before it starts loading the firmware.
Don't quite know why that is so. Besides that i have had no trouble using this cfe.

I am now wondering, if dd-wrt will detect my router wrong, thinking it is a EA6900 and not an EA6400

Are you running dd-wrt with all bells and wistles, having ssl/tls enabled to see if the bug still exists?


I'm running a vanilla setup, just using the two bands, wpa2 aes security and nothing else.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
ossus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jul 2015
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 22:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
I could not wait and flashed form ddwrt asus.

Bricked i Sad Very Happy

Led works however to me, restarts after load, USB activates and restarts after a second. Reseted to defaults before and done a reset after (10-30 sec press , reboot)

Malachi wrote:
I stopped the cfe, then typed: flash -noheader : nflash1.trx, then used tftpd32 by jpourin to upload the build.


How you stopped it please......

How do you connect to the router? 9600 baud , parity none 1 stop?

What typed when and how to stop load process? was that the only command you typed after it , no tftp ip or anything else?

You wrote a .trx file, have you renamed the .bin of the new build or what?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 22:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Google dd-wrt serial recovery.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 23:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
I had to take it out of use and put my r7000 in.
No matter which channel I tried the 2.4ghz crawled, in 20hz of course.
In the system info page it said it was 5.5mbps.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
ossus
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 31 Jul 2015
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 23:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
Malachi wrote:
Google dd-wrt serial recovery.


Yes and since we all know how to do that will you tell me how you done it for that specific device? I opened the case and no uart port at first sight, and please give me the point where can i read how to connect ea6300v1 w serial line mode , and how you uploaded the image, plus why .trx image you wrote?

I guess the cfe stop command will be found somewhere ......
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7221
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 23:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
To stop the cfe use control + C like the guide says.
I used the file linked in this thread from today.
The serial port is the white one with 6 small pins.
Last one on the right is ground, second to last is tx or rx, then the fourth to last is txt or rx.



image.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  43.57 KB
 Viewed:  23628 Time(s)

image.jpg



_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
numinit
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 66
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 23:55    Post subject: I am a terrible person, so here's a working webflash Reply with quote
Flash this, then flash the full version of DD-WRT on the FTP.

linksys-ea6400-numinit-super-hacky-smaller-version.bin will give you a partially broken version of dd-wrt (stripped of many binaries that made the image too big), then you can flash linksys-ea6400-webflash.bin to get the whole thing working.

I am a terrible person for making this, but it works. A hex editor was involved, but, damnit, I've had this router for 2 years and never been able to get DD-WRT loaded onto it.

Permalink to initial webflash: [see signature]

The DD-WRT FTP will get you the rest of the way. Enjoy Smile



Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 6.52.54 PM.png
 Description:
sysinfo
 Filesize:  83.49 KB
 Viewed:  23610 Time(s)

Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 6.52.54 PM.png



linksys-ea6400-numinit-super-hacky-smaller-version.bin
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  linksys-ea6400-numinit-super-hacky-smaller-version.bin
 Filesize:  15.91 MB
 Downloaded:  5702 Time(s)


_________________
How to EA6400:

Flash the smaller build: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=36227

Flash the real build: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/

Initial flashing post: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=979857#979857

Results: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=980039#980039

GLHF


Last edited by numinit on Thu Aug 18, 2016 21:25; edited 4 times in total
numinit
DD-WRT User


Joined: 24 Oct 2013
Posts: 66
Location: Houston, TX

PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 23:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Guess I have to update my signature now Smile

Thanks, Brainslayer

_________________
How to EA6400:

Flash the smaller build: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/download.php?id=36227

Flash the real build: ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/2016/

Initial flashing post: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=979857#979857

Results: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=980039#980039

GLHF
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 24, 25, 26 ... 97, 98, 99  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 25 of 99
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum