Need help with VLAN Tagging

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 0:09    Post subject: Need help with VLAN Tagging Reply with quote
Right now I have VLAN working with 2 wire method. I want to learn on DD-WRT how I can VLAN Tag multiple VLAN in a single port.

Here are some screen shot of my configuration, it works. But I want to know how to do single wire/port on DD-WRT.

If someone would be kind enough to tell me how to properly Tag port 4 on DDWRT for VLAN5 as well as accept Untagged packet. That would be awesome
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5126
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2015 13:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
After enabling tagging, you can select several vlans for the same port.

http://www.vspecialist.co.uk/creating-vlans-in-dd-wrt-part-1/
killmasta93
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Feb 2015
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 18:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
if you have a vlan tab DO NOT USE the vlan tag in the networking unless you have atheros but it seems you might have a broadcom.

use my guide and see if it helps

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=279364
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 19:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
The way I have it works exactly how I want. I was hoping I didnt' need two ports to do this. I should be able to do it with one port. (1xport routing untagged packets and VLAN5 packet)

But it is unclear in the Webui can be set up that way.

So the real question is:

can the DDWRT route untagged packets and tagged packets on a single port?

Is VLAN0 consider untagged???
killmasta93
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Feb 2015
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 14:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
yes its possible so you want port 3 to have a default ip of 192.168.1.1 (or any you want)(untagged) and vlan 5 tagged with an ip of 192.168.3.1(or any you want)(tagged) then on whatever device you want to give that tag packed you say vlan id of 5 and should give you the dhcp of the 192.168.3.1 if you follow my guide
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 17:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
I want to have port 4 to route untagged and VLAN5 packets and only port 4

I looked at your guide.. the only difference is that you also left VLAN1 tagged. That's the only difference I can see between your guide and how I have set it up on my side.

I will give it a whirl with VLAN1 also tagged in port 4 and disconnect port 3... but I think I have tried that once. But I will try it again
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5126
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 19:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
What port on the switch is dd-wrt connected to?
killmasta93
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Feb 2015
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 21:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
vlan 1 (port 1,2,3,4) (UNTAGGED in a matter of speaking) is bridged to lan which means what ever device connects to that port will give me the default ip which in my case is 192.168.1.1. What you want is to ONLY tag port 4 with vlan 5? That means you connect a device to port 4 and on that device you say the vlan id is 5 so then that device will get the ip (192.168.13.1 or whatever you want it to be). And you can still use port 4 untagged as long as you dont add the vlan id on the other device. Or the photo you posted up with the ddwrt vlan is that the way you want it? IF SO you need to put the check on port 3 (vlan 1) then follow the bridge table in the guide.

*and dont use the vlan tag section in the networking part*
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 21:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
What port on the switch is dd-wrt connected to?


The way I have it right now... the DDWRT is connected on BOTH port from the switch 23 & 24.

Switch's port 24 is going to port 3 on DDWRT and Switch's port 23 is to Port 4 on DDWRT.

so in the end I want to disconnect port 24 from port 3 and route both untagged and VLAN5 on port 4 on the DDWRT & port 23 on the Switch.
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 21:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
killmasta93 wrote:
vlan 1 (port 1,2,3,4) (UNTAGGED in a matter of speaking) is bridged to lan which means what ever device connects to that port will give me the default ip which in my case is 192.168.1.1. What you want is to ONLY tag port 4 with vlan 5? That means you connect a device to port 4 and on that device you say the vlan id is 5 so then that device will get the ip (192.168.13.1 or whatever you want it to be). And you can still use port 4 untagged as long as you dont add the vlan id on the other device. Or the photo you posted up with the ddwrt vlan is that the way you want it? IF SO you need to put the check on port 3 (vlan 1) then follow the bridge table in the guide.

*and dont use the vlan tag section in the networking part*


Sorta... I have a TP-Link SG2424 switch in between. so the 2nd AP device is actually on the SG2424 port 7 (first picture)

The switch part is working fine. I just want to not have to use the extra port 3. I know I don't have to cause with other enterprise router I know how to do it. I am just so confused with the DDWRT interface.

Cause in my mind... the way DDWRT is presenting itself in the GUI is that if I put a check mark on "Tagged". And I checkmarked VLAN1 and VLAN5 on Port 4, everything from Port 4 is accepted only for VLAN1 and VLAN5 tags.(that would be the logical assumption).

UNLESS... DDWRT accept untagged packets in all ports regardless
killmasta93
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Feb 2015
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 22:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
ohhh so in that case your interface is good just try the bridge table.So all you want is to create a port (3) that has 192.168.13.1 with vlan id 5. But you cant check vlan 1 because it has the other ports choose another vlan id. remember to get internet on that port you have to add the ip firewall rules in the guide. let me know if it works.

if im still not understanding is it possible to make a diagram? maybe that will also help others.
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5126
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 22:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Both the switch and the dd-wrt router is not properly configured.

In dd-wrt check tagged, vlan1 and vlan5 on port 4

Check the vlan setup with the cli:

nvram show | grep vlan.\*ports


On the switch:

vlan1: untagged ports 1-9, tagged 23
vlan5: untagged ports 10-19, tagged 23

If a device is connected to a port 1-9, it will be on vlan1 and on vlan5 if connected on port 10-19

Both vlans will be truncded with tags between the switch and the router.
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 22:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
killmasta93 wrote:
ohhh so in that case your interface is good just try the bridge table.So all you want is to create a port (3) that has 192.168.13.1 with vlan id 5. But you cant check vlan 1 because it has the other ports choose another vlan id. remember to get internet on that port you have to add the ip firewall rules in the guide. let me know if it works.

if im still not understanding is it possible to make a diagram? maybe that will also help others.


LMFAO... I might have to do that... I seriously think in my case I need to involve the VLAN Tagging in the Network tab. But I am EVEN MORE confused with that GUI.

One of these days when I have time at home I have to really figure DDWRT's way of handling VLAN.

My understand right now is that the VLAN tab just tells which port when a tagged packet is allowed through.

But where in the interface does it actually TAG packets?

Most modern device allow you to tag packets that is going out of it.

Example, any modern NIC in allows you to tag the packets that is being sent out... and higher end APs allow multiple VLAN packets tagged going out ONE port.

I don't "SEE" that in the DDWRT GUI.. unless it's the Setup/Networking/VLAN Tag part.

The confusing part about that is where it say "VLAN 0 Interface". If you keep adding, the # increase.. but does it reference to the actual VLAN0 and VLAN1 and so on? or does it mean a "Self" placement Interface 0 and Interface 1 and so on. Or does it mean a PVID?

IDK... it is sooo confusing.....

Like I said, I wanted to "learn" how DDWRT works, what I did was just a "workaround".

If anyone else can give me an insight as how the interface translate to say a CISCO.. please do tell.
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5126
Location: Akershus, Norway

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 22:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
Did you run the "nvram show | grep vlan.*ports"?


vlan1ports=0t 1 2 3 5*
vlan2ports=4 5u
vlan5ports=0t 5

The "t" after the port makes it tagged.

The processor is here on port 5, on many ac routers it's on port 8
mbze430
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 May 2012
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 22:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Per Yngve Berg wrote:
Both the switch and the dd-wrt router is not properly configured.

In dd-wrt check tagged, vlan1 and vlan5 on port 4

Check the vlan setup with the cli:

nvram show | grep vlan.\*ports


On the switch:

vlan1: untagged ports 1-9, tagged 23
vlan5: untagged ports 10-19, tagged 23

If a device is connected to a port 1-9, it will be on vlan1 and on vlan5 if connected on port 10-19

Both vlans will be truncded with tags between the switch and the router.


on the SG2424, VLAN1 is ALL untagged by default. Because well, as you know most devices including PC are untagged packets

I have an AP (Netgear) that support multi-BSSID. the first SSID is the main LAN which is UNTAGGED
the 2nd BSSID is tagged VLAN5

on the Switch VLAN5 is only tagged PVID 5 on port 24 (DDWRT) and port 7 (NetGear AP). Rest of the ports is set to untagged.

this works perfectly. Computers/servers/clients with untagged packets can see each other fine. and the tagged VLAN5 is separated and can't see "VLAN1".

The DDWRT is able to send DHCP to both untagged clients and then DHCP on "br1" can be send to those clients.

My REAL question is.. HOW to configure that without using 2 wires to and from the DDWRT and the switch. I have done this before with Sonicwalls, Cisco routers..etc.. but not with a DDWRT router.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum