For people with a Linksys EA series router...

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18, 19  Next
Author Message
qools
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Sep 2014
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 17:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for your reply Twingo.
I will stay on 24461 for the moment, test if it is stable enough for me.
Will maybe consider Kong's build if I have time in a few months.

Edit:
If anyone failed like me, I actually managed to flash Kong's latest build using Flashing command line with Telnet directly from the latest ddwrt 24461 rev.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Installation/it#Method_3:_Flashing_with_Command_Line

and as explained in the end of this page's topic:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=178138&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=375

wget didnt work for me so I manually FTP kong's build into the tmp folder with WinSCP and launched the install command.
Sponsor
aerosmith9110
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2014 6:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can someone point me to the step by step process to revive the ea6700 via the com / JTAG port inside? I kinda flashed it a few months back and broke it and never bother by it till now.. I have time on my hands.

If there is also a link to the firmware I would need to load that would be great. BTW, I already tried 30 - 30 - 30 multiple times and I flashed it twice as it was reverting to the original firmware before I broke it.
sgtcasey
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 21:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've done some searching and read through this thread and I do not see any mention of the Linksys EA6350. Does anyone know if that one is being checked into? If not, what can I do to help?

Thanks.

[Edit] Disregard. This model was returned to the store and I purchased an RT-N66U instead.


Last edited by sgtcasey on Wed Oct 01, 2014 4:14; edited 1 time in total
_Robb_
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jan 2012
Posts: 324
Location: Wr PL

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 16:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
aerosmith9110 wrote:
Can someone point me to the step by step process to revive the ea6700 via the com / JTAG port inside? I kinda flashed it a few months back and broke it and never bother by it till now.. I have time on my hands.

If there is also a link to the firmware I would need to load that would be great. BTW, I already tried 30 - 30 - 30 multiple times and I flashed it twice as it was reverting to the original firmware before I broke it.


0) download:
a) the latest stock firmware
b) initial dd-wrt for your router (from dec 2013 or jan 2014 - search this thread or ea6900 for which one is possible)
c) flashing html webpage (find in my post www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=914408&highlight=#914408 )
d) download latest kong arm dd-wrt version

1) set your pc to ip:192.168.1.5
2) open console window and do "ping -t 192.168.1.1"
4) prepare to tftp upload stock linksys firmware
5) restart router
6) when pings get answer from 192.168.1.1 immediatly upload by tftp

After uploading you should have a nonresponsive stock firmware. Do you?
Make some coffee/tea.
Next step is to load dd-wrt.

Don't reset router.
7) open the html flashing webpage in browser.
8) choose for flashing dd-wrt initial flashing firmware
9) wait for flash + reboot

Router should come back with dd-wrt password change screen.
Change user + password.
Take a break, let the router run a bit.
Don't set anything except disable ttraf.

Flash through ui - kong firmware (don't use setting default values! - just flashing).

After reboot, you should have a working router.
Remember 32k nvram limit, etc.

Through telnet you can restore nvram vars if you want to return to stock.

_________________
http://www.speedtest.net/result/3915993898.png

DO NOT 30-30-30 or erase nvram newer routers! It can brick them.

EA6700: Build 27745 (nvram below 32K, ipv6 - HE 6in4)
E4200: Build 26587
WRT54GL: Retired - waiting in the closet for an emergency.
aerosmith9110
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Aug 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 3:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tnx Robb Smile Will check it out.

I hope that this procedure is good even if I don't get an IP from the router. my case I think is that the firmware is corrupt and not accessible via webpage.
errman
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 May 2014
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi everyone!

I'm using Kong 24345M with old style drivers. WiFi signal is good. But when I switch to any of new releases with new style drivers wifi signal gets worse, esp. 5G, drop in throughput, poor connection. I played with some settings like ccode, regrev, etc. No help. Can anyone explain what's wrong about it?
aous.naimi
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Jan 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Feb 02, 2015 21:46    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi Everyone

I'm not sure if anybody is still reading this but I will post anyways

I recently bought an EA6700 based on the fact that it was mentioned as supported in the WIKI devices list only to find that it wasn't really supported and had to use the stock firmware for a while which was very disappointing and killing me slowly Very Happy .
so returning to research and finally managed to install DD-WRT which I have used for a few years.
the router is now running Build 26081 and seems to be working fine. no reboots and wireless is working good except that the 5GHz wireless sometimes disappears. not sure if its me or the router though.

My question is, is the NVRAM issue fixed with this build, i can't seem to find a change log or something in that regards. I know that some other router with 60KB NVRAM is working well (E3000) which I also have and working wonderfully.

can anyone direct me or help me?

thanks
_Robb_
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jan 2012
Posts: 324
Location: Wr PL

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 0:00    Post subject: Reply with quote
aous.naimi wrote:
Hi Everyone
...
My question is, is the NVRAM issue fixed with this build, i can't seem to find a change log or something in that regards. I know that some other router with 60KB NVRAM is working well (E3000) which I also have and working wonderfully.

can anyone direct me or help me?

thanks


The nvram bug is a Linksys/Broadcom issue and should be fixed by them.
It cannot be solved by any dd-wrt build.

_________________
http://www.speedtest.net/result/3915993898.png

DO NOT 30-30-30 or erase nvram newer routers! It can brick them.

EA6700: Build 27745 (nvram below 32K, ipv6 - HE 6in4)
E4200: Build 26587
WRT54GL: Retired - waiting in the closet for an emergency.
emiralem
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2015
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
_Robb_ wrote:
aerosmith9110 wrote:
Can someone point me to the step by step process to revive the ea6700 via the com / JTAG port inside? I kinda flashed it a few months back and broke it and never bother by it till now.. I have time on my hands.

If there is also a link to the firmware I would need to load that would be great. BTW, I already tried 30 - 30 - 30 multiple times and I flashed it twice as it was reverting to the original firmware before I broke it.


0) download:
a) the latest stock firmware
b) initial dd-wrt for your router (from dec 2013 or jan 2014 - search this thread or ea6900 for which one is possible)
c) flashing html webpage (find in my post www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=914408&highlight=#914408 )
d) download latest kong arm dd-wrt version

1) set your pc to ip:192.168.1.5
2) open console window and do "ping -t 192.168.1.1"
4) prepare to tftp upload stock linksys firmware
5) restart router
6) when pings get answer from 192.168.1.1 immediatly upload by tftp

After uploading you should have a nonresponsive stock firmware. Do you?
Make some coffee/tea.
Next step is to load dd-wrt.

Don't reset router.
7) open the html flashing webpage in browser.
Cool choose for flashing dd-wrt initial flashing firmware
9) wait for flash + reboot

Router should come back with dd-wrt password change screen.
Change user + password.
Take a break, let the router run a bit.
Don't set anything except disable ttraf.

Flash through ui - kong firmware (don't use setting default values! - just flashing).

After reboot, you should have a working router.
Remember 32k nvram limit, etc.

Through telnet you can restore nvram vars if you want to return to stock.


finally I did it, thank you so much for your help. I need to just flash ui-kong firmware, can you send me link which one should I flash STD?

http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/K3-AC-Arm/

Am I going to do Administration->Firmware Upgrade

Reset to default settings and flash dd-wrt.v24-K3_AC_ARM_STD.bin ?? for ea6900
deliad
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2015 17:49    Post subject: YOURE A LIFE SAVER MAN Reply with quote
YOU JUST HELPED ME TO RECOVERY MY EA6300 FROM NVRAM RESET BOOT LOOP AFTER FLASHING WRONG DD-WRT FW

guys you should follow his guide and download the tftp tool from here
this is how it worked for me


1.set the your LAN to manually ip 192.168.1.5 netmask

255.255.255.0 and 192.168.1.1 as gateway

2. download this tftp tool from linksys
http://downloads.linksys.com/downloads/Tftp.exe

3. run it set it to 192.168.1.1 as the server
4 and user Admin password Admin

5. locate and browse for your original router firmware which you just downloaded from linksys website

6. ping 192.168.1.1 -t and wait the router to response to the ping

7. connect your router to lan1 port to the cable directly to your computer LAN Card (NIC)

8. when you see the ping reply, hit the button on the tftp tool, UPLOAD SHOULD START

9. FINALLY YOU RECOVERED YOUR ROUTER FROM BRICK!
raito77
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Dec 2013
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2015 19:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
Linksys EA6200

can somebody explain first two lines from serial log:

Loader:raw, invalid tftp target filename (:)!
Could not load :: Invalid parameter
Changed to the other image 0 (maxpartialboots exceeded)
Booting(0): boot -raw -z -addr=0x8000 -max=0xef8000 nflash0.os:
Loader:raw Filesys:raw Dev:nflash0.os File: Options:(null)
Loading: ..... 4867904 bytes read
flroots2
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Feb 2007
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2015 9:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
_Robb_ wrote:
mykola:
Is your MAC: 00:90:4C:0F:F0:01?

Yes you can clone the WAN port.

But there is a problem with dd-wrt on the EA series remembering nvram values.

I don't know the root issue, but have my suspicions:
Do you have jffs enabled?
Do you have traffic logging enabled?
The MAC on my EA6700 is also 00:90:4C:0F:F0:01. I am running DD-WRT build 26138 and have not been able to restore stock using TFTP. Does this mean my nvram is corrupted and if so, can you point me to a procedure to restore stock?

I did do the followng while nvram was good in case it helps:
    1) telnet 192.168.1.1
    2) execute: nvram show
    3) copy the result to text file on my PC
Also,

Thanks for any help pointing me in the right direction.
Ardalan
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Jul 2015
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 15:50    Post subject: Linksys EA2700 Reply with quote
Hello Guys,

I just bought this wireless router, i know im old fashion Very Happy
I couldnt find it in supported list in the below link:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database

Any of you know where to find a good firmware to enhance the router abilities?
Any link with instruction is much much appreciated.

Cheers!
mrjcd
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 31 Jan 2015
Posts: 5358
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2015 16:04    Post subject: Re: Linksys EA2700 Reply with quote
Ardalan wrote:
Hello Guys,

I just bought this wireless router, i know im old fashion Very Happy
I couldnt find it in supported list in the below link:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database

Any of you know where to find a good firmware to enhance the router abilities?
Any link with instruction is much much appreciated.

Cheers!


google

http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=901914#901914

http://haeberling.blogspot.com/2014/11/installing-dd-wrt-on-linksys-ea2700.html
tsgxwolf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Aug 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 21:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
flroots2 wrote:
_Robb_ wrote:
mykola:
Is your MAC: 00:90:4C:0F:F0:01?

Yes you can clone the WAN port.

But there is a problem with dd-wrt on the EA series remembering nvram values.

I don't know the root issue, but have my suspicions:
Do you have jffs enabled?
Do you have traffic logging enabled?
The MAC on my EA6700 is also 00:90:4C:0F:F0:01. I am running DD-WRT build 26138 and have not been able to restore stock using TFTP. Does this mean my nvram is corrupted and if so, can you point me to a procedure to restore stock?

I did do the followng while nvram was good in case it helps:
    1) telnet 192.168.1.1
    2) execute: nvram show
    3) copy the result to text file on my PC
Also,

Thanks for any help pointing me in the right direction.


Did you fixed it?my ea6900 cant be able to restore stock with tftp too.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 16, 17, 18, 19  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 17 of 19
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum