[SOLVED] VLANs on RT-AC56U

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
luscinius
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Mar 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 18:16    Post subject: [SOLVED] VLANs on RT-AC56U Reply with quote
Hi
I am trying to setup an isolated network on one of the ports of this router. I have read the wiki article on this subject:http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Switched_Ports
I have previously set up VLANs on RT-N16 and WL-520gU.
However, there are some things that confuse me. After setting port 4 to VLAN3 in the GUI and saving I have the following setup:
Code:

port5vlans=1 2 3 16
port3vlans=1 18 19 21
port1vlans=1 18 19 21
port4vlans=3 18 19 21
port2vlans=1 18 19 21
port0vlans=2 18 19 21

and
Code:

vlan2ports=4 5u
vlan1ports=0 1 2 3 5*

vlan2 is WAN, and vlan1 is LAN.
First, what does the suffix 'u' mean in '5u' (vlan2ports)? Second, I need to assign
Code:

vlan3ports="some_port 5"

and remove some_port from vlan1ports. What is the value of some_port? I guess it is 3. However, port.vlans and vlan.ports variables seem to use different port numbering. For example, vlan2ports specifies port #4 as WAN port; on the other hand, port0vlans is 2, meaning port 0 is the WAN port... That may mean some_port == 1. (Just to note, I have not had such discrepancies on other routers mentioned in the beginning of the post).
I am running DD-WRT v24-sp2 (06/23/14) std (SVN revision 24461).
Thanks for any help.


Last edited by luscinius on Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:11; edited 1 time in total
Sponsor
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5964
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 17:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://www.vspecialist.co.uk/creating-vlans-in-dd-wrt-part-1/
luscinius
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Mar 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thank you for the reply.
Let me clarify what my question is. Smile
The article you are citing refers to DD-WRT wiki, and their Netgear router works as expected:
Code:
vlan2ports=0 8
vlan1ports=4 3 2 1 8*
and
Code:
port5vlans=1 2 16
port3vlans=1
port1vlans=1
port4vlans=1
port2vlans=1
port0vlans=2

By "as expected" I mean that the port numbering is consistent: 0 is WAN (vlan2), and 1-4 are LAN (vlan1).

This is not the case for my RT-AC56U: for port.vlans set of variables WAN is 0, and LAN is 1-4; while for vlan.ports set of variables WAN is 4, and LAN is 0-3. This has never been the case for the two routers I have had in the past (RT-N16 and WL-520gU).

Taking this reversal into account, the config seems to work (I connected a machine with a static IP to the new VLAN, and it is reachable there).

Also, I do not know what "5u" means (I mean, what is the suffix "u" for). Untagged?

Should we open a bug for this?
luscinius
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Mar 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Can anyone who has this router or RT-AC68U which is said to be similar (or maybe some relatively novel Broadcom ARM based one) confirm this is the case for them? Is it an expected behavior?
luscinius
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 11 Mar 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 6:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
It works for me with these settings:
Code:

port5vlans=1 2 3 16
port3vlans=1 18 19 21
port1vlans=3 18 19 21
port4vlans=1 18 19 21
port2vlans=1 18 19 21
port0vlans=2 18 19 21

Code:

vlan2ports=4 5u
vlan3ports=3 5
vlan1ports=0 1 2 5*

It seems that the port numbering is indeed mutually reversed in these two sets of variables...
Per Yngve Berg
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 13 Aug 2013
Posts: 5964
Location: Romerike, Norway

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 7:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
The first set is for displaying the GUI.
The second set configures the ports on the router.
The port numbering is dependant on the chip present in the router. The number in the first set will always have the same numbering as it's only displaying the VLAN page in the GUI.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum