TP-Link Archer C7 (ac1750)

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 146, 147, 148  Next
Author Message
NeoMatrixJR
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 20:14    Post subject: Re: Flashing - Answer to most questions Reply with quote
Here's a couple of extra steps:
If you're DSL and running passthrough:
1.) Get your PPPoE username and Password!!!
2.) After step 3 below: enter the following:
Code:

uci set network.wan.proto=pppoe
uci set network.wan.username='<username>'
uci set network.wan.password='<password>'
uci commit network
ifup wan

For anyone - if LUCI doesn't work @ step 6 below:
1.) telnet back in.
2.) enter this:
Code:

# /etc/init.d/uhttpd enable
# /etc/init.d/uhttpd start



jonrob70 wrote:
Hi all,

I decided to give dd-wrt a try on my C7 v2. I was able to successfully flash to dd-wrt and back to stock factory firmware. These are my steps:

**IF YOU ARE NEW TO THE FIRMWARE FLASHING GAME, I HIGHLY DISCOURAGE FOLLOWING THESE STEPS. PROCEED WITH CAUTION**

Flashing to DD-WRT from factory stock

1. RESET TO FACTORY DEFAULTS. DO NOT SKIP THIS STEP.
2. Flash the openwrt firmware like normal through the web interface. Obtain openwrt from here
3. After flashing, telnet into your router at 192.168.0.1 (some cases, it can be 192.168.1.1)
4. Install LUCI using the command "opkg update; opkg install luci" without the quotes
5. Run command "passwd root" without the quotes to set the root password.
6. Open your web browser to 192.168.0.1 (some cases, 192.168.1.1) and login using the root password you just set
7. Find firmware upgrade page (under system tab), and select factory-to-ddwrt.bin and uncheck Keep Settings
8. Flash image
9. Reboot the router after about 2 minutes (I'd wait more just to be safe!)
10. Open your browser to 192.168.1.1 and profit!

Flashing to factory stock from DD-WRT

1. Download stock firmware 131217 from here
2. Unzip the archive
3. (Assuming you are running on Linux/Mac) open terminal and cd to the directory where you extracted the firmware.
4. Run "dd if=ArcherC7v2_en_3_13_34_up_boot(131217).bin of=tplink.bin skip=257 bs=512" without the quotes, assuming you downloaded the linked firmware image. This should create a new file named "tplink.bin" THIS STEP IS IMPORTANT OR YOU WILL BRICK YOUR ROUTER
5. Upload the new tplink.bin to /tmp. Find a way to do it. I used a webserver and used wget to download the file into the /tmp folder. You can try using SSH since you're still on DD-WRT, but do not ask me how. Use Google for that.
6. In terminal, telnet 192.168.1.1
7. cd to /tmp
8. Run "mtd -r write tplink.bin linux" without the quotes. This process can take about 2 minutes, but may take up to 5. You'll see the command flashing between "e" and "w" As long as you see this, you're in good standing.
9. Your router will reboot when finished and you'll be at stock firmware. I would recommend doing a factory reset to be safe Smile

I followed these exact steps on my own Archer C7 V2 and all worked with success.
Sponsor
Lude
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 27 Mar 2014
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 1:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has anyone tried this? ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2014/06-23-2014-r24461/tplink_archer-c7-v2/
Queiroz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Guará - SP - Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 18:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sup guys.

My Archer C7 V2 arrived today and i would like to know if i really need to install LUCI using telnet to be able to flash the DD WRT FW available?

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2014/06-23-2014-r24461/tplink_archer-c7-v2/factory-to-ddwrt.bin

This is the right custom FW for me? I`ve been using the DD WRT with my Cisco Linksys for the past couple years and i would to stick with it with my new router, what do i have to do to flash this FW? any tricks?

Thanks.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7423
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 19:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Queiroz wrote:
Sup guys.

My Archer C7 V2 arrived today and i would like to know if i really need to install LUCI using telnet to be able to flash the DD WRT FW available?

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2014/06-23-2014-r24461/tplink_archer-c7-v2/factory-to-ddwrt.bin

This is the right custom FW for me? I`ve been using the DD WRT with my Cisco Linksys for the past couple years and i would to stick with it with my new router, what do i have to do to flash this FW? any tricks?

Thanks.


luci..? this isnt openwrt & yes thats the right fw

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ------> r45741 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45741 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r45741 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45741 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r44901 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
Queiroz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Guará - SP - Brazil

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 22:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:

luci..? this isnt openwrt & yes thats the right fw


Code: Error code: -1
Error occurred, please try again.

Oh i thought i would need that to install the DD-WRT FW because i'm getting the error described above.

Firmware Version:
3.13.34 Build 131217 Rel.60903n
Hardware Version:
Archer C7 v2 00000000

I did reset the router before trying to install the FW but it did not work.

What should i do?

Thank you!!
zfactor
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 15 Nov 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 23:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
i see firmware listed in the beta section as well as the brainslayer folder. can someone direct me to where the correct most current firmware is for this?

and is there any major known issues still? are both bands working with both the 20 and 40 wide on 2.4? is it stable enough for a every day router at this point? the stock firmware imo stinks and i would love to get ddwrt on this thing.

thank you very much in advance.
Queiroz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Guará - SP - Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 0:21    Post subject: Re: Flashing - Answer to most questions Reply with quote
NeoMatrixJR wrote:
Here's a couple of extra steps:
If you're DSL and running passthrough:
1.) Get your PPPoE username and Password!!!
2.) After step 3 below: enter the following:
Code:

uci set network.wan.proto=pppoe
uci set network.wan.username='<username>'
uci set network.wan.password='<password>'
uci commit network
ifup wan

For anyone - if LUCI doesn't work @ step 6 below:
1.) telnet back in.
2.) enter this:
Code:

# /etc/init.d/uhttpd enable
# /etc/init.d/uhttpd start


Sup mate, could you help me, please?

My DSL modem is set to bridge mode, my old router Cisco E900 was using pppoe with user+password

Do i have to change my modem to pppoe to be able to download and install Luci on new router using openwrt?
Queiroz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Guará - SP - Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I don't know what went wrong here... anyone could help me please?

I've installed the DD-WRT following jonrob70 tutorial but unfortunately when i try to log in the FW through 192.168.1.1 it just flashes a black screen with luci then it tells me that it failed to load the page and the address is like this: http://192.168.1.1/cgi-bin/luci

I went back into the router using telnet and it appears that the FW installed..

DD-WRT v24-sp2 std (c) 2014 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 06/23/14 (SVN revision: 24461)

DD-WRT login:


BusyBox v1.22.1 (2014-06-23 10:14:07 CEST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

I was able to log in but what should i do?

root@DD-WRT:~# help
Built-in commands:
------------------
. : [ [[ alias bg break cd chdir command continue echo eval exec
exit export false fg getopts hash help history jobs kill let
local printf pwd read readonly return set shift source test times
trap true type ulimit umask unalias unset wait

Any help would be highly appreciated! I'm in the last part here!! please

Thank you!!
Queiroz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Guará - SP - Brazil

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Everything looks good so far!!

It was just a bug with my browser cache Laughing

I was worried sick about this.. I've had 2 old routers with dd-wrt but never had to use openwrt with several commands to install the custom firmware!!


Router name: DD-WRT
Model: TPLINK ARCHER-C7 v2
Firmware version DD-WRT: v24-sp2 (06/23/14) std - build 24461
Kernel Version: Linux 3.10.44 #11025 Mon Jun 23 10:12:56 CEST 2014 mips

Thanks for all the help!!

God bless you all!!
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7423
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Queiroz wrote:
I don't know what went wrong here... anyone could help me please?

I've installed the DD-WRT following jonrob70 tutorial but unfortunately when i try to log in the FW through 192.168.1.1 it just flashes a black screen with luci then it tells me that it failed to load the page and the address is like this: http://192.168.1.1/cgi-bin/luci

I went back into the router using telnet and it appears that the FW installed..

DD-WRT v24-sp2 std (c) 2014 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 06/23/14 (SVN revision: 24461)

DD-WRT login:


BusyBox v1.22.1 (2014-06-23 10:14:07 CEST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

I was able to log in but what should i do?

root@DD-WRT:~# help
Built-in commands:
------------------
. : [ [[ alias bg break cd chdir command continue echo eval exec
exit export false fg getopts hash help history jobs kill let
local printf pwd read readonly return set shift source test times
trap true type ulimit umask unalias unset wait

Any help would be highly appreciated! I'm in the last part here!! please

Thank you!!


try the following from telnet,

"erase nvram"
"reboot"

without quotes

_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9882 ------> r45741 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45741 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r45741 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45741 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r44901 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
cocowalla
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jul 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 11:05    Post subject: Slow AC Speeds Reply with quote
Using the instructions in this thread, I've got this firmware (ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2014/06-23-2014-r24461/tplink_archer-c7-v2/factory-to-ddwrt.bin) applied and it seems to be working OK.

Wireless 'n' speeds are great - Windows reports a connection rate of about 300Mbps, and I get about 80Mbps in real-world usage. Pleased with that.

It's a different story with 'ac' speeds though. Windows reports a connection rate of about 600Mbps, but I only get about 30Mbps in real-world usage Sad

Here are my settings for 5GHz:

Mode: Mixed
Channel Width: VHT (80+80 MHz)
Wireless Channel: 36

Note that if I change any of these, it seems I can't connect at all.

Any idea what could be wrong?
ericscicluna
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jul 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 22:14    Post subject: Error code: -1 when flashing Archer C7 V2 :( Reply with quote
Please help .... any idea why am I getting the following error when I try to flash my V2 ARCHER C7 With DD-WRT ??

Error : "Error code: -1"
Queiroz
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Location: Guará - SP - Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 0:18    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sup guys.

I'm trying to share my printer through the network, using the USB1 behind the ARCHER C7 V2, but unfortunately i'm kinda lost here. Do i need to install Optware to be able to enable it?

When i try the following command on SSH it shows:

dmesg | grep usb

<6>[ 1759.670000] usb usb2: Product: Atheros AR91xx built-in EHCI controller
<6>[ 1759.670000] usb usb2: Manufacturer: Linux 3.10.44 ehci_hcd
<6>[ 1759.680000] usb usb2: SerialNumber: platform
<6>[ 1759.840000] usb 1-1: new high-speed USB device number 2 using ar71xx-ehci
<6>[ 1759.990000] usb 1-1: New USB device found, idVendor=0924, idProduct=3d6c
<6>[ 1759.990000] usb 1-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
<6>[ 1760.000000] usb 1-1: Product: Phaser 6000B
<6>[ 1760.010000] usb 1-1: Manufacturer: Xerox
<6>[ 1760.010000] usb 1-1: SerialNumber: YXL125235
<6>[ 1760.020000] usbip-host 1-1:1.0: 1-1 is not in match_busid table... skip!
<6>[ 1760.100000] usblp 1-1:1.0: usblp0: USB Bidirectional printer dev 2 if 0 alt 0 proto 2 vid 0x0924 pid 0x3D6C
<6>[ 1760.110000] usbcore: registered new interface driver usblp
<6>[12609.160000] usb 1-1: USB disconnect, device number 2
<6>[12609.170000] usblp0: removed

That means that the Printer was found on USB 1 and its on USBLP0 folder?

What do i have to do to be able to fix this? Thanks for any help in advance!!

Kind Regards,
Queiroz
moosefist
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Jan 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 14:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
How does this build fair over the stock firmware? Is it stable for day to day? Is anything important not working?
ganon11000
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 24 Dec 2013
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 14:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
^+1
Is the current build stable (and does it have samba storage sharing)?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 146, 147, 148  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 7 of 148
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum