WNDR4500 (N900) supported?

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 61, 62, 63 ... 94, 95, 96  Next
Author Message
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 6:31    Post subject: Re: High pings, then normal, then high again ? Reply with quote
bercy46 wrote:
Hi,

I was hoping Kong (or anyone else) could help me out here.

I have a WNDR4500 with DD-WRT v24-sp2 (04/08/14) kongac
(SVN revision 23885M) installed.

I've noticed that if I test my pings for about 15 minutes straight, I will get high pings (like over 1500 ms) for a while (30 seconds, sometimes up to 3 minutes), then it will go back to normal, and this cycle will repeat...

When I plug my laptop directly into my cable modem, it's very stable.

How can I troubleshoot this ? Are there settings in the admin I should check ?

Thanks for any insight.


Try this, logon via ssh/telnet and run these commands:

nvram set et_dispatch_mode=0
nvram commit
reboot

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
Sponsor
bercy46
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Oct 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 13:00    Post subject: Re: High pings, then normal, then high again ? Reply with quote
<Kong> wrote:
bercy46 wrote:
Hi,

I was hoping Kong (or anyone else) could help me out here.

I have a WNDR4500 with DD-WRT v24-sp2 (04/08/14) kongac
(SVN revision 23885M) installed.

I've noticed that if I test my pings for about 15 minutes straight, I will get high pings (like over 1500 ms) for a while (30 seconds, sometimes up to 3 minutes), then it will go back to normal, and this cycle will repeat...

When I plug my laptop directly into my cable modem, it's very stable.

How can I troubleshoot this ? Are there settings in the admin I should check ?

Thanks for any insight.


Try this, logon via ssh/telnet and run these commands:

nvram set et_dispatch_mode=0
nvram commit
reboot


Tks. Is this a one-time fix, or should I issue those commands periodically ? if so, how often ?
jekku0966
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 18 Jun 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 15:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have 350/20 internet and I can only get ~100/15 when using dd-wrt.

This is what I get with DD-WRT:


And this is the speed I should get:


I can get normal speeds with the factory firmware but it so unconfigurable compared to DD-WRT.

What can I do to make the wan port work properly?

I've done no alterations to the configurations. Using build 24160 from Kong's site.
wogeboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 20:04    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi all.. New here but a long time lurker.
I also have a wndr4500 v1 and am running dd-wrtv24sp2 Build 23900m.
I see a new build out (june7) build 24200- v24_k3_AC _new (and old).
Does it make any difference if I use new or old file?
Just dont want to screw things up.
(upgrade firmware thru the dd-wrt interface at login 192.168.1.1 etc)
THX Smile
slidermike
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1487
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 20:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Just like all other routers running non-stock firmware, you are probably seeing the result of not having CTF. A feature that is in the proprietary kernel to allow faster packet processing.
As a result, ALL non-stock firmware is forced to send every packet to the router cpu for processing.
The limitation there is the performance of your cpu (horsepower).
We who have the R7000 have a faster cpu but are still limited to what it can do vs. stock firmware.

If its max speed, go stock. If its features then chose dd-wrt or other 3rd party firmware.

A user on the Netgear forums gives a decent explanation here.
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=88127&page=3
jekku0966 wrote:
I have 350/20 internet and I can only get ~100/15 when using dd-wrt.

What can I do to make the wan port work properly?

_________________
Router currently owned:
Netgear R7800 - Router
Netgear R7000 - AP mode

R7000 specific Tips/Tricks.
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=264152
neptune_
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Aug 2013
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 21:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
wogeboy wrote:
Hi all.. New here but a long time lurker.
I also have a wndr4500 v1 and am running dd-wrtv24sp2 Build 23900m.
I see a new build out (june7) build 24200- v24_k3_AC _new (and old).
Does it make any difference if I use new or old file?
Just dont want to screw things up.
(upgrade firmware thru the dd-wrt interface at login 192.168.1.1 etc)
THX Smile


I suggest upgrading to 24200; it patches a critical openssl vulnerability.
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 21:52    Post subject: Re: High pings, then normal, then high again ? Reply with quote
bercy46 wrote:
<Kong> wrote:
bercy46 wrote:
Hi,

I was hoping Kong (or anyone else) could help me out here.

I have a WNDR4500 with DD-WRT v24-sp2 (04/08/14) kongac
(SVN revision 23885M) installed.

I've noticed that if I test my pings for about 15 minutes straight, I will get high pings (like over 1500 ms) for a while (30 seconds, sometimes up to 3 minutes), then it will go back to normal, and this cycle will repeat...

When I plug my laptop directly into my cable modem, it's very stable.

How can I troubleshoot this ? Are there settings in the admin I should check ?

Thanks for any insight.


Try this, logon via ssh/telnet and run these commands:

nvram set et_dispatch_mode=0
nvram commit
reboot


Tks. Is this a one-time fix, or should I issue those commands periodically ? if so, how often ?


No this is the default setting, by default we optimize pings, if you set it to 1 it will optimize for wan-lan throughput.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
wogeboy
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 Jun 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 22:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
neptune_ wrote:
wogeboy wrote:
Hi all.. New here but a long time lurker.
I also have a wndr4500 v1 and am running dd-wrtv24sp2 Build 23900m.
I see a new build out (june7) build 24200- v24_k3_AC _new (and old).
Does it make any difference if I use new or old file?
Just dont want to screw things up.
(upgrade firmware thru the dd-wrt interface at login 192.168.1.1 etc)
THX Smile


I suggest upgrading to 24200; it patches a critical openssl vulnerability.


Thanks... will do it now (try the NEW driver version)
dacman61
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2007
Posts: 99
Location: Buckhannon, West Virginia, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 23:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
This may be slightly off topic but it has to do with the Netgear WNDR4500.

I just successfully soldered some pins onto the WNDR4500 mainboard and connected a USB-TTL adapter to it. Here are my results:

Quote:
Decompressing...done


CFE for WNDR4500 version: v1.0.3
Build Date: Thu Jul 21 19:28:03 CST 2011
Init Arena
Init Devs.
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
Found an ST compatible serial flash with 32 64KB blocks; total size 2MB
Found a Samsung NAND flash with 2048B pages or 128KB blocks; total size 128MB
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 5.100.138
CPU type 0x19749: 600MHz
Tot mem: 131072 KBytes

Device eth0: hwaddr 84-1B-5E-E0-08-11, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
gateway not set, nameserver not set
load default!
Decompressing...done


CFE for WNDR4500 version: v1.0.3
Build Date: Thu Jul 21 19:28:03 CST 2011
Init Arena
Init Devs.
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
Found an ST compatible serial flash with 32 64KB blocks; total size 2MB
Found a Samsung NAND flash with 2048B pages or 128KB blocks; total size 128MB
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 5.100.138
CPU type 0x19749: 600MHz
Tot mem: 131072 KBytes

Committing NVRAM...done
Waiting for reset button release...


==========

I'm not pressing the reset button at all, but this message makes me believe that the reset button is broken and stuck on. When I press the reset button it still makes that slight click sound. What do you think?
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7217
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 23:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've gotten a few of those off eBay. Unless it gets supported by some variant of jtag, it's toast.
_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
dacman61
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2007
Posts: 99
Location: Buckhannon, West Virginia, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 23:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
Do you think if I de-solder the reset button, that it could work?
dacman61
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Oct 2007
Posts: 99
Location: Buckhannon, West Virginia, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 0:01    Post subject: Reply with quote
Well I removed the reset button, and still end up with the same result. Super bummed. Sad I don't know what else to try.
Malachi
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 17 Jul 2012
Posts: 7217
Location: Columbus, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2014 0:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
I had already tried that also.
Only thing you can do is wait. Like me.

_________________
I am far from a guru, I'm barely a novice.
ere109
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Feb 2009
Posts: 76
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2014 16:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
I installed 24200 OLD without any trouble. To help eliminate trouble, I ran "erase NVRAM," did a 30-30-30 reset, upgraded (from 23900), then did another 30-30-30 reset.
So far, I've configured my basic setup, created a mixed 2.4ghz wifi, created an N-only 5ghz with the same name, created a guest network following Kong's directions, and created three static IP's.
I'm not going to start VPN, enable USB, or turn on UPNP or QOS until this has successfully run for a week without any reboots. Then I'll slowly add one item at a time, until I get back to my optimum configuration - hopefully my gremlin is gone. If not, at least I'll be able to identify what module it's starting in.
ere109
DD-WRT User


Joined: 23 Feb 2009
Posts: 76
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 20:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've been running 24200 for ten days now without a hiccup. Gonna start making incremental changes to my configuration.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 61, 62, 63 ... 94, 95, 96  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 62 of 96
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum