WL-500gP bricked: Power LED blinking, no Ping

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
dude69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 12:48    Post subject: WL-500gP bricked: Power LED blinking, no Ping Reply with quote
Hi folks!

After months of perfect service, my Asus running dd-wrt didnt supply IP Adresses to new clients (as dhcp server stopped). As i was in a hurry, i just rebooted the device - but unfortunately it didnt come up again :-(

When powering, the Power-LED keeps blinking, LAN-Ports LEDs are flashing/lightening as supposed when a cable is connected. I can't ping the box (with fixed, static IP) - even not during boot-up.

I tried the shortcut pin 9 - method as described on another thread - no chance.

As i cannot ping the router, i cant fix it via tftp or recovery-tool.

Any ideas are VERY appreciated :)

Thx, Dude
Sponsor
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 13:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
did u try to reset the device?

if it doesnt work bring the device to recovery mode and load the firmware again with the asus recovery tool.

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
dude69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 14:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sure... but resetting seems to have no effect at all: The device keeps blinking its power-LED and no pings are beeing returned...
(tried resetting while in power as well as during connecting to power... 10secs, 30 secs whatever: no change of the state)
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 17:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
I bricked my Premium several times but was always able to unbrick it by using the shortcut trick. The last time, however, this didn't work.

I don't know how to connect a jtag to the Premium and as far as I know not anyone else on this forum.

It seems one can access the router using its serial interface. However, the problem with the serial interface is that it works on TTL-level, which is 5 Volt. The RS-232 interface works @ 12 Volt. Therefore you need a Serial to TTL-converter.

http://www.tildesign.nl/rs232_ttl_converter-20107101P2N
http://www.tildesign.nl/track/content/downloads/rs232_ttl_converter_schematic_and_layout.pdf
http://www.tildesign.nl/track/content/downloads/icl3221_datasheet.pdf

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)


Last edited by frater on Tue May 29, 2007 22:39; edited 1 time in total
Sash
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 17638
Location: Hesse/Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 20:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
frater wrote:
I bricked my Premium several times but was always able to unbrick it by using the shortcut trick. The last time, however, this didn't work.

I don't know how to connect a jtag to the Premium and as far as I know not anyone else on this forum.

It seems one can access the router using its serial interface. However, the problem with the serial interface is that it works on TTL-level, which is 5 Volt. The RS-232 interface works @ 12 Volt. Therefore you need a Serial to TTL-converter.

http://www.tildesign.nl/rs232_ttl_converter-20107101P2N
http://www.tildesign.nl/track/content/downloads/rs232_ttl_converter_schematic_and_layout.pdf
http://www.tildesign.nl/track/content/downloads/icl3221_datasheet.pdf[/url]


hmmm....

before doin the shortening trick through the router out of the window cause shortening is the best way to destroy it.

use the recovery mode it works fine with the asus devices and there is no risk 4 damage!

_________________
Forum Guidelines...How to get help
&
Forum Rules
&
RTFM/STFW
&
Throw some buzzwords into the WIKI search Exclamation
_________________
I'm NOT rude, just offer pure facts!
_________________
Atheros (TP-Link & Clones, etc ) debrick service in EU
_________________
Guide on HowTo be Safe, Secure and Protect Your Online Anonymity!
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 22:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
Dude69 clearly stated that his router couldn't be revived using the recovery tool.
This according to my own experience.
When I bought my Premium I had the bad luck to flash it with a bad version of the most current firmware at the time....

I only resorted to shortening if all the rest failed...and it recovered several times this way....

Nowadays I always flash it using the CLI....

Code:
write dd-wrt.bin linux

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
dude69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 8:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
So you say the best chance is to get a RS232/USB to TTL converter to get into the console?
No other, easier way?

Thx, Dude
frater
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 2777

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 18:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
AFAIK this is the only option left....

For a bricked linksys I made myself a jtag last week and that worked like a bliss.
It's a shame that I can't use that cable for my Premium Sad

_________________
Asus RT16N + OTRW
Kingston 4GB USB-disk 128 MB swap + 1.4GB ext3 on /opt + 2 GB ext3 on /mnt
Copperjet 1616 modem in ZipB-config
Asterisk, pixelserv & Pound running on router
Another Asus RT16N as WDS-bridge

DD-WRT v24-sp2 vpn (c) 2010 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/16/10 (SVN revision: 15758M)
dude69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu May 31, 2007 6:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
ok... ill start soldering as soon as i have 1 hour spare time for it! thx for the infos! Very Happy
dude69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 8:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi there!

I am afraid, i need further assistance :)

I got this cable here: http://www.ftdichip.com/Products/EvaluationKits/TTL-232R.htm (TTL-232R) and soldered it to the board... i got the functions of the pins from here: http://wiki.openwrt.org/OpenWrtDocs/Hardware/Asus/WL500GP
I soldered ground, RX0 and TX0... ( and even tested switching RX and TX)...

Hyperterminal (using Xon/Xoff on the correct COM6 port of the cable) says that i am connected, but when i power up the router i get this answer (look at the attachment) :-)

Any ideas?



eeek.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  6.21 KB
 Viewed:  26140 Time(s)

eeek.png


Eko
DD-WRT Developer/Maintainer


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 5772

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 8:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
You must set terminal to:
speed: 115200
data: 8 bit
parity: none
stop bits: 1
flow: none
dude69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 8:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
Oh thanks man! Now I am in CFE... now its time to read into more information about further actions... :-)

Code:
CFE version 1.0.37 for BCM947XX (32bit,SP,LE)                                             
Build Date: ¤T 12¤ë 14 15:54:18 CST 2005 (root@localhost.localdomain)                                                                     
Copyright (C) 2000,2001,2002,2003 Broadcom Corporation.                                                       

Initializing Arena                 
Initializing Devices.                     
et0: Broadcom BCM47xx 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Controller 3.90.23.0                                                               
rndis0: Broadcom USB RNDIS Network Adapter (P-t-P)                                                 
CPU type 0x29006: 264MHz                       
Total memory: 33554432 KBytes                             

Total memory used by CFE:  0x80800000 - 0x8089B590 (636304)                                                           
Initialized Data:          0x80831700 - 0x80833DE0 (9952)                                                         
BSS Area:                  0x80833DE0 - 0x80835590 (6064)                                                         
Local Heap:                0x80835590 - 0x80899590 (409600)                                                           
Stack Area:                0x80899590 - 0x8089B590 (8192)                                                         
Text (code) segment:       0x80800000 - 0x80831700 (202496)                                                           
Boot area (physical):      0x0089C000 - 0x008DC000                                                 
Relocation Factor:         I:00000000 - D:00000000                                                 

Device eth0:  hwaddr 00-17-31-DC-08-39, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0                                                                             
        gateway not set, nameserver not set                                           
Null Rescue Flag.                 
Boot program checksum is invalid                               
Hello!! Enter Rescue Mode: (Check error)                                       

Reading :: TFTP Server.                       
Failed.: Timeout occured                       
Reading :: TFTP Server.                       
Failed.: Timeout occured                       
Reading :: TFTP Server.                       
Failed.: Timeout occured                       
Reading :: TFTP Server.
Failed.: Timeout occured
Reading :: TFTP Server.
Failed.: Interrupted
CFE> ls
Invalid command: "ls"
Available commands: rndis, et, nvram, reboot, printdefault, flash, autoboot, bat
ch, go, boot, load, write_block, write, read, save, ping, arp, ifconfig, unseten
v, printenv, setenv, help

*** command status = -1
CFE>


Ill keep up posting updates for other users with the same problem...


Last edited by dude69 on Mon Jun 04, 2007 9:44; edited 1 time in total
dude69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 9:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Update: Still no idea how I can get a new firmware onto the device... tftp server cycles endless with timeouts on the console... - i cant pint the box from external or internal. But when I try the recoverytool, at least the cycling messages are disrupted:
Code:
Failed.: Timeout occured
Reading :: TFTP Server.
Device eth0:  hwaddr 00-17-31-DC-08-39, ipaddr 192.168.1.49, mask 255.255.255.0
        gateway not set, nameserver not set
Failed.: Timeout occured
Reading :: TFTP Server.
Failed.: Timeout occured

Note: The IP of the box running the discoverytool is 192.168.1.5 ??
dude69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 9:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Update: Tried Olegs hint written in this thread:
http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=7102

No change... but at least no complete breakdown like it happend to JohnS@...
Code:
CFE> nvram erase
*** command status = 0
CFE> flash -offset=65536 flash.os flash0.os
Reading flash.os: Invalid file name flash.os: Device not found
*** command status = -6
dude69
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Feb 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 10:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
At least the eth0 interface is beeing initialized... but it seems not working?

Quote:
CFE> ifconfig
Device eth0: hwaddr 00-17-31-DC-08-39, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
gateway not set, nameserver not set
*** command status = 0
CFE> ping 192.168.1.1
192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) is not responding (seq=0)
192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1): 1 packets sent, 0 received
*** command status = 1
CFE> ping 127.0.0.1
127.0.0.1 (127.0.0.1) is not responding (seq=0)
127.0.0.1 (127.0.0.1): 1 packets sent, 0 received
*** command status = 1


As there seems to be a problem with the LAN - card eth0... is there a way to transfer the image via serial cable or WAN interface?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum