Netgear R7000

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 78, 79, 80 ... 269, 270, 271  Next
Author Message
Magnetron1.1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Nov 2010
Posts: 278
Location: North America

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
Actually the FQDN trailing "." is usually implied. When a DNS server receives a request to resolve an FQDN to an IP address without the trailing "." , the server automatically adds it before scanning it's tables. It's not incorrect to specify the trailing ".".

Here are a couple of references: (The second reference gives the best explanation.)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fully_qualified_domain_name
http://www.actnowdomains.com/fully-qualified-domain-names-on-the-net.htm

As an experiment, point your browser to en.wikipedia.org. or www.dd-wrt.com. and see what happens.

When software scans a FQDN string, it should be prepared to deal with a trailing ".".

Magnetron1.1
Sponsor
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 7:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Magnetron1.1 wrote:
It's not incorrect to specify the trailing ".".



It is incorrect according to RFC1035, there should always be a label (ascii name) after a dot. Razz

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Magnetron1.1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Nov 2010
Posts: 278
Location: North America

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
Magnetron1.1 wrote:
It's not incorrect to specify the trailing ".".



It is incorrect according to RFC1035, there should always be a label (ascii name) after a dot. Razz


RFC1035 specifies that a label field can not exceed 63 bytes but in the rightmost position it can be zero bytes in length according to RFC1034. The domain names are hierarchically structured similar to Linux/Unix where "/" is the top node in the directory structure and "/bin" and "/sbin", etc. are sub-directories. In DNS, the "." is the root or top node in the hierarchy and ".com" and ".gov", etc. are substructures. Since the rightmost label is zero bytes in length, it's not necessary to use the trailing "." as it is implied.

- Magnetron1.1
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7027
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 13:19    Post subject: Reply with quote
the problem is, we have to deal with such isp's. no matter if its correct or not
_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
tonijjj
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 25 Jan 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 13:27    Post subject: Guest network and Up/Down QoS Reply with quote
Hi,

I just got my Nightwish, and have some mixed feelings. After being away from customization due to an Airport Extreme, Im now back.

Naturally, I glanced at DD-WRT after checking out the stock FW. However, there are two questions that come into mind:

1. Doesnt DD-WRT really have a "guest network" feature, like the stock FW? There its setup in 10 seconds. In DD-WRT, the only guides I found included setting up bridges, extra subnets etc, which is a hazzle. I assume DD-WRT would host such a service since its been around for so long?

2. The stock FW include a Up and Down QoS feature, prioritizing DLNA media etc before downloads automatically, I guess with some give rules. Does this FW has that same feature as well? Or do I need to fiddle with some settings beyond "enable" it?

3. Does the DD-WRT utilize all the hardware as the stock FW does? Maybe a stupid question, but hey, we're all new at some point. What Im thinking about is the beaming technology, the new chipset's power, the .ac protocol etc.

Would appreciate any helpful answers.

Thanks!
BrainSlayer
Site Admin


Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 7027
Location: Dresden, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 19:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
in dd-wrt you can create virtual ap's aka guest networks (up to 16) since 2006. you can use it as client, as repeater. dd-wrt is much more flexible here, so calling it guest network would be too simple. its up to you how you configure your guest network. and yes we have QOS, for sure we have a dlna server, ftp server samba server and countless other features. (if your hardware has anough flash space).
but whats supported and possible depends clearly on the device you own.

and we use the full hardware spec, in face even more than the original firmware does. especially the wireless chipset can do much more than the vendor is unlocking to you. especially atheros based devices offer a great flexibility here.

_________________
"So you tried to use the computer and it started smoking? Sounds like a Mac to me.." - Louis Rossmann https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eL_5YDRWqGE&t=60s
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 19:52    Post subject: Re: Guest network and Up/Down QoS Reply with quote
tonijjj wrote:
Hi,


1. Doesnt DD-WRT really have a "guest network" feature, like the stock FW? There its setup in 10 seconds. In DD-WRT, the only guides I found included setting up bridges, extra subnets etc, which is a hazzle. I assume DD-WRT would host such a service since its been around for so long?

Thanks!


Not sure if you know it by now, but a few minutes time reading this thread would have probably answered your questions already.

E.g. guest wireless:

http://tips.desipro.de/2013/12/06/guest-wifi-setup-dd-wrt/

Probably tomorrow comes a new build which allows isolated guest networks to browse the internet while transparent proxy for adblocking is enabled.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
GPz1100
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jan 2014
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here's a slightly more detailed guide on configuring a guest network.

http://www.alexlaird.com/2013/03/dd-wrt-guest-wireless/
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 21:56    Post subject: Reply with quote
GPz1100 wrote:
Here's a slightly more detailed guide on configuring a guest network.

http://www.alexlaird.com/2013/03/dd-wrt-guest-wireless/


That guide is good for older builds, where there was basically no real guest support, since I changed a lot of code, including firewall rules etc. that guide should not be followed on builds > 23020.

It is as simple as in my guide and if you do not follow it, than don't come and whine if something is not working.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
GPz1100
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jan 2014
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 22:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kong, thanks for the heads up. Don't want to add more confusion Smile
KhMeRA
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 23:33    Post subject: Login failed Reply with quote
Sorry if it's been asked before but I couldn't find it.

This is my second routers which have the same problem, the first one I was be able to return but this one is too late. I follow Kong's instruction to reverse back to stock. The flashing process was successfully complete but after it reversed back to stock firmware, the default log in admin/password is not working even I do 30/30/30 reset.
Please help..
<Kong>
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 4339
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2014 23:53    Post subject: Re: Login failed Reply with quote
KhMeRA wrote:
Sorry if it's been asked before but I couldn't find it.

This is my second routers which have the same problem, the first one I was be able to return but this one is too late. I follow Kong's instruction to reverse back to stock. The flashing process was successfully complete but after it reversed back to stock firmware, the default log in admin/password is not working even I do 30/30/30 reset.
Please help..


Yeah that stupid 30/30/30. I already said it multiple times on newer units build in the last 2 years this is not the way to do it:-)

On the R7000 it is done differently. I think it is power on, right after power on, press reset button for 10s, release it. Did you checkout netgear manual, does it tell you how to reset, remember, you flashed back to netgear, thus don't use their way of resetting.

_________________
KONG PB's: http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt/
KONG Info: http://tips.desipro.de/
NiTrus
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 295
Location: Twin Cities, MN

PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 0:10    Post subject: Reply with quote
THX Kong!!


Capture.PNG
 Description:
 Filesize:  4.58 KB
 Viewed:  11238 Time(s)

Capture.PNG



_________________
NETGEAR R9000 | RT | 40134
NETGEAR R7800 | AP | 40134

mchaney
DD-WRT User


Joined: 26 Apr 2013
Posts: 389

PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 0:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just updated to 23430 and noticed the unit did not reboot on its own after the update like it usually does. It looked like it was going to but then it hung with the power light glowing amber and no access. I turned it off and back on and now it seems to be working normally. Just thought I'd mention it. I chose the update with no reset. It's always completed a boot before when doing that so I figured you might want to know.

Mike
KhMeRA
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jan 26, 2014 0:29    Post subject: Thank you Reply with quote
I got it working now. During routing running, press and hold reset switch for 5-8 seconds.

Thanks
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 78, 79, 80 ... 269, 270, 271  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 79 of 271
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum