Bricked WRT54GL

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
Spc.
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Mar 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 13:34    Post subject: Bricked WRT54GL Reply with quote
Hi,
A friend of mine bricked his router.
He said that he mistakenly uploaded wrong nvram to his WRT54GL v1.1. (restore settings).


When i turn on the unit power led flashes and the swich (1,2,3,4) led's light on and stay that way.
I can't ping anything because switch is not working.

Any ideas how to unbrick it ?

thanks.
Sponsor
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12676

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 13:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
See the peacock announcement, note 6 for steps, info, and links.
_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 15:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Back in the day, I did the exact same thing with my 1st GL.

This is the exact reason you never restore a config backup from any other router, or build.

If all you lan lights are on (as mine were), you can only resurect the router using either jtag ore serial. I used jtag to erase nvram.

Depending on exactly what setting fubared the router, serial may not work.

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Spc.
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Mar 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 15:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
barryware wrote:
Back in the day, I did the exact same thing with my 1st GL.

This is the exact reason you never restore a config backup from any other router, or build.

If all you lan lights are on (as mine were), you can only resurect the router using either jtag ore serial. I used jtag to erase nvram.

Depending on exactly what setting fubared the router, serial may not work.

Yep.
Switch is basicly dead because it doesn't even work (if i connect it to pc, pc doesn't even link up on network card).

Now i need to make a JTAG connector.
is JTAG parallel port only ?

I get this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kro_rU3jcZs
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12676

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 15:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
Murrkf wrote:
See the peacock announcement, note 6 for steps, info, and links.

_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
Spc.
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Mar 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 15:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Murrkf wrote:
Murrkf wrote:
See the peacock announcement, note 6 for steps, info, and links.

Did that.
Wink

It's only possible to do it by JTAG i am sure of it.
So i need to get LPT cable and some resistors to help my friend.

btw that peacock announcement is very helpful and nice.
Spc.
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Mar 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 16:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
So i need serial or parallel connection for WRT54GL v1.1 (mx flash) ?

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Serial_port_pinouts#Linksys_WRT-54G.28S.2CL.29
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12676

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 17:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
The serial port pinouts on the router are for SERIAL RECOVERY (WIKI: Serial Recovery). You connect a proper level shifting ttl adapter from your USB port on a computer to the SERIAL port on the router.

A JTAG connector uses the PARALLEL PORT of your computer connected with a Jtag connector to the JTAG port on a router if your router has a jtag port which a GL DOES have. (WIKI: Jtag)

Both WIKI articles are LINKED in note 6 of the peacock.

I have no idea what you mean by a "MX" flash.

_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
Spc.
DD-WRT User


Joined: 29 Mar 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 18:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
I meant MX29LV320EBTI-70G Flash.
Yea i'll look those up and try to de-brick it using JTAG.

thanks.
barryware
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 13049
Location: Behind The Reset Button

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 18:58    Post subject: Reply with quote
Spc. wrote:
I meant MX29LV320EBTI-70G Flash.
Yea i'll look those up and try to de-brick it using JTAG.

thanks.


all you need to do is erase nvram.. nothing else.

tjtag -erase:nvram /noemw /nocwd

_________________
[Moderator Deleted] Shocked
Oggo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 1:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Sorry to bring this up again.

I have similar problem with WRT54GL v. 1.1 and flash chip MX29LV320EBTI-70G.

It's bricked when by typing mistake I set CPU to 215 MHz instead of 216. After reboot power LED is blinking, DMZ and WLAN are off and all Ethernet and Internet LED are solid on.

When I use "-probeonly /nocwd /noemw" it sticks at "Probing Flash at (Flash Window: 0x1fc00000).

When I use zJTAG with the same commands it says "*** Unknown or NO Flash Chip Detected ***"

Any ideas?
Malitiacurt
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2012
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 8:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
I overclocked a 54GL once to 300MHz. (It was stable at 250, was replacing the unit so decided to try it).

Didn't work. Router reboot looped and didn't respond. Just held the reset for a bit and it worked again.

Not sure if it'll work in your case.
Oggo
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 08 Jan 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 21:28    Post subject: Reply with quote
Tried. It doesn't respond to ping or reset button. I've seen the same scenario on other forums and the recommendation/solution is to clear the NVRAM. So, I'm trying to clear NVRAM using passive (resistors built) JTAG cable.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum