Multiple AP, Identical SSID cannot work. PC cant roam to!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking
Author Message
deepoce
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 5:49    Post subject: Multiple AP, Identical SSID cannot work. PC cant roam to! Reply with quote
Hi all,

Desperately need help here.

I setup Multiple AP, each with Identical wireless SSID and settings. they are all connected via its LAN port back to the same switch.

However I found out the PC will always stick to the same access point and not roaming to the next access point with better signal level.

How can I check whether these AP are in the same roaming network?
Sponsor
Malitiacurt
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Aug 2012
Posts: 190

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:21    Post subject: Reply with quote
To check if the other AP's are available, manually connect to the different AP's from the same location of the PC by turning off AP's.

Roaming is usually a feature/software or driver enabled on client side, not much you can do on router/AP side.
deepoce
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 16:00    Post subject: PC can roam between 3 AP but it cant goes to the fourth AP! Reply with quote
i test by turning ON and OFF. things work fine for there AP running channel 1, 6 and 11 respectively. 4th AP running on channel 1. However when i off all 3 APs, it cant roam to the 4th AP...any other settings?
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 20:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Clients usually roam based on AP signal strength. If you are putting AP's close together then you should lower their transmit power.

For the 4th AP, are you sure it has the same settings? Can clients connect to it if you reboot the AP and the client when the other 3 AP's are off?

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
deepoce
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 5:57    Post subject: Disable NAT on br2 but enable on br1. How? Reply with quote
Thanks for yr kind response!
Encounter few more issues

I have two wifi
Staff-br0 , Guest-br1.

1)If i setup another wifi linked to br2 (17.16.X.X/16), can i disable NAT when traffic going out to br0? which means no NAT for br2, only routing!

currently all traffic from guest wifi (br1-10.1.1.X/24) are NAT when it goes out to br0.
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 9:57    Post subject: Re: Disable NAT on br2 but enable on br1. How? Reply with quote
deepoce wrote:

1)If i setup another wifi linked to br2 (17.16.X.X/16), can i disable NAT when traffic going out to br0? which means no NAT for br2, only routing!

currently all traffic from guest wifi (br1-10.1.1.X/24) are NAT when it goes out to br0.

You will have to set up routing on your main router to know about the new 17.16.0.0/16 subnet if you don't want it NAT'd. You can either do the same for br1 or change the NAT rule to include this: -s 10.1.1.0/24

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
deepoce
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 12 Oct 2013
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Any idea how to modify my current config, so that traffic frm br2 -no NAT? because all traffic going out to br0 (example br1)are now NAT by this command, right?:
iptables -t nat -I POSTROUTING -o br0 -j SNAT --to `nvram get lan_ipaddr`

# Allow br1 access to br0, the WAN, and any other subnets (required if SPI firewall is on)
iptables -I FORWARD -i br1 -m state --state NEW -j ACCEPT
iptables -I FORWARD -p tcp --tcp-flags SYN,RST SYN -j TCPMSS --clamp-mss-to-pmtu

# Restrict br1 from accessing br0's subnet but pass traffic through br0 to the internet (for WAP's - WAN port disabled)
iptables -I FORWARD -i br1 -d `nvram get lan_ipaddr`/`nvram get lan_netmask` -m state --state NEW -j DROP

# Enable NAT for traffic being routed out br0 so that br1 has connectivity (for WAP's - WAN port disabled)
iptables -t nat -I POSTROUTING -o br0 -j SNAT --to `nvram get lan_ipaddr`

# Restrict br1 from accessing the router's local sockets (software running on the router)
iptables -I INPUT -i br1 -m state --state NEW -j DROP

# Allow br1 to access DHCP on the router
iptables -I INPUT -i br1 -p udp --dport 67 -j ACCEPT

# Allow br1 to access DNS on the router
iptables -I INPUT -i br1 -p udp --dport 53 -j ACCEPT
iptables -I INPUT -i br1 -p tcp --dport 53 -j ACCEPT
phuzi0n
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 10143

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 20:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
deepoce wrote:
# Enable NAT for traffic being routed out br0 so that br1 has connectivity (for WAP's - WAN port disabled)
iptables -t nat -I POSTROUTING -o br0 -s 10.1.1.0/24 -j SNAT --to `nvram get lan_ipaddr`

_________________
Read the forum announcements thoroughly! Be cautious if you're inexperienced.
Available for paid consulting. (Don't PM about complicated setups otherwise)
Looking for bricks and spare routers to expand my collection. (not interested in G spec models)
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Advanced Networking All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum