Mounting 3TB hard drive

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
catchvjay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Feb 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:32    Post subject: Mounting 3TB hard drive Reply with quote
Hi Friends,

I have got Linksys E3000 router. I have DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/12/10) std-usb-ftp running on it.

I have configured OTRW using http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Optware%2C_the_Right_Way. I have used 8GB Flash drive for it. Optware is working perfectly fine.

Recently got 3TB external Hard Drive and trying to run it as second USB storage via USB hub. I followed http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=84919&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0 and fixed /opt mount on reboot via startup script provided by Frater. When i am connecting 3TB hard drive, router is detecting it(although showing as 801GB instead of 3TB) but it is not mounting it.

Here are the details.

I have partitioned 3TB harddrive into 2 (1.5TB each). Both are having NTFS.

    root@E3000:~# fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 4081 MB, 4081057792 bytes
    57 heads, 56 sectors/track, 2497 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 3192 * 512 = 1634304 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xd93cbda4

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 613 978320 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 614 927 501144 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda3 928 2497 2505720 83 Linux
    Note: sector size is 4096 (not 512)

    Disk /dev/sdb: 801.6 GB, 801569722368 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 12181 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 4096 = 65802240 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x3b613b8d

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 1 22800 1465126912 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdb2 22801 45600 1465128000 7 HPFS/NTFS


I tried to mount it manually also but no success.

    root@E3000:~# ntfs-3g /dev/sdb1 /tmp/e
    ntfs-3g-mount: fuse device is missing, try 'modprobe fuse' as root
    root@E3000:~# modprobe fuse
    modprobe: cannot parse modules.dep
    root@E3000:~#


When i connect another hard drive of 300GB(having FAT32) it is getting mounted automatically to /tmp/c.

    root@E3000:~# df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    rootfs 3.5M 3.5M 0 100% /
    /dev/root 3.5M 3.5M 0 100% /
    /dev/mtdblock/4 2.9M 196K 2.7M 7% /jffs
    /dev/sda1 941M 368M 526M 42% /opt
    /dev/sdb1 299G 137G 162G 46% /tmp/c
    /dev/sda3 2.4G 68M 2.2G 3% /mnt

    root@E3000:~# fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 4081 MB, 4081057792 bytes
    57 heads, 56 sectors/track, 2497 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 3192 * 512 = 1634304 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xd93cbda4

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 613 978320 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 614 927 501144 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda3 928 2497 2505720 83 Linux

    Disk /dev/sdb: 320.1 GB, 320072932864 bytes
    255 heads, 62 sectors/track, 39540 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 15810 * 512 = 8094720 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xa4b57300

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 1 39541 312568640+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    Note: sector size is 4096 (not 512)

    Disk /dev/sdc: 801.6 GB, 801569722368 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 12181 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 4096 = 65802240 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x3b613b8d

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdc1 1 22800 1465126912 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdc2 22801 45600 1465128000 7 HPFS/NTFS

I checked http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/2331 but couldn't find how to do it.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks,
Vjay.
Sponsor
madman999
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2012
Posts: 1038

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 15:25    Post subject: Reply with quote
my understanding is that DD-WRT can;t mount drives physically greater than 2 TB due to there not being any support for GPUID formatted drives.

Only supports MBR formatted ones(limited to 2 TB and under).

_________________
Please state what make and model router plus the build number and type of DD-WRT you are using. Screen prints and a network diagram can are also helpful. Before you create a new post, use the search function. Chances are your issue has happened to someone else.

Common F.A.Q.
Where can I get the latest test Firmware or older ones?
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt-ren/

Asus RT-N16 on 2.6 Kong 22000M with OTRW2
Asus RT-AC66R on 3.x 28072 Giga
TP-Link Archer C9 on 3.x 28493 STD
catchvjay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Feb 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 16:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has anyone tried this http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/2331?

Regards,
Vjay
madman999
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2012
Posts: 1038

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 17:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
i am on 19519 and it hasn;t worked. haven;t tried anything newer yet but if it did I am sure there would an avalanche of posts to indicate this is working.

so the wait continues.....

_________________
Please state what make and model router plus the build number and type of DD-WRT you are using. Screen prints and a network diagram can are also helpful. Before you create a new post, use the search function. Chances are your issue has happened to someone else.

Common F.A.Q.
Where can I get the latest test Firmware or older ones?
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt-ren/

Asus RT-N16 on 2.6 Kong 22000M with OTRW2
Asus RT-AC66R on 3.x 28072 Giga
TP-Link Archer C9 on 3.x 28493 STD
catchvjay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Feb 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 17:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks for your reply madman.

Regards,
Vjay
gatorback
DD-WRT User


Joined: 04 Feb 2007
Posts: 426
Location: Fountain of Youth

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 21:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
When mounting my 3TB disk to my Archlinux system, it was necessary to ensure that no partition was > 2TB.
_________________
My Routers | RT-N16 Wiki | TMO Cellspot Wiki
Peacock Flashing | Wireless N Conf | Linking Routers |
DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Broadcom FAQ| QoS| OTRW
madman999
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 11 Jun 2012
Posts: 1038

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 21:15    Post subject: Reply with quote
the OP already tried partitioning the drive to under 2TB partitions and it did not work. I did too and no luck under DD-WRT.

Oddly enough I even went as far as formatting the 3 TB Drive with MBR using Ubuntu and then creating partions under it of 1.5 each. Ubuntu could read and write to it but no luck with DD-WRT.

_________________
Please state what make and model router plus the build number and type of DD-WRT you are using. Screen prints and a network diagram can are also helpful. Before you create a new post, use the search function. Chances are your issue has happened to someone else.

Common F.A.Q.
Where can I get the latest test Firmware or older ones?
ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/betas/
http://www.desipro.de/ddwrt-ren/

Asus RT-N16 on 2.6 Kong 22000M with OTRW2
Asus RT-AC66R on 3.x 28072 Giga
TP-Link Archer C9 on 3.x 28493 STD
catchvjay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Feb 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 2:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
I also created two partitions of 1.5TB but no success.
m00nman
DD-WRT User


Joined: 14 Jan 2009
Posts: 406
Location: AB, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 4:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am afraid the problem is not as simple as just enabling GPT as it it would not solve the problem. LBD (large block device) needs to be enabled to support large capacity devices. This will allow to use the device...at all. GPT will let you have a single large partition.

EDIT: NVM, trac issue suggests the same

_________________

Nethear R6300 v2 - Latest Kong dd-wrt always
Linksys E3000 - Latest dd-wrt always
Asus RT-N56U - OpenWRT trunk
ddaddy
DD-WRT User


Joined: 15 Dec 2010
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Although not the same. I had all sorts of problems getting my 2GB HDD working.
The only thing that worked in the end was flashing the KingKong version of dd-wrt.

_________________
Check out my dd-wrt iOS app: http://georiot.co/1Ctw
FREE Trial App: http://geni.us/ddwrtfree
dbhost
DD-WRT User


Joined: 22 Feb 2013
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 1:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
catchvjay wrote:
Has anyone tried this http://svn.dd-wrt.com/ticket/2331?

Regards,
Vjay


Vjay,

According tothe bugtrac ticket you linked, this issue seems to be a closed one with the DD-WRT team Did they ever fix it?
catchvjay
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 22 Feb 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 0:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
I didn't find any solution.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7644

PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2013 7:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
catchvjay wrote:
I didn't find any solution.


The >2TB hard disk problem is fixed so the solution is upgrade your firmware to the latest build.
garpinc
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 03 Jun 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have this firmware dd-wrt.v24-21061_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv60k.bin on e3000 and it doesn't appear to work. Which version has the fix?
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7644

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 14:09    Post subject: Reply with quote
garpinc wrote:
I have this firmware dd-wrt.v24-21061_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv60k.bin on e3000 and it doesn't appear to work. Which version has the fix?


What is it you don't understand with "the latest version" ?
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum