r21286 - wr1043nd & QoS causing reboot

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
out of rules
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 14:05    Post subject: r21286 - wr1043nd & QoS causing reboot Reply with quote
subj
Router instant crash when download speed reaches >1 MB/s. (p2p)

Have tried lowering global max connections (works on r21223 ) , but with r21286 - no results.
QoS Settings:
Sponsor
B@R
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 596
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 15:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Are you sure about 50Mb UPSTREAM?
Check maximum connections in router settings - it must be more, than real needed in your network. Lowering this parameter may impact to router work.
out of rules
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 17:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
B@R wrote:
Are you sure about 50Mb UPSTREAM?

~6 megabyte per second. Why not? Rolling Eyes
Quote:
Check maximum connections in router settings - it must be more, than real needed in your network. Lowering this parameter may impact to router work.


r21223 - >4096 max ports = crash
r21223 - <3072 max ports = stable
r21286 - <>1024 max ports = crash
B@R
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 596
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 17:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
OK, I'm not protesting. Local ISP presents for home users speeds with downstream x10 or more than upstream. I have 30/1.5 Mb/sec and maximum upstream is about 3 Mb/sec for 100 Mb down.

OK, read this tread
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=170870

4096 ports is not enough for you, start from 8192 or more.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7048
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 18:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
The router in question is..? & you do have 49mbps down & up right.. who is your provider? & as a csgo player too you would want to prioritize ack as well.
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[X86-64] Haswell i3-4150/4GB ------> Pending
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41038 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41038 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41038 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
out of rules
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 18:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
thank for your answer
My problem is router instability with QoS.

Quote:
4096 ports is not enough for you, start from 8192 or more.

played with different values 1024-8192, router keep reboots.
Previous buids ( r21223 ) works stable if i set max ports 3072.

Quote:
as a csgo player too you would want to prioritize ack as well.

xmm, does it matter for udp protocol?
B@R
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 596
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 19:24    Post subject: Reply with quote
I'm using this router for 2+ years with QoS and have 3+ MB/sec without any problem.
P.S.
My fault - out is 1500Kbps , not Mbps
Markus
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Aug 2006
Posts: 121
Location: Germany, Bensheim

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 6:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Quote:
played with different values 1024-8192, router keep reboots.


Do me a favor and select SFQ instead of FQ_CODDEL and check if the router also crashes.

Does the router also reboot with these settings but qos disabled?

_________________
Forum Rules
Forum Guidelines...How to get help the right way
out of rules
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 7:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
Markus wrote:

Do me a favor and select SFQ instead of FQ_CODDEL and check if the router also crashes.

Worked fine about 10 min, but crash when i try opening web interface.

Quote:
Does the router also reboot with these settings but qos disabled?

8192 max ports, 5-6 MB/s downloads. no problem
B@R
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 596
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 8:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try set 16K, 32K ports for your speed. If you use P2P very hard, it may be important, IMHO.
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7048
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/ticket/2888
_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S) || Qualcomm Atheros Wi-Fi Settings Guide || Qualcomm Atheros Repeating

[X86-64] Haswell i3-4150/4GB ------> Pending
[QUALCOMM] R7800 -----------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40270M kongat
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41038 std
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41038 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------> DD-WRT v3.0-r41038 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------> DD-WRT v3.0-r40634 std

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
B@R
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 596
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
tatsuya46 wrote:
http://svn.dd-wrt.com:8000/ticket/2888

He has TL-WR1043ND. Me too. No rebooting was seeing.
abelau
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 5:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hi all, I found this thread while searching for a similar behavior I am encountering:

Model: DIR-632a
Tested firmware: r21223 & r21286
Issue:
When QoS is enabled, simultaneously reloading ~25 webpages (using "Reload All Tabs" in Firefox) will cause router to reboot

/proc/sys/net/ipv4/netfilter/ip_conntrack_max is 4096 (default, not changed)
/sys/module/nf_conntrack/parameters/hashsize is 454 (default not changed)

Trying to monitor using "cat /proc/net/ip_conntrack | wc -l", the last data I can get before router reboot is around 2700

With QoS disabled, router will not reboot in the above situation.

Thanks in advanced for any clue on solving the problem
out of rules
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Nov 2010
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 7:45    Post subject: Reply with quote
abelau
hi, use r21223 and try change IP Filter Settings like this:
abelau
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 19 May 2013
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2013 8:34    Post subject: Reply with quote
out of rules wrote:
abelau
hi, use r21223 and try change IP Filter Settings like this:


Thanks for your prompt reply. I just tried using your recommended settings but no luck. The router still reboot when I reload many pages at once.

"cat /proc/net/ip_conntrack | wc -l" last showed 2763 before ssh gets disconnected and router rebooted.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum