RT-N66U recovery - Have UART working, tried TFTP, tried webs

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
nick26
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Dec 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 23:25    Post subject: RT-N66U recovery - Have UART working, tried TFTP, tried webs Reply with quote
Hey Everyone,
I'm trying to installed DD-WRT on my Asus RT-N66U. I've installed it on several other routers before without any problem, so I'm fairly familiar with the whole process and I am a embedded linux developer myself. I followed these instructions, however I think the nvram reset on my system is also like the RT-N16 (use WPS button instead) and I don't think it properly cleared things the first time I tried installing it and now it doesn't seem to want to run normally:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Asus_RT-N66U

Initially I got the mini version (used dd-wrt.v24-18702_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_RT-N66U.trx) installed right from uploading it from the Asus admin page and then when I tried to update to the big version (dd-wrt.v24-18702_NEWD-2_K2.6_big_RT-N66U.trx) it never returned. Now I realize now these might not be the correct versions, but they were linked from the DB, and like I said earlier I don't think my router was clearing nvram correctly (WPS instead of reset needed I believe), so my guess is that is why it failed.

I tried the Asus firware restore tool but it just said the device was not in rescue mode every time I tried (I could ping it fine).

Anyway where I am out now is, I took the plastic off and connected to the UART with a TTL converter and minicom and I can see it boot linux but the DHCP server doesn't work (actually can't even ping it even with a static ip) and it continually prints these errors (I attached the full boot):

Code:
No such device
get_wl_instance doesnt return the right value 0
No such device
get_wl_instance doesnt return the right value 0
No such device
get_wl_instance doesnt return the right value 0
No such device
connect: Network is unreachable
connect: Network is unreachable
connect: Network is unreachable
gethostbyname: Network is unreachable
get_wl_instance doesnt return the right value 0
No such device
get_wl_instance doesnt return the right value 0
No such device
get_wl_instance doesnt return the right value 0
No such device


ifconfig shows this:
Code:
root@DD-WRT:~# root@DD-WRT:~# ifconfig
br0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:20 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:840 (840.0 B)

br0:0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
          inet addr:169.254.255.1  Bcast:169.254.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


I tried the commands "erase nvram" (output: erase[0]erase[131072]) and rebooting it and that didn't seem to matter.

So I decided to see if I can send the file via TFTP myself. I started the Asus TFTP server by holding down the reset button while powering it up. Then I followed these instructions to send the other mini file (http://dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/eko/V24-K26/svn18946/dd-wrt.v24-18946_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_RT-N66U.trx) (since I don't have a clear file for my particular router). FYI I used cygwin tftp, so basically like linux: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Asus_TFTP_Flash

Code:
CFE version 5.100.127 based on BBP 1.0.37 for BCM947XX (32bit,SP,LE)
Build Date: äº<94> 12æ<9c><88>  9 10:10:49 CST 2011 (boyau@localhost.localdomain)
Copyright (C) 2000-2008 Broadcom Corporation.

Init Arena
Init Devs.
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 5.100.127
CPU type 0x19749: 600MHz
Tot mem: 131072 KBytes

CFE mem:    0x80700000 - 0x8079D320 (643872)
Data:       0x807330F0 - 0x807363B0 (12992)
BSS:        0x807363B0 - 0x80737320 (3952)
Heap:       0x80737320 - 0x8079B320 (409600)
Stack:      0x8079B320 - 0x8079D320 (8192)
Text:       0x80700000 - 0x807330E8 (209128)

Device eth0:  hwaddr 10-BF-48-53-0D-70, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
        gateway not set, nameserver not set
Null Rescue Flag.
Hello!! Enter Rescue Mode: (by Force)

Reading :: TFTP Server.
Failed.: Timeout occured
Reading :: TFTP Server.
Failed.: Timeout occured
Reading :: TFTP Server.
Failed.: Timeout occured
Reading :: TFTP Server.
TFTP_BLKLEN!!
Done. 3502080 bytes read
Download of 0x357000 bytes completed
Write kernel and filesystem binary to FLASH
Programming...
copysize=3502080, amtcopy=3502080
done. 3502080 bytes written
Decompressing...done


I waited a few minutes and it didn't do anything else so I power cycled it and tried to do another reset, but still had the same errors.

So then I followed these instructions (http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=63444&start=15) and I am still at the same place.

Code:
CFE version 5.100.127 based on BBP 1.0.37 for BCM947XX (32bit,SP,LE)
Build Date: äº<94> 12æ<9c><88>  9 10:10:49 CST 2011 (boyau@localhost.localdomain)
Copyright (C) 2000-2008 Broadcom Corporation.

Init Arena
Init Devs.
Boot partition size = 262144(0x40000)
et0: Broadcom BCM47XX 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet Controller 5.100.127
CPU type 0x19749: 600MHz
Tot mem: 131072 KBytes

CFE mem:    0x80700000 - 0x8079D320 (643872)
Data:       0x807330F0 - 0x807363B0 (12992)
BSS:        0x807363B0 - 0x80737320 (3952)
Heap:       0x80737320 - 0x8079B320 (409600)
Stack:      0x8079B320 - 0x8079D320 (8192)
Text:       0x80700000 - 0x807330E8 (209128)

Device eth0:  hwaddr 10-BF-48-53-0D-70, ipaddr 192.168.1.1, mask 255.255.255.0
        gateway not set, nameserver not set
Null Rescue Flag.
Hello!! Enter Rescue Mode: (by Force)

Reading :: TFTP Server.
Failed.: Timeout occured
Reading :: TFTP Server.
Failed.: Timeout occured
Reading :: TFTP Server.
Failed.: Timeout occured
Reading :: TFTP Server.
Failed.: Timeout occured
Reading :: TFTP Server.
Failed.: Timeout occured
Reading :: TFTP Server.
Failed.: Timeout occured
Reading :: TFTP Server.
len= 3502080, insize= 3502126, flash_size= 33161216, trx_header= 28

TRX file size = 3502080
httpd_write_flash:: Programming...done. 3502080 bytes writtenýDecompressing...done
tmp_ret= 0


So does anyone know what is still wrong? I've been reading the forums and spinning my wheels on this for hours now. Should I not be using the dd-wrt.v24-18946_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_RT-N66U.trx build? I know I read somewhere I should only be using the K26 build. I have full UART access to the board so tell me what else I can try. Thanks for any help you can give, and thanks to the DD-WRT team for DD-WRT itself!



minicom_capture_bco8_2012-12-17_173035.txt
 Description:
boot/update logs

Download
 Filename:  minicom_capture_bco8_2012-12-17_173035.txt
 Filesize:  40.94 KB
 Downloaded:  923 Time(s)

Sponsor
nick26
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Dec 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 23:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I just realized I still had a tab open I forgot to finish reading ( http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=86437&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=1170 )

I am trying this now and will let you know.
nick26
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Dec 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 21:05    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey everyone, So I upgraded the CFE to 1.0.1.3 (went back to Asus fw to do so), but I still get these errors on boot after installing dd-wrt.v24-18702_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_RT-N66U.trx again:

Code:
Freeing unused kernel memory: 188k freed
start service
starting Architecture code for broadcom
done
get_wl_instance doesnt return the right value 0
No such device
Booting device: Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS
roboswitch: Probing device eth0: No such device
roboswitch: Probing device eth1: No such device
roboswitch: Probing device eth2: No such device
roboswitch: Probing device eth3: No such device
Segmentation fault
/etc/preinit: line 66: can't create /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_conntrack_max: nonexistent directory
/etc/preinit: line 66: can't create /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_conntrack_max: nonexistent directory



However, I notice in other peoples output (Fractal post on: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=680125) who have gotten DD-WRT working on a N66U it says:

Code:
Freeing unused kernel memory: 188k freed
start service
starting Architecture code for broadcom
done
Booting device: Asus RT-N66U
loading bcm57xx
loading switch-core
loading switch-robo
roboswitch: Probing device eth0: found a 53125!


Notice booting device is correct on theirs where as on mine I see "No such device" and it looks like it defaults to "Linksys WRT54G". So despite installing the N66U file why doesn't it know what my device is? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
nick26
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Dec 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 21:35    Post subject: Reply with quote
By the way I have done a nvram reset every which way I can:
- via mini webserver link
- type erase nvram in linux shell
- typing nvram erase in CFE prompt
- 30/30/30 using WPS button
- 30/30/30 using reset button
Bird333
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 809

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 21:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
if you have upgraded to the 64k cfe, I think you can only use Fractal's 64k dd-wrt build. You are risking a brick otherwise.
nick26
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Dec 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 22:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
I finally got it working with this build: dd-wrt.v24-20202_NEWD_2_K2.6_mega-RT-N66_64K.trx

None of these other files I tried worked, even with the 32k bootloader (but are incorrectly linked to from the router-db and the wiki):

dd-wrt.v24-18702_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_RT-N66U.trx
dd-wrt.v24-18946_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_RT-N66U.trx
dd-wrt.v24-19342_NEWD-2_K2.6_big_RT-N66U.trx
etc.

What a nightmare it's been trying to track down legitimate information about updating this router. The DD-WRT site used to be very well organized (or at least is for other routers, with links to the correct builds and to working wiki instructions). Anyway thanks anyway for your help.
nick26
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Dec 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 23:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
Bird333 wrote:
if you have upgraded to the 64k cfe, I think you can only use Fractal's 64k dd-wrt build. You are risking a brick otherwise.


Ok next question, this build is a "mega" build but I do not have the option for MMC in the web interface and it doesn't seem to mount my sdcard. According to the build table it looks like all mega builds should have MMC support. Is it just because Fractal didn't build it in when he made it or do I have to load a module or something for it to show up? I enabled JFFS2 and USB and those both work fine. Any ideas how I can check?
nick26
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 17 Dec 2012
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 23:33    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nevermind, it looks like it was mounting the sdcard after all under /tmp/mnt/disc0_part1

There was no option for it in the web interface so i assumed it was missing. Thanks anyway.
ApokalipseMeow
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jul 2010
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:23    Post subject: Reply with quote
nick26 wrote:
I finally got it working with this build: dd-wrt.v24-20202_NEWD_2_K2.6_mega-RT-N66_64K.trx

None of these other files I tried worked, even with the 32k bootloader (but are incorrectly linked to from the router-db and the wiki):

dd-wrt.v24-18702_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_RT-N66U.trx
dd-wrt.v24-18946_NEWD-2_K2.6_mini_RT-N66U.trx
dd-wrt.v24-19342_NEWD-2_K2.6_big_RT-N66U.trx
etc.

What a nightmare it's been trying to track down legitimate information about updating this router. The DD-WRT site used to be very well organized (or at least is for other routers, with links to the correct builds and to working wiki instructions). Anyway thanks anyway for your help.
I have the same problem with an RT-N66U: LAN ports won't work after flashing DD-WRT directly in the Asus web UI, even with a static IP 192.168.1.2
• can't ping
• can't access web UI
• can't enter recovery mode

Using a USB TTL serial adapter, I can access the console and log in as admin
http://pastebin.com/459kdWuD
I erased the NVRAM from the console and rebooted, still doesn't work.

I tried finding the firmware you mentioned (dd-wrt.v24-20202_NEWD_2_K2.6_mega-RT-N66_64K.trx) and did not find a working download link (this one is dead)

Anyway, how did you flash the working image without working ethernet ports?
I tried uploading an image using hyperterminal (Kermit, Ymodem and Zmodem), but that didn't do anything.
Magnetron1.1
DD-WRT User


Joined: 21 Nov 2010
Posts: 278
Location: North America

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 11:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
@ApokalipseMeow

Here's a link to the current Fractal builds.


- Magnetron1.1
ApokalipseMeow
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jul 2010
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:03    Post subject: Reply with quote
Magnetron1.1 wrote:
@ApokalipseMeow

Here's a link to the current Fractal builds.


- Magnetron1.1
Is it just me or is that link dead too?

Anyway, will I need to use a JTAG adapter to upload new firmware onto it?
mstombs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:36    Post subject: Reply with quote
Nothing wrong with that link - try a different browser - Chrome etc

You should never need JTAG to upload firmware or a full-flash, and it would take days with some of the larger firmwares!

JTAG only needed to recover CFE if damaged, or erase NVRAM if serial console can't.

Load firmware using CFE bootloader Ethernet tools, Asus recovery/tftp etc.
socal87
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Posts: 944
Location: Here

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 18:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
JTAG still isn't 100% but there are a few of us who have been able to successfully recover this router on a case by case basis. Considering that the CFE is alive and well, you shouldn't need JTAG, and should be able to do everything you need via the recovery page or serial if needed.

I would try going back to a stock or Merlin build if you haven't already, then go from there. On this particular router, I daresay Merlin's builds offer better performance...you lose some of the granular customizability of DD-WRT, but it's still based on Linux.

_________________
Click here for Eko beta
Click here for Brainslayer beta

>>>PEACOCK THREAD!<<<

I do NOT offer personal assistance.
Please do not PM me for help.

ApokalipseMeow
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 23 Jul 2010
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 23:14    Post subject: Reply with quote
mstombs wrote:
Nothing wrong with that link - try a different browser - Chrome etc
Well, I tried using Chrome and IE, aswell as using a different internet connection. All I get is a timeout.

mstombs wrote:
You should never need JTAG to upload firmware or a full-flash, and it would take days with some of the larger firmwares!

JTAG only needed to recover CFE if damaged, or erase NVRAM if serial console can't.

Load firmware using CFE bootloader Ethernet tools, Asus recovery/tftp etc.
I've used TFTP to recover a WR1043ND before, but this RT-N66U won't even detect the ethernet ports (it thinks it's a WRT54G), which is the reason why it's "bricked" (though DD-WRT itself does boot).
So anyway, unless I can somehow get the ethernet ports working again, I need another way to upload firmware.

I tried using the serial TTL adapter to upload the firmware, which did nothing. And it wouldn't detect a USB drive I put firmware onto.

But yes, the CFE is alive.

I'm guessing JTAG is my only other option, though I've never used JTAG before.

Anyway, nick26 above had the exact same issue (ethernet ports weren't being detected) and google brought me here, so I'm wondering how he got it working.
mstombs
DD-WRT User


Joined: 31 Oct 2007
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2013 0:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Might be a country IP block on that ftp site!

The Ethernet ports should work in recovery mode, when booted into a firmware they can be messed up by nvram settings for the vlans.

What's the history of the CFE - has it been upgraded to 64kB nvram - did the default NVRAM update work?

With serial console access should be able to check/set/clear nvram vars.
Goto page 1, 2  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum