How to? E4200 guestnet segmentation

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
nbdwt73
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 2:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
I am having a problem with my "guestnet" on my e4200 running DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/20/11) big - build 18024. I built it per the instructions in the wiki (including seperation of the WLAN's). The account is without any security (yet) and I can connect to the guest account fine but cannot get to anything outside of the router (intranet or internet - can get to the router though).

I have even built this on a second e4200 running the same release in the exact same way (follwed the instructions step by step). I can get out if I do not seperate the WLAN's but as soon as I do that I am stuck. I have not added any additional commands in the router startup or firewall. Any suggestion will be appreciated...
Sponsor
mrengles
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:08    Post subject: Reply with quote
You will have to Unbridge br1 and make sure to enable Masquerade / NAT.

Look at my earlier post in this thread. Have you done this?
nbdwt73
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 13:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
You know, this is a perfect example of being to close to something and therefore not paying complete attention... The answer is that I did not complete that step (although I have done it before). I have several routers (only 2 e4200) that work following the steps in the wiki. I forgot to take this step for the e4200... Thanks.

Lesson learned (again).
shmackitup
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Feb 2011
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:12    Post subject: Reply with quote
Seems as though the rules have changed again... Just upgraded to dd-wrt.v24-19519_NEWD-2_K2.6_big-nv60k on my E4200 and Multiple WLANs do not work with this setup. Anyone have a clue? The options in Setup/Networking have changed.
nbdwt73
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
I was having the same problem again. To fix it I went to the wireless setup tab and unbridged the virtual network (my guestnet). Set the IP address and subnet (for mine it is 192.168.2.1 SN 255.255.255.0). Make sure that Masquerade / NAT is enabled. Then apply it and wait about 1 minute.

BTW - I still have the bridge setup per the wiki (see above). This enables me to restrict access to my multiple WLAN's using firewall rules. Guestnet can only get to the internet - not intranet.
shmackitup
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 06 Feb 2011
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 20:54    Post subject: Reply with quote
I've successfully got it working by applying the changes here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=712425#712425
Goto page Previous  1, 2 Display posts from previous:    Page 2 of 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum