how to limit bandwith

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
M.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2012 18:59    Post subject: how to limit bandwith Reply with quote
hi i have seen this
http://www.dd-wrt.com/demo/QoS.asp
so i decided to install dd-wrt over my TP-Link TL-WR741ND
but after install here how my qos page look like this

what should i do now?
all i want is to split internet speed with my bro
here my internet speed test result from www.speedtest.net
DWN 1.72 mbps UPL 0.42
Sponsor
tatsuya46
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 03 Jan 2010
Posts: 7430
Location: YWG, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 1:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
You don't, in order to have QoS like that on the bottom of this post, you need a unit that has "paid support" from the manufacturer & even then, not ALL units from that specific manufacturer are supported such as D-Link DIR-615 units, to my knowledge only the revision E series are while C & D are NOT.


_________________
LATEST FIRMWARE(S)

BrainSlayer wrote:
we just do it since we do not like any restrictions enforced by stupid cocaine snorting managers

[x86_64] Haswell i3-4150/QCA9984/QCA9888 ------> r45928 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45946 std
[QUALCOMM] DIR-862L --------------------------------> r45946 std
▲ ACTIVE / INACTIVE ▼
[QUALCOMM] WNDR4300 v1 --------------------------> r45946 std
[BROADCOM] DIR-860L A1 ----------------------------> r45891 std


If you use DSLReports please enable hi-res bufferbloat.


Sigh.. why do i exist anyway..
lceron
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 3:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
M., by looking at the date of this dd-wrt version you have seems pretty old. upgrade first man...
_________________
e3200 stock <- waiting for support
wrt400n v26 std with modded antennas
M.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 14:57    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks. is there any other way i can do it with
lceron
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 17:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
M currently running latest ddwrt on wndr3700v2 and am able to limit bandwidth to users as I wish. Try upgrading first and hard reboot and go back to the qos page.
_________________
e3200 stock <- waiting for support
wrt400n v26 std with modded antennas
M.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 17:50    Post subject: Reply with quote
this is my Firmware Version :: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (11/21/10) std - build 15778
http://www.dd-wrt.com/routerdb/de/download/TP-Link/WR741ND/1.0,%201.1,%201.8,%201.9,%202.0/factory-to-ddwrt.bin/3843
i don't know what you mean?
Did you mean buying the special unit !!!
========================
Sorry For My Bad English
========================
lceron
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2012 23:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
look at the date on your firmware version, we are in 2012 at the moment. why are you using such an old version? go here

http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/other-downloads and upgrade according to your router. be careful...

_________________
e3200 stock <- waiting for support
wrt400n v26 std with modded antennas
M.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 13:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have found it under this path
*******************************************************
Downloads\others\eko\BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2\2012\07-20-12-r19519\tplink_tl-wr741ndv1
*******************************************************
after update QOS STILL LOOK LIKE THE OLD ONE
========================
Sorry For My Bad English
========================
lceron
DD-WRT User


Joined: 19 May 2007
Posts: 283
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 19:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
i guess you need a wndr3700 then...i dont use the paid version and im able to throttle bandwith as i need...
_________________
e3200 stock <- waiting for support
wrt400n v26 std with modded antennas
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7401
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2012 22:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
It will still work, even without the special QoS, you can assign you and your bro's network adapters to a static IP or just use the MAC address and prioritize those how you like..

As far as someone from here telling you the exact equation you would need to feed into QoS to do what you want, chances are slim there as we aren't physically there to set it up for you, so you'd need to play around with it and see if you can set it up properly to work for your network.

_________________
Wireless N Config | Linking Routers | DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Peacock - Broadcom FAQ

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
M.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Aug 28, 2012 13:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
is there any tutorial on how to do it ?
i have seen this link in wiki page
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Quality_of_Service
i tried to do so
but i can't make it work
here is my speedtest result
((DOWN = 1.66Mbps UP = 0.31Mbps))
my network have 3 pc`s
2 connected with lan ports
and 1 laptop with wifi
all i want is to limit
download speed for each
pc to 120 kb\s
M.
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 17:39    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks guys i have done it with Gargoyle
it seems that dd-wrt have a bug on this router
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum