Problem connecting a Samsung TV to a Repeater Bridge

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware
Author Message
kev1976
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 05 Aug 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 19:24    Post subject: Problem connecting a Samsung TV to a Repeater Bridge Reply with quote
Hi
I have recently treated myself to a Samsung UE46D552 tv and i am having trouble getting it to connect to my network.

My current setup is a BT home hub as my internet gateway and i use a D-link 615D running v24 SP2 build 14929 as a bridge repeater.

I currently have a media pc, bluray player and xbox connected to the repeater via ethernet and they all work fine.

When i connect the tv and try to test the connection i see, both on the tv and on the bt homehub, an address being leased to the tv but it fails to complete the pairing. I get a failed message as it tries to connect to the homehub but it does seem to be connected. The tv shows in the connected devices page on the hub and I can ping the leased address but cannot get the tv to agree with me.

It is not a faulty tv as i have connected it directly into the homehub via a long ethernet lead and it connects to both the hub and internet within seconds.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Sponsor
olicuk
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 26 Aug 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 21:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the same problem with the same type of setup... Samsung UE46D6530 and a DIR-615 D2 in Repeater Bridge mode. Have been using build 15778, but now I've just found build 17201 I'll give that a try, if it doesn't brick the router! Xbox and Slingplayer have been working fine, just the TV not getting there. It gets an IP address, but fails to 'connect' to the internet. Am wondering if I otherwise need to map some specific ports to the TV... or perhaps it's just the Samsung doing something odd?
jfish99
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Aug 2011
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 21:32    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried to set up repeater bridge between 2 DIR 615D routers and spent 2 days without any luck, in the end just did WDS and it worked first time and its been solid for the past 24 hours.
lapwolf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Sep 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 16:40    Post subject: Reply with quote
Has anyone ever got this to work over a repeater bridge? I have an Asus RT-N10+ running dd-wrt setup as a repeater bridge and I can't get the TV or Blu-ray player to successfully connect past the bridge.

On the TV I have the gateway set to the bridge as setting it to the AP makes the gateway ping fail, which is strange in itself.

Anyone know how to debug this without using the Samsung equipment? Is there a debug mode for the equipment to see what it's actually doing?

The entire reason for setting up the repeater bridge is to connect the blu-ray player and TV to the net!
lapwolf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Sep 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 3:24    Post subject: Eureka!! Reply with quote
I found an obscure note about routing in the Repeater-Bridge wiki that did the trick. This setup got my Samsung TV & the Blu-ray player on the network.

On the Repeater-Bridge setup ADVANCED ROUTING with the following settings:

Operating Mode Router
Dynamic Routing
Interface LAN&WLAN
Static Routing
Select set number 1(default)
Route Name default
Metric 0
Destination LAN NET 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask 0.0.0.0
Gateway 192.168.0.1 (Address of main Router)
Interface LAN&WLAN
sickluceatlux
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2012 11:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
I have the same problem. How did you get it work?

Mainrouter 192.168.2.1 subnet 255.255.255.0
repeaterbridge 192.168.2.2 subnet 255.255.255.0 dir-300 v24-sp2 build14896

shows the same behavior as you mentioned. But the static routing didn't work as well.

how did you config the WDS ?

Has someone an idea ? Maybe im using the wrong subnet for the routing.....i feel like a newbe ....but this seems to be though - not userfriendly this samsung pig

It would be glad if some one who gets it worked could give me a good advice.

Thanks so far.
Regards
sickluceatlux


p.s.: the tv device is a samsung d6200
lapwolf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Sep 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2012 14:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
I wasn't able to get WDS to work, I could only use repeater bridge mode.
sickluceatlux
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2012 16:20    Post subject: Reply with quote
@lapwolf

u mentioned this settings it tried them with my routerbridge wich doesn't work.

On the Repeater-Bridge setup ADVANCED ROUTING with the following settings:

Operating Mode Router
Dynamic Routing
Interface LAN&WLAN
Static Routing
Select set number 1(default)
Route Name default
Metric 0
Destination LAN NET 0.0.0.0 (shouldn't this fit to your main router settings ? 192.168.2.0 (my case))

Subnet Mask 0.0.0.0 (this too ...? in my case 255.255.255.0)
Gateway 192.168.0.1 (Address of main Router would be for me 192.168.2.1)
Interface LAN&WLAN

however both didn't work :S

regards
sickluceatlux
sickluceatlux
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2012 16:26    Post subject: Reply with quote
@lapwolf

If you don't mind could you post the original link which explains the trick ?

thanks in advance.
lapwolf
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 04 Sep 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2012 17:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
sickluceatlux wrote:
@lapwolf

If you don't mind could you post the original link which explains the trick ?

thanks in advance.


It's been almost a year, but I believe this is the wiki where I noticed the route settings:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Repeater_Bridge

In my case, I'm using an Asus RT10+ and found that WDS didn't function, and had to down grade to a previous version of dd-wrt to get repeater bridge to work.

Hope this helps...
sickluceatlux
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 12:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
Thanks a lot. Actually i don't have the time to give it a shot. But this will be a short term issue after that i will check the hardware again and test your advices. But thanks so far Very Happy

p.s. and a update will be posted too Smile
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Ralink SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum