Belkin f5d7230-4 (v10001ak? v1444?) only LAN port a/flash?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
sejtam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jul 2011
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 7:37    Post subject: Belkin f5d7230-4 (v10001ak? v1444?) only LAN port a/flash? Reply with quote
I have an old Belkin f5d7230-4 (sticker said 1001ak). Following the instructions from the supported router database and one thread in the forum (which said it really was a v2000), I flashed it with Firmware: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/24/09) micro-plus-ssh

Now I have the strange result that the wireless side works, but on the wired side, apparently all ports are considered WAN, as it sends DHCO discovers there:

15:03:57.171486 00:11:50:4f:d0:07 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ethertype 802.1Q (0x8100), length 328: vlan 1, p 0, ethertype IPv4, (tos 0x0, ttl 64, id 0, offset 0, flags [none], proto UDP (17), length 310)
0.0.0.0.68 > 255.255.255.255.67: [udp sum ok] BOOTP/DHCP, Request from 00:11:50:4f:d0:07, length 282, xid 0x5f13fc1f, Flags [none] (0x0000)
Client-Ethernet-Address 00:11:50:4f:d0:07
Vendor-rfc1048 Extensions
Magic Cookie 0x63825363
DHCP-Message Option 53, length 1: Discover
Client-ID Option 61, length 7: ether 00:11:50:4f:d0:07
Vendor-Class Option 60, length 15: "udhcp 0.9.9-pre"
Parameter-Request Option 55, length 10:
Subnet-Mask, Default-Gateway, Domain-Name-Server, Hostname
Domain-Name, BR, YD, YS
NTP, Classless-Static-Route
END Option 255, length 0

I originally thought I bricked this router.
I tested all 5 ports, all show the same behaviour.

In DD-WRT the LAN is set to 192.168.1.1, but I can only reach it in that address using wireless.

dd-wrt does identify it as a v1444, which according to the router database requires a different firmware (Micro Generic dd-wrt.v24_micro_olsrd_generic.bin 2009-10-10 1,66 MB)


Am I stuck? Is there any way to force it back to using that IP on the wired LAN ports, so that I can try flashing the other firmware?

Is there maybe a better firmware (I resd the Belkin thread, which in some places seems to indicate to NOT trust the router database, but whenever I try finding a better authoritative list of what firmware to use I am shunted back to the router database??)

The main reason I am trying to flash this is that I want to use it as wireless bridge, so that i can connect a wired LAN in another room to my main router (an original cisco E2000).

any help is appreciated.


I'll try and collect some more info from the router once I switch back to its 'dd-wrt' SSID and add that later, in case it helps
Sponsor
sejtam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jul 2011
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 7:38    Post subject: Reply with quote
Here is some more info, collected from the router's web interface (via the wireless interface):


Router Information
System
Router Name DD-WRT
Router Model Belkin F5D7230-4 v1444
Firmware Version DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/24/09) micro-plus-ssh - build 13491M NEWD Eko
MAC Address 00:11:50:4F:D0:07 
Host Name
 
WAN Domain Name
 
LAN Domain Name
 
Current Time Not available 
Uptime 35 min 

CPU
CPU Model Broadcom BCM4712 chip rev 2 
CPU Clock 200 MHz
Load Average 0% 0.00, 0.00, 0.00 

Memory
Total Available 69% 5680 kB / 8192 kB 
Free 9% 492 kB / 5680 kB 
Used 91% 5188 kB / 5680 kB 
Buffers 5% 244 kB / 5188 kB 
Cached 30% 1532 kB / 5188 kB 
Active 21% 1112 kB / 5188 kB 
Inactive 13% 680 kB / 5188 kB 

Space Usage

Network
IP Filter Maximum Ports 1024 
Active IP Connections 33 3%
  




WAN
Configuration Type
Connection Type Automatic Configuration - DHCP 
Connection Uptime Not available 
IP Address 0.0.0.0 
Subnet Mask 0.0.0.0 
Gateway 0.0.0.0 
DNS 1
 
DNS 2
 
DNS 3
 
Remaining Lease Time 0 days 00:00:00 


LAN Status
MAC Address 00:11:50:4F:D0:06 
IP Address 192.168.1.1 
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0 
Gateway 0.0.0.0 
Local DNS 0.0.0.0 

DHCP Status
DHCP Server Enabled 
DHCP Daemon DNSMasq 
Start IP Address 192.168.1.100 
End IP Address 192.168.1.149 
Client Lease Time 1440 minutes 


VLAN W 1 2 3 4 Assigned to Bridge

0 [ ] [X] [X] [X] [X] LAN
1 [X] [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ] None
2 [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ] None
… continues for all others
Tagged [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ] [ ]

Auto Negotiate [X] [X] [X] [X] [X]
100 Mbit [x] [x] [x] [x] [x] (all greyed out)
Full Duplex [x] [x] [x] [x] [x] (all greyed out)
Enabled [X] [X] [X] [X] [X]

Wireless LAN

Link Aggregation
on Ports 3&4 No





I see I can of course give the WAN port a fixed IP, but will that allow me to flash a new firmware using tftp?
sejtam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jul 2011
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:11    Post subject: Reply with quote
Or should I try File:dd-wrt.v24_micro_olsrd_generic.bin (or rather: minus the olsrd?)

I find the instructions in
http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=52043 (Firmware Recommendations - Still 14929 - 06/09/11) very confusing.

There is so much talk od 'this is bad, that is bad' etc, that finding what is useful is hard. The post talks about 'in this thread'(but it's only one post).

Then it lists:
Quote:

BrainSlayer builds (14929):
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2010/08-12-10-r14929/broadcom/


For models that REQUIRE the K26 build (like the WRT610nV2, WNR3500L, RT-N16...etc...see note above)
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2010/08-12-10-r14929/broadcom_K26/

or if you need Eko VINT or other special Eko builds:
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/V24_TNG/svn15230/



a) what are the Brainslayer builds? Why them?

b) I found that the link shown refers to Brainslayer build 14929, when there seem to be much later ones (by going ../..), namely r15962

Are those recommended? If not why not?


Overall I find the whole layout of this webpage extremely confusing and the bits and pieces of 'don't use that', 'don't use this' , with xxx you wil need XXX, spread all over in apparently hundred of disconnected threads, wiki-entries etc very user unfriendly.

That the database recommends builds that are not recommended does not help (yes, I understand that new builds are being updated into it, but can bad builds not be deleted or at least not recommended for the time being?

Also, from the main-page the 'download' link only points to the database. Finding the other builds is very hard, as everywhere one finds a link to a subset (but likely not the latest anymore, nor a recommended version) etc.
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:48    Post subject: Reply with quote
Belkin routers are a mess, especially the older ones where they stuffed whatever router board they had into whatever box they had while not changing the label..

I guess that this is what you have:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Belkin_F5D7230-4_v2000%2Cv2000de_%2B_Belkin_F5D7231-4_v1102%2Cv1003ee%2C_and_v1103uk

_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12676

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:47    Post subject: Reply with quote
Read the peacock announcement too, (on clarifying some of you build choice misunderstandings.) DD-wrt can be user intensive and a steep learning curve to get all the nuances sorted out. Read slowly.
_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
sejtam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jul 2011
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
Belkin routers are a mess, especially the older ones where they stuffed whatever router board they had into whatever box they had while not changing the label..

I guess that this is what you have:

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Belkin_F5D7230-4_v2000%2Cv2000de_%2B_Belkin_F5D7231-4_v1102%2Cv1003ee%2C_and_v1103uk


Yea, thanks. That nvram command did turn on the LAN and now I am able to use that router as a Client Bridge. Thanks very much.
sejtam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jul 2011
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
Ok, so my current build nos is 13491.

The Peacock thread etc mention much later as desirable,

However, http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Belkin_F5D7230-4_v2000%2Cv2000de_%2B_Belkin_F5D7231-4_v1102%2Cv1003ee%2C_and_v1103uk
indicates that my router needs a special 'Serial Flash' build.

I would love to install
ftp://dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2010/12-24-10-r15962/broadcom/dd-wrt.v24_micro_generic.bin

(or the 14929 equivalent)


as a newer release, but I cannot find any indication whether that is SF compatible etc (and the Peacock thread does not seem to mention SF at all.

Help?
Murrkf
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 22 Sep 2008
Posts: 12676

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:49    Post subject: Reply with quote
WIKI wrote:
Belkin F5D7230-4 v2000

This version has a different flash chip than the other versions, and it will enter a reboot loop if a special serial flash build is not used. If you have already flashed the device and it is in a reboot loop, you can still flash the correct build using TFTP.


This appears to suggest that you need to use a serial flash, but it is unclear whether this is just for initial flashing or always. It does state that if a different build does not work, you can recover it by a simple reflash using tftp. If you choose to do that, report back.

_________________
SIG:
I'm trying to teach you to fish, not give you a fish. If you just want a fish, wait for a fisherman who hands them out. I'm more of a fishing instructor.
LOM: "If you show that you have not bothered to read the forum announcements or to follow the advices in them then the level of help available for you will drop substantially, also known as Murrkf's law.."
sejtam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jul 2011
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 14:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hmmm. I'd be prepared to try that, but there seems to be a Catch-22:

1. If I try upgrading/flashing over via the commandline, the upload of the image (1.7M) to the router fails, as in its current state it only shows 276 (kbyte) free, so copying the file to /tmp stops and hangs the router


root@mkbelkin:~# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 5680 5404 276 0 376
Swap: 0 0 0
Total: 5680 5404 276
root@mkbelkin:~# pping


2. When I reboot the router, it does not give me a 5-second ttl=100 ping reply (boot-loader). It goes straight to ttl=64 (I am also not using the standard 192.168.1.1 address, but that does not seem to be a problem). Yes, I have the 'boot-wait' setting enabled.


3. I cannot use the 30/30/30 reset, as that will leave it in the mode where the LAN ports have no Ip address (DHCP discovers being sent), and thus I cannot TFTP a new image in. Once I enable the LAN-ports using the nvram command, it is too late for the tftp it seems...


sigh, unless someone has a bright idea how to overcome this, I seem to be stuck with this version (which doesn't look too bad so far, but I'd rather have something newer that has the recent exploit fixed etc).

Is there maybe a smaller 'very bare' image that I could flash (which needs to fit into the 256 or so kb available), after which I might have sufficient space for the real 1.7MB image in ram?

Or is there a nvram setting I can use to make more RAM available for flashing (at the expense of other, unused functionality?)
LOM
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 7632

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 15:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
You'll need the SF build every time you update and there is no more recent SF build than 13491.
_________________
Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!
sejtam
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Jul 2011
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 16:17    Post subject: Reply with quote
LOM wrote:
You'll need the SF build every time you update and there is no more recent SF build than 13491.


Thanks, I guess


Is there any hope of getting a newer SF build one day?

And I'd still need some way to apply it? Is there such a thing as a very basic intermediate firmware that can be flashed by commandline when only >300kb of space are free, and which then allows one to scp/ftp/whatever in a larger file?
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum