Netgear WNDR 3700 + GNU Screen terminating

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware
Author Message
Arch1mede
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 May 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 21:51    Post subject: Netgear WNDR 3700 + GNU Screen terminating Reply with quote
Has anyone been able to get this running?

I followed the optware howto for the 3700
opkg install screen
root@DD-WRT root $ screen
/var/run/utmp: No such file or directory
[screen is terminating]

When I touch that file, screen flashes on the screen and terminates without running.
Sponsor
BlCa`
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 18:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Works for me. Something's wrong with your optware setup.
Arch1mede
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 May 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 18:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
BlCa` wrote:
Works for me. Something's wrong with your optware setup.


I followed the Optware howto and didnt get any errors, any advise on how to resolve this?
BlCa`
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2011 19:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Not much as I don't know which specific howto you're talking about. What I can tell you is I use dd-wrt build 16214 with packages from backfire 10.03.1-rc3.
On a side note, I see no trace of utmp on my wndr3700 and it doesn't complain about it.
Arch1mede
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 May 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2011 20:41    Post subject: Reply with quote
BlCa` wrote:
Not much as I don't know which specific howto you're talking about. What I can tell you is I use dd-wrt build 16214 with packages from backfire 10.03.1-rc3.
On a side note, I see no trace of utmp on my wndr3700 and it doesn't complain about it.


I am using 16994 and maybe i need to start all over again.

I followed http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=86912 for the optware install.

And I have a 4gig flash drive under /mnt.

Can you please list all that you have installed? Maybe I forgot something?

You would only see utmp when you are runnng screen.

Edit: I never could get ipkg installed right so I never installed libc_0.9.30.1-43.10_ar71xx.ipk coreutils_7.2-1_ar71xx.ipk opkg_576-1_ar71xx.ipk

Could that have something to do with it? Do you recall the steps you took to get your's working?
BlCa`
DD-WRT User


Joined: 16 Nov 2009
Posts: 135

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2011 21:55    Post subject: Reply with quote
Arch1mede wrote:
BlCa` wrote:
Not much as I don't know which specific howto you're talking about. What I can tell you is I use dd-wrt build 16214 with packages from backfire 10.03.1-rc3.
On a side note, I see no trace of utmp on my wndr3700 and it doesn't complain about it.


I am using 16994 and maybe i need to start all over again.

I followed http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=86912 for the optware install.

And I have a 4gig flash drive under /mnt.

Can you please list all that you have installed? Maybe I forgot something?

You would only see utmp when you are runnng screen.

Edit: I never could get ipkg installed right so I never installed libc_0.9.30.1-43.10_ar71xx.ipk coreutils_7.2-1_ar71xx.ipk opkg_576-1_ar71xx.ipk

Could that have something to do with it? Do you recall the steps you took to get your's working?


From my experience, some rc4 packages tend to segfault so I stick with rc3.
This tutorial works if you adapt it a bit (things like /dev/discs/... are outdated) http://g300nh.blogspot.com/2010/06/software-installation-on-dd-wrt-part-1.html

This is the list of my packages :


busybox - 1.15.3-2
htop - 0.8.3-2
iftop - 0.17-2
kernel - 2.6.32.16-1
kmod-ipt-core - 2.6.32.16-1
libc - 0.9.30.1-43.3
libgcc - 4.3.3+cs-43.3
libiptc - 1.4.6-2
libncurses - 5.7-2
libpcap - 1.0.0-2
libpthread - 0.9.30.1-43.3
librt - 0.9.30.1-43.3
libusb - 0.1.12-2
miniupnpd - 1.4-1
nano - 2.2.5-1
pciutils - 3.1.7-2
screen - 4.0.3-2
strace - 4.5.20-1
uclibcxx - 0.2.2-3
usbutils - 0.86-2
zlib - 1.2.3-5

Ipkg is really just used to install opkg. Once opkg is installed, you use it to install the rest.
Arch1mede
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 May 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2011 8:37    Post subject: Reply with quote
BlCa` wrote:
Arch1mede wrote:
BlCa` wrote:
Not much as I don't know which specific howto you're talking about. What I can tell you is I use dd-wrt build 16214 with packages from backfire 10.03.1-rc3.
On a side note, I see no trace of utmp on my wndr3700 and it doesn't complain about it.


I am using 16994 and maybe i need to start all over again.

I followed http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=86912 for the optware install.

And I have a 4gig flash drive under /mnt.

Can you please list all that you have installed? Maybe I forgot something?

You would only see utmp when you are runnng screen.

Edit: I never could get ipkg installed right so I never installed libc_0.9.30.1-43.10_ar71xx.ipk coreutils_7.2-1_ar71xx.ipk opkg_576-1_ar71xx.ipk

Could that have something to do with it? Do you recall the steps you took to get your's working?


From my experience, some rc4 packages tend to segfault so I stick with rc3.
This tutorial works if you adapt it a bit (things like /dev/discs/... are outdated) http://g300nh.blogspot.com/2010/06/software-installation-on-dd-wrt-part-1.html

This is the list of my packages :


busybox - 1.15.3-2
htop - 0.8.3-2
iftop - 0.17-2
kernel - 2.6.32.16-1
kmod-ipt-core - 2.6.32.16-1
libc - 0.9.30.1-43.3
libgcc - 4.3.3+cs-43.3
libiptc - 1.4.6-2
libncurses - 5.7-2
libpcap - 1.0.0-2
libpthread - 0.9.30.1-43.3
librt - 0.9.30.1-43.3
libusb - 0.1.12-2
miniupnpd - 1.4-1
nano - 2.2.5-1
pciutils - 3.1.7-2
screen - 4.0.3-2
strace - 4.5.20-1
uclibcxx - 0.2.2-3
usbutils - 0.86-2
zlib - 1.2.3-5

Ipkg is really just used to install opkg. Once opkg is installed, you use it to install the rest.


I followed your instructions and "screen" still refuses to run. I get the exact same error.

root@DD-WRT root $ screen
/var/run/utmp: No such file or directory
[screen is terminating]

root@DD-WRT /mnt $ opkg list-installed
bitchx - 1.1-1
busybox - 1.15.3-2
libc - 0.9.30.1-43.10
libgcc - 4.3.3+cs-43.10
libncurses - 5.7-2
libpthread - 0.9.30.1-43.10
librt - 0.9.30.1-43.10
nano - 2.2.5-1
samba3 - 3.0.24-7
screen - 4.0.3-2
uclibcxx - 0.2.2-3

root@DD-WRT /mnt $ env
USER=root
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/lib:/opt/usr/lib:/lib:/usr/lib:/opt/usr/local/lib
OLDPWD=/var/run
TERMINFO=/opt/usr/share/terminfo
HOME=/tmp/root
PS1=\[\033[01;31m\]\u@\h \[\033[01;34m\]\W $ \[\033[00m\]
LOGNAME=root
TERM=xterm
PATH=/sbin:/opt/bin:/opt/usr/bin:/opt/sbin:/opt/usr/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin:/opt/usr/local/bin
SHELL=/bin/sh
PWD=/mnt
simoon78
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2011 18:42    Post subject: Reply with quote
Maybe try dtach instead of screen:

dtach --help

dtach - version 0.8, compiled on Jul 10 2010 at 15:49:26.
Usage: dtach -a <socket> <options>
dtach -A <socket> <options> <command...>
dtach -c <socket> <options> <command...>
dtach -n <socket> <options> <command...>
Modes:
-a Attach to the specified socket.
-A Attach to the specified socket, or create it if it
does not exist, running the specified command.
-c Create a new socket and run the specified command.
-n Create a new socket and run the specified command detached.
Options:
-e <char> Set the detach character to <char>, defaults to ^\.
-E Disable the detach character.
-r <method> Set the redraw method to <method>. The valid methods are:
none: Don't redraw at all.
ctrl_l: Send a Ctrl L character to the program.
winch: Send a WINCH signal to the program.
-z Disable processing of the suspend key.
[/size]
Arch1mede
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 13 May 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 8:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
I actually got this working by installing useradd and adding another account. Also I found that if you follow the Installing OPTWARE the right way to the fullest, you actually break GNU Screen and you get the error mesage I originally posted.

Im sure it has to do with the root .profile as that was the last thing I did and it broke it.
simoon78
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 30 May 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 14:07    Post subject: Reply with quote
Screen works on root account with opkg.conf like this :

cat /etc/opkg.conf

src/gz snapshots http://downloads.openwrt.org/snapshots/trunk/ar71xx/packages/
dest root /opt
dest ram /opt/tmp
lists_dir ext /opt/tmp/var/opkg-lists

And install screen ( or reinstall )

opkg install screen --force-reinstall
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Atheros WiSOC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum