Linksys E2000 / E3000 test builds here

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 68, 69, 70 ... 74, 75, 76  Next
Author Message
Alec
DD-WRT User


Joined: 28 Jul 2009
Posts: 283
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:13    Post subject: Reply with quote
i use: #15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko Big
Router: E3000

hi all
I can not change the wan interface.
Does not change either through a Web interface or via the nvram. After rebooting all the value is the default.
failed to add another vlan ports through a Web interface.

_________________
Ищу работу системным администратором UNIX/BSD

Хочешь помочь?...
Помогай!:
yandex-money: 41001553394395
web-money: R235473246632
Sponsor
PanamaZip
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:00    Post subject: Thanks to buddee and all others on this forum Reply with quote
I just want to say thanks for the info that has been posted on this forum, specifically by buddee, about flashing an E2000 with dd-wrt and then configuring it to be more effective and cooler running. I configured mine last night off-line, ran the changes to tx power and cpu clock via SSH, tweaked a few other items (something new and cool for me), and swapped out my faithful and much-loved WRT-54GL this morning. Sweet, smooth and highly efficient ("excellent" reception throughout a 2200sqft home). Now I just need to find 5ghz adapters for all my toys and I can really make things run swiftly. It did clear up the netflix buffering issue which was one of the main reasons for getting the e2000 in the first place.

Again, thanks!

PanamaZip
vieri
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Aug 2010
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 14:06    Post subject: AP isolation Reply with quote
If I enable AP Isolation on a virtual interface wl0.1 with WPA2-Enterprise security
AND
I assign wl0.1 as well as vlan3 to a br1 interface
AND
I set lan port 4 as tagged 1 and 3
AND
I connect port 4 to a tagged 1 and 3 port in a managed switch
AND
I connect a RADIUS server to a switch port untagged vlan ID 3
THEN
wireless clients are UNABLE to authenticate.

If I just disable AP Isolation on the virtual interface wl0.1
THEN
all works fine.

Why is that?

I'm running DD-WRT v24-sp2 (10/26/10) mega - build 15508M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko on a Linksys E3000.
vieri
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Aug 2010
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 16:43    Post subject: Reply with quote
I tried AP isolation with:
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) mega - build 15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko

and I'm still having trouble with WPA2-Enterprise because it's "so isolated" that the AP cannot proxy the authentication request/reply to the Radius server in my LAN.

I believe this is a bug. AP isolation should block all traffic except packets that are meant for authentication.

If an external radius server is not used then AP isolation works as expected.

Is there any way of fixing this somehow? Is it expected behavior or am I doing something wrong?
buddee
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 7401
Location: Little Rock

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 17:51    Post subject: Reply with quote
vieri wrote:
I tried AP isolation with:
DD-WRT v24-sp2 (12/19/10) mega - build 15943M NEWD-2 K2.6 Eko

and I'm still having trouble with WPA2-Enterprise because it's "so isolated" that the AP cannot proxy the authentication request/reply to the Radius server in my LAN.

I believe this is a bug. AP isolation should block all traffic except packets that are meant for authentication.

If an external radius server is not used then AP isolation works as expected.

Is there any way of fixing this somehow? Is it expected behavior or am I doing something wrong?


All AP isolation does is keep wireless users from seeing each other, IE they can browse or share files through any explorer type interface between themselves, they can still see your LAN if you have shares etc setup, just can't see each other over wireless.

I am unsure where the rest of your radius problems are at, but AP isolation doesn't do much except what i listed.

_________________
Wireless N Config | Linking Routers | DD-WRT Wiki | DD-WRT Builds | Peacock - Broadcom FAQ

Having problems with port forwarding? Check out Port Forward Troubleshooting for more info.
vieri
DD-WRT User


Joined: 25 Aug 2010
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2011 22:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
buddee wrote:

I am unsure where the rest of your radius problems are at, but AP isolation doesn't do much except what i listed.


I now understand what AP isolation is and it's what I thought it was, thanks.

I don't have any Radius-specific problems at all but I would like to know if someone can reproduce this so-called bug:

just setup an SSID with WPA2-Enterprise and specify a Radius server in your LAN. Then enable AP isolation for this SSID.
If your wireless clients can't authenticate with AP isolation enabled but CAN if you disable AP isolation then you're hitting the same bug/feature that I am.
khael
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 18:53    Post subject: Reply with quote
hi,
i have a router with this build, i try to upgrade with this version:
dd-wrt.v24-15943_NEWD-2_K2.6_openvpn.bin

now router is bricked, power lad flashing, 30/30/30 doesn't work.

if i put lan cable it doesn't work.

I have usb-tll interface....i need jtag?
Kamika007z
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 6:31    Post subject: Reply with quote
Try performing a 30/30/30 and then connect it to your machine via ethernet (any LAN port to your network card), then set a static IP and Subnet of 192.168.1.145 / 255.255.255.0 and then see if you can ping 192.168.1.145. If you can then:

Get the original FW from Linksys.com for your device and use the TFTP utility

un: admin
pw: admin (I believe)

Then flash back to the appropriate dd-wrt FW after that is successfull.

***When flashing: USE ONLY THE ONES THAT HAVE E3000 or E2000 AT THE END OF THE FILENAME, NOTHING ELSE!!
khael
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 9:44    Post subject: Reply with quote
thanks for your help Sad
don't work, i try with ttl interface but i have no answer....
Lan port doesn't work.

i open a rma tiket on linksys....what do you think?
can i send it?
Kamika007z
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 14:02    Post subject: Reply with quote
You can always try RMA'ing it.
khael
DD-WRT User


Joined: 13 Mar 2008
Posts: 101

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 14:06    Post subject: Reply with quote
Kamika007z wrote:
You can always try RMA'ing it.

yes but problem is that send to netherland cost 35€, and i don't wont waste money...
maybe they realize that i loaded dd-wrt and it didn't covered under warranty (other mony to waste)
RyDogg1
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 18:22    Post subject: Reply with quote
Running v24-sp2 (12/24/10) mega(SVN revision 15962) and am having crazy ping numbers dealing with games. Anyone have any clues?

Doing a Steam server inquiry brings back triple digits to a server that before I was running this version was in the low teens.
Kamika007z
DD-WRT User


Joined: 03 Jul 2008
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 22:52    Post subject: Reply with quote
khael wrote:
Kamika007z wrote:
You can always try RMA'ing it.

yes but problem is that send to netherland cost 35€, and i don't wont waste money...
maybe they realize that i loaded dd-wrt and it didn't covered under warranty (other mony to waste)


I was only agreeing with what you had suggested. You can do whatever you like Smile
disaster123
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
Hey guys i read the WIKI and parts of this thread but i'm still confused which version to flash on my E3000.

The E3000 WIKI tells me dd-wrt.v24-14853_NEWD-2_K2.6_std_usb_ftp-e3000.bin for initial flashes a few sentecs later is written that i can use every e3000 build - BUT NOT the e2k-e3k builds.

So is it correct, that i can use EVERY file with e3000 in the name for initial flashes but for UPGRADING i have to use the e2k-e3k builds?

Then i'm still wondering / be confused if i should use a build from here ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/V24-K26/ or from ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/. Where is the difference?

Is there a version being rock solid? What version should i pick up if i just use the device as a WLAN accesspoint - nothing more (mini?)? Qos is the only interesting thing.

Thanks guys and sorry for my stupid questions.
disaster123
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 11:27    Post subject: Reply with quote
noboy? Wink
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 68, 69, 70 ... 74, 75, 76  Next Display posts from previous:    Page 69 of 76
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DD-WRT Forum Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum