Using DNS Made Easy

Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware
Author Message
posselax
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 16 Sep 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 21:29    Post subject: Using DNS Made Easy Reply with quote
I have recently updated my WRT54G v 2.0 with from Tomato to DD-WRT v24 sp2 mini as I needed to use the repeater bridge function. The problem I have is that I can not make the DDNS update my records at dnsmadeeasy.com.

It was working perfectly with Tomato and I have read and configured many different ways and I can get an "update successful" message but the records are not updated.

Looking for any help that I can find.

Cheers
Sponsor
qubit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Sep 2006
Posts: 19
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:16    Post subject: Reply with quote
I see a few posts regarding dnsmadeeasy on here and no solutions, so I'll post the one I came up with.

Go to the Administration->Commands section, and add the following to the firewall script
Code:
DNSRECORDS="mydomain.com:12345:p@ssw0rd otherdomain.com:54321:p@ssw0rd"
export IFS=":"
echo "$DNSRECORDS" | tr ' ' '\n' | while read HOST ID PASS; do
   logger -p user.info -t dyndns "$( echo -n "Updating $HOST; "; wget -O - 'http://www.dnsmadeeasy.com/servlet/updateip?username=USERNAME&password='"$PASS"'&id='"$ID"'&ip='"$( nvram get wan_ipaddr )" | tr '\n' ';' )"
done
unset IFS


Replace 'USERNAME' with your username, and replace the DNSRECORDS variable with the records you want to update. The records are space separated, and each field of the record is specified by: the name of the record being updated, the record's ID as provided by dnsmadeeasy, and then the password for that record (or account if you dont have per-record passwords).

The if your password contains a ':', you can change the delimeter to something else (the IFS var). Also if your password contains a $ or special html characters, you'll want to encode them. So if your password were 'abc&def', you would enter it as 'abc%26def'.
ndewan
DD-WRT Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2010
Posts: 553

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 14:29    Post subject: Reply with quote
alternatively, follow the process for the 'custom' setting in the following How_to.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/DDNS

_________________
===================================
1 * DIR-866L - 29193 Mega (Main Gateway)
1 * EA4200 - 29193 Mega (Main Gateway)
1 * EA6500 - 29193 Mega (Repeater Bridge)
1 * EA6500v2 - 29193 Mega (Repeater Bridge)
1 * WRT610N - 29193 Mega (Repeater Bridge)
===================================
qubit
DD-WRT Novice


Joined: 09 Sep 2006
Posts: 19
Location: Denver, CO

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 14:59    Post subject: Reply with quote
ndewan wrote:
alternatively, follow the process for the 'custom' setting in the following How_to.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/DDNS


No you cant, custom doesnt work with dnsmadeeasy. There are 3 problems with it
1) it doesnt pass the IP as a parameter in the URL
2) it tries to use basic http authentication, which dnsmadeeasy doesnt support.
3) inadyn uses the http status code as the success indicator instead of the response content which is what dnsmadeeasy uses to indicate success/failure.
Display posts from previous:    Page 1 of 1
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DD-WRT Forum Index -> Broadcom SoC based Hardware All times are GMT

Navigation

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum